We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here numerous times never fails

Reception very professional and polite

Good parking

Only a little bar but had a good feel

We never used the restaurant this time as we stayed out till late

Breakfast is always good

Room was excellent and clean

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Rob51559,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on Hotel du Vin, York. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

My hubbie and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had a “friends reunion”. The major plus about this hotel (besides the wonderful staff) is the attention to detail. All the toiletries provided are French. Most of the wee food extras at brekkie were too. Including the apples! Goes without saying that the French wine was amazing! We ate dinner in the lovely intimate cosy dining room. Not bad choice for veggies. My hubbie said the French onion soup (made with beef stock) was THE best he had ever tasted! Brekkie is amazing - great selection. Loads of wee areas to sit and chill. Bar stays open forever as long as you charge the drinks to your room! Dangerous!
We had a free standing bath in our room which filled up in record time - only took about 3 mins!
Ample parking spaces out back for £10/night.
Hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Susan,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback, which we shall share with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to us. Merry Christmas, Matt Strawford &Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Always wanted to stay at a Hotel Du Vin in Birmingham and ended up booking into the one in York for a relaxing shopping trip. Hotel is ideally located just a short walk into the main city centre. Car park is a bit muddy but that has to be our only issue. Staff were helpful and attentive, room was a superior double and absolutely amazing with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Recommend the half board if you can afford it as the restaurant is lovely and the food was superb.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mattdartnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We’re thrilled you had a great experience and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards. Matt Strawford. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night after our anniversary, I just wish we'd stayed both nights. The hotel was massive , staff were really polite and we had a drink in the bar while our room was prepared. We got a premier room with roll top bath in the bathroom , huge bathroom with walk in shower too. The bed was huge and really comfortable, the room had everything you need, safe, ironing board, kettle, hair dryer, tv, loads of clothes space and the room was bigger than most ,and mini bar (payable on exit ).
The only thing about the room was when I booked it , it showed a picture of a bath on the bedroom too but this was in one of the suites I believe. The evening meal was really nice , great steak as was the breakfast.
Overall we'd definitely book again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank STboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and fantastic 5* review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed you time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
KindRegards Matt Strawford GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Du Vin one Sunday evening, a treat as part of her Birthday present. We managed to get a perfect parking space in the ample car park behind the hotel, so it wasn’t far to carry our luggage. The staff on reception were polite and we were soon in our room (The Chapel Downs). Our room was perfect, large, big windows, gorgeous sleigh bed and a huge bathroom with roll top bath and his and hers sinks. There was one problem though, the heating didn’t work so the room was cold. We informed reception and they did all they could to fix the heating, it took a while but they did resolve the issue.

That night we had booked into the restaurant but decided to have a drink in the bar first. We decided on cocktails and I have to say Vallington, an excellent bar man, made the best Old Fashioned and Kia Royal ever, what a guy.

The staff in the restaurant were excellent and the food good, albeit my partner had the cod which seemed to be over powered by the addition of salmon.

Overall a great hotel that I will definitely stay at again and a beautiful city.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy22smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Front Office Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear andy22smith,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleaed you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you in the near future, the cocktails will be waiting for you!

Kind regards
Charley Heseltine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Lovely hotel with a very nice room, great friendly staff, only 10 mins walk to the river and city centre,lovely food,our only issues were no draft beer in the bar and very disappointed to be charged £10.25 for a large glass of wine and £4.50 for a small bottle of becks. I did email the hotel 3 times asking about the car parking but did not receive a reply, however there is parking to the rear for a £10 charge.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jimsuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Kind Regards, Team Du Vin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Checked into the hotel and was escorted to the annexe where we were given a room on the ground floor - very noisy throughout the night as guests came and went through the front door which banged shut every time.
The room itself, Huia, was very small with very little space, and curtains dragging along the floor as they were simply too long. We didn't even take the complimentary dressing gowns out of the wardrobe as there was nowhere to hang them up, and space was already at a premium.
The bathroom was very dirty with water splash marks behind the toilet, behind the toilet brush and up the bath panel. The mind boggled as to what these were. Black mould along the bottom edge of the shower screen? Not acceptable in your own home for health and safety reasons, never mind in a hotel that is costing £170.00 a night.
Lamps at the side of the bed did not give enough light for reading. Only one side of the bed had an electric socket.
At breakfast we had to brush the crumbs from our seats before sitting down, and the BACON and tomato omelette requested was just tomato!
Maybe the superior rooms in the main house are better? Who knows. We won't be returning to find out.
On our second day there was no hot water to shower in the morning. We mentioned this at checkout and were told 'we are aware we have problems so the car park fee will be refunded'. If you are aware you have problems, you rectify and/or acknowledge. You don't wait until the customer complains before doing something about it.
Not a serial complainer - been to many hotels a lot more expensive and a lot cheaper than this and I strongly believe in giving credit for good service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor of the annexe are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank franksyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDVYork, Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear franksyswife,

Thank you for writing the time to pass your feedback on to the hotel. Please contact myself or our Deputy General Manager, Sarah Fletcher on 01904 557350 or Email receptionmgr.york@hotelduvin.com we would like to take the time to discuss your review further.

Kind regards

Charley Heseltine
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
1.3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $151 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing