We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hart's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hart's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Booked a superior twin room for two nights for myself and my younger daughter whilst visiting eldest daughter at university. Room was unbelievably tiny, quite modern in style but starting to look worn, the carpet had some nasty stains. The beds were incredibly hard, neither of us had a good nights sleep as we found the beds so uncomfortable. The bathroom was nice and very clean, all the staff we encountered were very pleasant and the breakfast fairly good. We checked out early and didnt stay the second night as instead of feeling like a special treat we just couldnt do another night on the concrete mattress!

Room Tip: perhaps the suites are better, but if they have the same rock hard mattresses then i doubt it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    172
    68
    28
    4
See reviews for
74
223
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a two night stay - a lovely hotel with nice friendly staff. Recommend eating in the hotels Park Bar on Friday night for the fish and chips. We had a really nice room which was clean and had a fab view across the city. The hotel is in walking distance of the town centre

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spalding, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here 1 night to see show in Nottingham - lovely small hotel only 10 mins walk from the city centre. Small car park. Modern hotel, very clean and well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a pre-theatre meal in Hart's Restaurant which is just a short walk over from the main entrance - lovely modern restauarant, service excellent and good menus. Breakfast in the Park Bar was lovely with a reasonable choice of food. Would definitely stay here again. It is an ideal place for a city break - relaxing, lovely food, friendly and helpful staff and so close to the city centre but nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Next time would consider a room with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennypenny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Nottingham - we chose Hart's from TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed!

The hotel is modern and well maintained. It's location is fantastic - it is close enough to the city to be able to walk into town but far enough out (on a mound near the castle) that it is exceptionally quiet. We had followed a previous recommendation of taking a garden facing room and we were very pleased - the view of Nottingham's architecture was fantastic!

The staff however made the whole stay - we did not meet one member of the team who was not extremely friendly. Katie in the bar was a firm favourite with our 2 daughters as was John the bar chef.

We had a delicious meal in Hart's restaurant, jsut over the drive. Again the service was excellent and they catered brilliantly for our 2 girls.

Thank you for making stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlosFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is lovely with a very nice bar to sit in for a drink, room service is reasonably priced and is the same as the bar menu. Quick service.
Close to city centre.
The restaurant has a tendency to overserve and is very much geared to the classier resident.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottinghamfoodlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Not sure why I haven't reviewd this until now as we have stayed her more than once each year since 2009. The hotel is not large but the space is used creatively. The rooms are compact but very clean and the use of space is excellent. A garden room allows access directly to the garden with the exclusive use of a table and chairs. The bar is freidly and the food on offer is excellent . Breakfast too is very good - especially the poached eggs an d the breads. We are now welcomed the minute we arrive and our preferences are anticipated which is how it should be - butit rartely happens elsewhere.
The location is good and the added asset of an onsite car park is a bonus. We will be very sorry when we no longer have a reason to visit Nottingham and stay at Harts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our fourth visit and the standard remains excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. Unusual hideaway location near Nottingham Castle with fantastic views over the city and beyond. A 15 minute walk takes you into the city centre. Breakfast in the bar is plentiful and tasty. Their own bakery company provides the bread and rolls and the produce can be purchased to take home. Didn't eat in the restaurant on this occasion but have done so in the past and it was excellent. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.8 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.6 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 km away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.9 km away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Hotel

Property: Hart's Hotel
Address: Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hart's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is perfect. A secluded courtyard, just a short stroll from Nottingham station, with a quiet garden giving glorious views over the city and beyond. Hart's light airy rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Top quality beds are equipped with goose down pillows and duvets, and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Since 1997 Hart's Restaurant has claimed the title of Nottingham's most successful up-market eatery, bringing to the city nationally acclaimed cooking at local prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Hart's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing