We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
923
509
168
64
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
509
168
64
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monsoon shower roll top bath cigar shack mezzanine room lovely hotel nespresso machine standard room free standing bath mini bar junior suite main building boutique hotel underfloor heating car park walk in shower per night city centre
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

My hubbie and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had a “friends reunion”. The major plus about this hotel (besides the wonderful staff) is the attention to detail. All the toiletries provided are French. Most of the wee food extras at brekkie were too. Including the apples! Goes without saying that the French wine was amazing! We ate dinner in the lovely intimate cosy dining room. Not bad choice for veggies. My hubbie said the French onion soup (made with beef stock) was THE best he had ever tasted! Brekkie is amazing - great selection. Loads of wee areas to sit and chill. Bar stays open forever as long as you charge the drinks to your room! Dangerous!
We had a free standing bath in our room which filled up in record time - only took about 3 mins!
Ample parking spaces out back for £10/night.
Hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 953SusanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Susan,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback, which we shall share with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to us. Merry Christmas, Matt Strawford &Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Always wanted to stay at a Hotel Du Vin in Birmingham and ended up booking into the one in York for a relaxing shopping trip. Hotel is ideally located just a short walk into the main city centre. Car park is a bit muddy but that has to be our only issue. Staff were helpful and attentive, room was a superior double and absolutely amazing with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Recommend the half board if you can afford it as the restaurant is lovely and the food was superb.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mattdartnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We’re thrilled you had a great experience and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards. Matt Strawford. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night after our anniversary, I just wish we'd stayed both nights. The hotel was massive , staff were really polite and we had a drink in the bar while our room was prepared. We got a premier room with roll top bath in the bathroom , huge bathroom with walk in shower too. The bed was huge and really comfortable, the room had everything you need, safe, ironing board, kettle, hair dryer, tv, loads of clothes space and the room was bigger than most ,and mini bar (payable on exit ).
The only thing about the room was when I booked it , it showed a picture of a bath on the bedroom too but this was in one of the suites I believe. The evening meal was really nice , great steak as was the breakfast.
Overall we'd definitely book again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank STboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and fantastic 5* review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed you time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
KindRegards Matt Strawford GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Du Vin one Sunday evening, a treat as part of her Birthday present. We managed to get a perfect parking space in the ample car park behind the hotel, so it wasn’t far to carry our luggage. The staff on reception were polite and we were soon in our room (The Chapel Downs). Our room was perfect, large, big windows, gorgeous sleigh bed and a huge bathroom with roll top bath and his and hers sinks. There was one problem though, the heating didn’t work so the room was cold. We informed reception and they did all they could to fix the heating, it took a while but they did resolve the issue.

That night we had booked into the restaurant but decided to have a drink in the bar first. We decided on cocktails and I have to say Vallington, an excellent bar man, made the best Old Fashioned and Kia Royal ever, what a guy.

The staff in the restaurant were excellent and the food good, albeit my partner had the cod which seemed to be over powered by the addition of salmon.

Overall a great hotel that I will definitely stay at again and a beautiful city.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy22smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Front Office Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Dear andy22smith,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleaed you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you in the near future, the cocktails will be waiting for you!

Kind regards
Charley Heseltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

Lovely hotel with a very nice room, great friendly staff, only 10 mins walk to the river and city centre,lovely food,our only issues were no draft beer in the bar and very disappointed to be charged £10.25 for a large glass of wine and £4.50 for a small bottle of becks. I did email the hotel 3 times asking about the car parking but did not receive a reply, however there is parking to the rear for a £10 charge.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jimsuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Kind Regards, Team Du Vin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews