We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run business”
Review of Sophia's

Sophia's
Ranked #11 of 575 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Staff are very friendly and helpful. A small restaurant, always busy so advisable to book well well in advance.

1  Thank Willfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2018

We had been before, last winter, and received a warm and attentive welcome. The food was excellent. This time, not so good. The duck was lovely but for the price we would have expected the vegetables to be included. We ordered a side of vegetables for £3 and received one small floret each of brocolli and cauliflower and a few slithers of carrot. No-one came to our table to ask if the meal was OK. Had they, I would have complained about the quantity of vegetables. At the end of our meal, my friend had literally just put her fork down having taken her last mouthful and the waiter took our plates. He did not ask if our meal was alright or whether it was OK to take our plates. Finally, the Head Waiter did ask if the meal was OK. I told him all of the above. He immediately apologised and took the vegetables off the bill. He also offered us all an alcoholic drink. Thank you for deaing with the complaint correctly and promptly but I have to say, surely it's better business sense to provide more vegetables, or better still, include them in the price of the main meal, than have to deal with unhappy customers, supply free drinks and run the risk of those customers not returning? We are, as yet, undecided as to whether we will or not. Sorry, Sophia's. I'm very upset that I need to write this poor review. You need to pull your socks up - just a little bit - and eveything would be amazing.

1  Thank nw0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Sophia's, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review,

As far as i can tell from this feedback everything was handled perfectly, but you did fail to mention that you only ordered a single portion of vegetables to accompany both main courses, we charge separately as some people prefer a salad or alternative accompaniment.
We appreciate the feedback and if you return after such a traumatic experience we will be sure to,

A) give plenty of free vegetables to feed as many guests as required so a party of 4 for instance can order one portion and we will give enough away to feed the whole restaurant,

B) have a member of staff to constantly badger you asking if everything is ok with your main course, single portion of vegetables between 2 and glass of water which have been completely polished off, (when offered a complimentary drink you suddenly took a dislike to water H2OMG)

C) leave empty dirty plates infront of you until you inform your personal waiter to be gone with them,

D) If any problems should arise we will make sure not to deal with them in the correct manner so that you leave happy,

as far as I can tell this is what you require from your feedback.

Thank you for your advice on how to run a restaurant and i am sorry to have to leave this response but if free drinks and adjustments to the bill to keep you happy are not enough then i shall keep my socks firmly by my ankles,
Kind regards,
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Lovely food, friendly staff, really great atmosphere. Staff were funny, attentive and genuinely lovely people. The food was amazing, great portion sizes and delicious homemade Italian food! Thank you! :)

1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

The food is amazing, the service is amazing and the atmosphere is amazing! I would highly recommend Sophia’s for a meal with friends, family or for a romantic meal

1  Thank Louisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

A group of us visited here again.

As always, food was fantastic.

The service was a little slow but it was very busy all night despite the football being on.

Highly recommend- again

1  Thank Midlandsmum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophia's also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Sophia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing