We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Friendly check in, good food. Waiting staff, especially Maureen, excellent. Bed comfortable - pillow could be better. Overall great to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzerWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    259
    143
    44
    33
See reviews for
84
237
52
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here because we got a good deal and also because we had dinner here with our family. So it was convenient to stay in the same place. The room was very small but clean and the bathroom was good. The bed was comfortable. We were on the ground floor and our window went into the passage way so there was not much natural light. We only stayed for one night so this did not bother us at all. We had a car and the hotel is close to the ring road which is very handy. The staff was very friendly. We would stay here again for a night or two because we wouldn't spend much time in the room. It is OK to stay here if you are just going to sleep here rather than spending some time in the room during the day. Maybe other rooms are more spacious though but we don't know.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Travelled to Nottingham in February to spend a weekend with friends and we all stayed at the Westminster.
From the moment we arrived the staff couldn;t have beeen more helpful.
We all checked in then went to the bar to wait for some friends who were only up for the day and not staying over. The bar staff were happy and smiling, and talkative aswell.
The woman who would be doing the breakfasts on Sunday morning, asked how many of us were in the group, then said she'd open the 'Gordon Room' for us for breakfast - this is a big meeting room just off the main dining area and would allow us all to have breakfast around one big table.
The bedrooms were furnished to a high modern style, with large beds and comfortable bedding.
Breakfast was a mixture of hot and cold, with the hot including a full english breakfast buffet. During breakfast the toaster broke down, so the waitress came round to us all, asked if we wanted toast and then went to the kitchen to make it especially for everyone. She even asked what type of bread and how toasted you wanted it (light, brown, cremated!). Most hotels would have said toast was off the menu, or just brought it as they like it, not how you - the customer - like it.
Ample free parking at the front of the hotel and the City Centre is less than 5 mins drive away.
Great Hotel. Excellent Staff and well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

A pleasant enough stay in this hotel situated on a main road into Nottingham town centre. The room was small but clean and had all you would expect including large TV. Breakfast was buffet style (including hot food) and was fine. Ate in the restaurant in the evening which was good value for hotel meals and the food was fine. Staff efficient and friendly. All in all a good one night stay at a very reasonable price.Hotel is on main road so there is traffic noise at the front and it is a 20/25 minute walk into the city centre, although buses stop right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eck1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your favourable comments

We are a Victorian conversion of 4 houses and this means that all our rooms vary in size.

For a small supplement it is possible to upgrade to one of our king size or executive rooms

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a great hotel. We had an executive suite which was huge with a Queen size bed. Rooms are clean, well kept, bathroom was lovely. All staff were helpful & friendly. Breakfast was good quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckleyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My boyfriend and I are currently staying here (and here for one more night unfortunately) neither of us slept well, the bed is barely a double and slopes toward the middle - which is extremely uncomfortable!! I have never slept in such an uncomfortable bed. Contemplating moving elsewhere tonight, I am sure even the car would be more comfy!!!
The room was clean etc but very very small, we couldn't both walk in the same area at the same time.
Nice bathroom (shower only no bath) but that's about the only good thing about the room!!!
Staff polite, free wifi and free parking, but hideously uncomfortable so going to have to rate this hotel very low, as the least you expect is a double bed that is comfortable enough to sleep on!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahrose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review

I am sorry to read of your disappointment and that you felt our beds were uncomfortable especially as all our double room beds have been replaced over the last few months

I was not aware of your review until after you had checked out. We also have no record of you expressing any dissatisfaction with your room.

Had we been made aware of your discomfort we would have had the opportunity to resolve this at the time

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here overnight for a judo competition. Booked a single room and got a double. Bath was very welcome after a hard days training. Tea and coffee in room. Bus stop right outside the hotel £1.90 to town centre, make sure you've change. The hotel is a bit disjointed, but once you've located you're room you can find it like a homing pigeon. Staff are sound, real people rather than the usual clones you get in hotels. A few bars nearby, parking was good, my car was there in the morning, which is always a bonus. Room was clean, warm, cosy and quiet. For the money you'll not go wrong

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay

We are a conversion of 4 Victorian which we think adds to the charm of the hotel (even if room numbers don’t run in a straight line down corridors

It is also great to read we are not “hotel clones” – Best Western are after all “hotels with personality”

We hope you did well in the Judo competition and look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
2.7 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#18 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.6 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
Address: 312 Mansfield Road, Nottingham NG5 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 mile from Nottingham city centre, The Best Western Westminster Hotel offers both modern and traditional rooms. There is free on-site parking, free Wi-Fi and a free internet booth in reception.Beautifully converted from Victorian homes, each room is unique and features a flat-screen Freeview TV, free toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. The Carrington Bar and Restaurant prides it's self on home cooked food and is regarded as a favourite amongst locals and regular guests. 24 hour room service is available.We are linked with a local gym, swimming pool and golf courses. Health and beauty treatments are available on site at hotel every day, including massages and manicures.Nottingham Rail Station is an 5 minute drive away. Trent FM Arena and Nottingham’s main shopping areas are within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing