We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Falstone Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falstone Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Had a superb two night stay in the Versace Glamour barn which was way better than the photos on the website. The barn had everything you could possibly need and there had obviously been no expense spared creating this perfect fantasy retreat.

I simply can't believe that anyone could complain or write a poor review of this place. They must be Impossible to please. I'm certain that 99.9% of normal people would be thrilled to come here and think it was a real treat.

Versace barn is on three levels with lots of nooks and granny's. Wet room is cool, freestanding bath is gorgeous and kitchen a joy to cook in.

Pack up the car with some lovely food, a couple bottles of something fizzy and some bubble bath and you'll not want to set foot outside the lively split stable door!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We enjoyed a long weekend here at the beginning of the month and thought the place was wonderful. Surrounded by open countyside and only a few minutes drive from Keilder Water, we stayed in the French Bourgois apartment. The apartment is tastefully decorated and very well appointed, with some wonderful little touches that you must see for yourself. The weather was great so we enjoyed a glass of two of wine under the gazebo in the garden followed by an exceptional meal at the local pub, the Blackcock Inn.

All in all, highly recommended.

Once point to note, if you are planning to go walking or cycling in Spring/Summer take some insect repellent.

Room Tip: If you are looking for light and airy accommodation, French apartment is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed at Falstone with my husband and 2 children age 4 and 6. The 2 bedroom apartment French Bourgeois was more than we would have ever expected from such good value accomodation. Beautiful! We looked onto the courtyard with huge windows and a perfect little seating are to enjoy a glass of wine. The grounds are safe for the children to enjoy and there was lots of places to hide the chocolate for the Easter Egg hunt.
The double bedroom with double doors leading to the en suite with roll top bath was amazing. The childrens bedroom was breathtaking and they enjoyed having their own on suite, making them feel grown up.There was everything you would need in a kitchen, making it easy to be self catering. I can only add one slight fault. Our room was the only one with another apartment above it, and we could hear the occupants. Thankfully it was a middle age couple so only talking and the sound of walking around, ending at 11pm. This would have been a different story if it was a younger group with a late night in mind. Will we go back? We cant wait. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2adults_4kidsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed at Falstone Barns for two nights for a bit of r&r and to visit an event at Kielder Observatory. We arrived early but this was no problem and we were shown to our apartment (the Romantic Medieval suite) straight away. With it's own entrance at the end of the barns and a spectacular view over the valley this suite was perfect for a secluded getaway for two.

As we entered the suite we were just grinning from ear to ear when we saw the magical interior. We sort of knew what to expect from Tripadvisor and the website but can happily report that the décor is even more impressive first-hand than on photographs. It's a fabulous leap of creativity and imagination and you could easily spend all your time simply snuggled up inside.

The suite was spotlessly clean, well cared for and very well resourced for self catering. We chose to befriend the cat which made the stay even more special and homely! It was such a lovely place to return to after a days exploring that it made us smile every time we entered. There's not much more you can ask for in my opinion and we would definitely recommend the barns to others and hopefully return ourselves in the not too distant future.

The location in Falstone is fantastic for exploring Keilder and the surrounding area by foot, bike or car. We visited both local pubs and the tearoom which were all good, and can recommend the Hareshaw Linn walk at Bellingham and Keilder Observatory and the Skyspace installation at the top end of the reservoir.

All in all a brilliant and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flizbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Great Barn conversions in a good location close to the southern edge of Kielder water. Great for access to the lakeside way and Kielder bike trails. Decor is anything but minimalist but clean, warm and comfy. Best apartment is the 'classic opulent' as it's upstairs and is the most private. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This place more than lived up to expectations.

The rooms have a nice creative touch and the whole experience is very cosy.

Kielder is beautiful and just down the road.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EboracumYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

There's nothing I could really add to all the comments that have been left so far, but we loved every aspect of this place - in summary:
» Apartments are gorgeous and comfortable
» Very friendly family pets (cat/dog) occasionally seen about the place
» Nickey is very pleasant and helpful
» Location is quiet and perfect for access to nearby Kielder and surrounding areas and is also near to local pubs etc

Definitely stay here, maybe work your way through the apartments! :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjeruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
27.2 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
17.1 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
24.1 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,569 reviews
35.4 km away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
32 reviews
0 km away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstone Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstone Barns

Address: Falstone, Hexham NE48 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price Range: $178 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Falstone Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Falstone Barns we have 4 5* luxuriously appointed apartments, set in a courtyard and overlooking 38 acres of private estate. We can cater for your every need, from self-catering alone or additional packages which you might like to try; such as Pamper, Fine Dining, Clay Pigeon shooting and Horseriding. We welcome Families, Groups, couples and are awarded VisitBritain Family, Walkers, Cyclist friendly. We also have one apartment which is awarded Accessibility level 2. Your very own place in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falstone Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstone Barns Hotel Hexham
Falstone Barns Hexham, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing