We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ValerieW9...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect location in a quiet street literally a few minutes walk from the centre of York, Shambles, Minster etc. Car parking available round the corner and lots of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. The accommodation was very comfortable for 4 adults, and the house is well furnished and equipped with nespresso coffee maker, dishwasher, power shower and very comfortable beds. We loved the additional touches including prosecco, cookies, tea and coffee etc. We ate out each evening trying the Polish, Sardinian and Thai restaurants - all good but Polish my personal favourite. Thank you very much Jerry and Jocelyn for your help, wonderful accommodation, and apologies for delay in writing this review. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather!!!! - rainy March so unable to use the lovely back patio
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horacesmu...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This small house is perfectly positioned chose to shops and restaurants for a car free visit to this wonderful city.
You can drop off cases etc stopping just outside the house before parking with the permit provided a few minutes walk away. This terraced house is well equipped and comfortable with a living/dining area downstairs and galley kitchen and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. The outdoor yard has been decked very stylishly and would be perfect for sitting out in the summer.
We had been kindly left biscuits, milk and wine along with pods for the coffee maker tea and ice in the freezer. Wasn't sure whether the freezer drawer full of oranges was to keep the appliance smelling sweet or to encourage us to make marmalade!
The only negative I can think of is that I couldn't have brought my mum who can't manage stairs or over bath showers.

There is a fabulous polish cafe within minutes where we ate breakfast and a good choice of restaurants nearby with about a fifteen minute walk to the Minister.
This visit was a stress free trip for us made so by the perfect accommodation.
Would happily return here next time we visit York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lwpark
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We enjoyed a lovely few days at No. 59. Jerry was very helpful and met us, taking the time to show us where the nearby (free) car parking space was and kindly drove my husband back. The house is tastefully decorated and well equipped. Lots of nice touches. Comfortable beds. Great location with lots of good restaurants a few minutes walk away and easy walking distance to all the main sightseeing places. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Bus stop in front of house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara2326
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Really nice place, free parking, and close to central York!”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great location inside the city walls but with free easy parking just around the corner and away from the crowds. 2 bedroom townhouse (2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs; kitchen, lounge and dining downstairs). It's been beautifully remodeled - you can tell the finishes and materials used were very high-end and quality. Kitchen is slightly small but we had no trouble cooking every meal - everything you would need is provided. Great large and private deck off the kitchen. Beds were a bit on the hard/too firm side but it was spacious and comfortable enough for us 2 couples. Whole place was very clean. Outside key box made arrival super-easy and convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free parking, clean, quality materials
Liked least: Beds a bit hard, 2 sets of keys would have been nice
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnitaWhit...
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Perfect from ease of booking and communication with owners
House was beautiful , fantastic location, parking space, excellent bedding, towels, etc
Would always look at a holiday lett instead of a hotel in the future Excellent Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Very glad the four of you enjoyed your visit to York and liked the house. We aim to make it as comfortable as possible and with so many excellent places to eat just round the corner it does make a very good alternative to a hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHWats
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great little holiday apartment, with all the bells and whistles”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival we were greeted by Jerry, our welcoming host, who gave us a quick walk around. The apartment is located in a quiet street, and is few minutes walk from the centre of York. It's very well appointed, clean, modern, well maintained and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. We felt at home instantly and had a wonderful stay at 59 St Deny's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno136
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly Lovely Little House”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When trying to find somewhere for the whole family to stay in York for my son's Graduation, I stumbled across this rental by accident on the Tripadvisor site. What a happy accident that was!
The house itself is beautifully decorated and furnished, with a comfortable, homely atmosphere juxtaposed with gorgeous on-trend style.
Everything has been thought of and provided, with state-of the-art technology in the form of the TV, coffee machine etc, excellent kitchen equipment, lovely bathroom toiletries and fluffy towels, deliciously comfy beds etc etc, You name it, No 59 has it!
It goes without saying that everywhere was as clean as a whistle.
The owners are clearly people with excellent taste and a huge amount of thought has gone into creating a holiday home that exceeds all expectations.
The customer service provided is second to none. We were met by Jerry, the owner, on our arrival and after unloading were shown where to park the car in the free nearby parking space, about three minutes walk from the house.
The house is so central that I only needed to use the car once, to drop my son at the uni, about ten minutes drive away ( £6 in a taxi). We walked into the city centre, along the river, around the Minster, out for dinner, to go shopping... The whole of York is on the doorstep.
There is a teeny bit of traffic sound at night and you need to pull the blackout blinds under the bedroom curtains, but this is to be expected in the centre of a vibrant city. There is a handsome old church opposite the house though and no pubs or restaurants in the street, so no "kicking out time" noise.
There was a pint of milk and a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge, lots of tea and coffee and Betty's Tearoom biscuits provided. After unpacking we sat in the sunshine in the very private courtyard garden and congratulated ourselves on our find.
The cost of renting this lovely house to accommodate a family of four, the children being young adults, was so much better value than a equivalent hotel would have been, and much nicer, too.
My 19 year old daughter wants to live at No. 59 St Denys Road, and I think perhaps I do, too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The interior of the house
Liked least: Traffic noise at night
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing