We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$71
View deal
Expedia.comUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
PricelineUS$81
eDreamsUS$71
TravelocityUS$77
Orbitz.comUS$77
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
547
180
104
61
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
547
180
104
61
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea race course grand ballroom champagne lounge huge bathroom wedding breakfast no lift wedding party duty manager following morning yogurt racecourse byron marquee lord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 967 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2021 via mobile

Beautiful listed building. I had a four poster bed & free standing bath which were amazing. Decor's sometimes tired and sometimes new - is an unusual mix of classy refurb and cheap 'tide the hotel over' jobs. There were some lovely boutique style areas and a stunning ballroom.

The staff were really friendly and welcoming. They're just needed to be more of them to keep up with demand.

The bar and food were lovely, had a really nice vegan meal. Breakfast was buffet (tea and coffee served to you) and was good with a mix of meat & vegan options. The house wine and espresso were yum.

The hotel was peaceful and clean. I'd deffo go back, and recommend, and more staff would be great with some more money put into freshening up the decor.

WiFi was excellent. Great location - free parking & really close to Nottingham centre so easy to get a taxi in

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jencwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2021 via mobile

Not sure where to start.
Over priced and under delivered.
The whole stay was a nightmare !
Had to pay in full on arrival !
Bedding ripped ,rude staff,food inedible !
Windows in the room ,one was stuck wide open the other wouldn't open .
Huge room with very lumpy bed and very little else .
How this hotel manages 4 stars I don't know!
The hotel seems to focus on weddings and everyone else is left to their own devices !
Worst hotel and service we have ever experienced anywhere!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2021 via mobile

Appalling stay - paid a fortune but for some bizarre reason we’ve been placed above the venue where a wedding is taking place. It’s gone midnight and the music is blaring below us and crowds outside screeching. Whilst we are happy for the wedding guests enjoying their day we are not at all happy with the management for putting us in a room directly above them.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrandmrsTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2021

We stayed three nights in the Lord Byion Suite (room 103) which was the largest room we have ever stayed n with a huge luxurious bathroom. The staff were excellent very friendly and despite Covid restrictions provided a efficient friendly service. The food was excellent , t especially dinner with well priced wine.

The grounds are very nice and lead directly to the Colwick Park nature walks. This is a popular wedding venue at the time of our visit these took place in marquees within the grounds well away from the main building. Parking blocking the main entrance driveway needs to be restricted for disabled or drop off only..

Colwick Hall is a grand building but lacks a quiet lounge where guests can relax or read . It is inn great location for Nottingham or exploring the Derbyshire Dales and Peak district, Chatsworth and Southwell, and the racecourse is within easy walking distance.

Very reasonably priced for the quality of the accommodation and food we recommend this hotel , although be careful as the rooms do vary in size and as there is no lift may be inaccessible for some people. (Room 203 was adequate but layed out babdly which could be overcome with a little thought and imagination.

Room tip: Room 103 is a very large luxury suite Room 203 Standard room was poorly laid out but adequate. BOth were very clean and well maintained.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2021 via mobile

Worst dining experience ever ( also uncovid safe)

We booked a nice relaxing afternoon tea for two at lunchtime. We waited 20 mins for drinks and shortly after were seated at a table.

the food and tea arrived and looked nice, at the same time a group of about 4 ladies arrived to set up for an hen party! On several nearby tables. None of them were wearing face masks enetering or wondering around near us. Eventually this group grew to about 14!
Breaking current uk government legislation

As we were the only other diners in the venue they basically took over and we felt forced to bolt our afternoon tea down, as it was such an uncomfortable experience never felt forced out of a venue before but we both did.

I have no idea why the bar staff didn’t ask any of the ladies to wear a face mask while they milled around or stood next to our table while taking photos of their setup!

Why the venue didn’t seat us well away from the group, or cancel our booking to another date I have no idea.

We completely felt we had gatecrashed a private party

We did complain on leaving to the bar staff, who really didn’t care.

Never felt as uncomfortable dining anywhere before, to top it off we were told when we complained that that have large groups in for afternoon tea all the time ( clearly breaking the law, by what we observed today)

To be honest I felt like we would have enjoyed burning £50 more, given such a horrid experience.

I was going to complain via email privately to the hotel manager, but they don’t publish their email address on their website!

Room tip: Ask if they have booked any large groups for a private party
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pingu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews