We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Overall a good meal! Children were welcome, but not really catered for, no children's menu, and half adult portions, but more than half the price, plus you paid for 3 courses but there was nothing any of the 4 children would eat as a starter, but you still paid for them! The Starter portion was minimalist to say the least, but the main was good, although there was no consistency in the portion size and the veg was plated, which was a let down! I had guinea fowl, which had 1 courgette slice 3 green beans 1 potato and asmall piece of cauliflower, the children's plates however had 3 times this! A little disappointing, but I'd try again without the children!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    129
    47
    30
    18
See reviews for
112
344
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We fell in love with the Bay Tree from the moment we saw it from the road. We love Burford and the Cotswolds and were lucky enough to have our wedding at the Bay Tree Hotel. It was such a perfect day in perfect surroundings.

I stayed with my bridal party in the honeymoon suite (Oak) the night before so we were able to be pampered and get ready at the venue in the morning. Then after the ceremony we came back for photos in the garden, croquet, music in the summer house and relaxing in the deck chairs. Then we had a beautiful reception followed by drinks and music.

Inside and out the hotel is so relaxing and impressive. The nooks, crannies and different rooms downstairs meant that all our friends and family could enjoy the atmosphere of the day.

The staff went out of their way to meet all our needs and exceeded our already high expectations of the venue. The food was delicious and service impeccable. The rooms are stunning and we were particularly impressed with the size and grandeur of the bathrooms.

We had all the rooms for our guests on the night so it was special to be able to share another gastro feast over breakfast with everyone the next day.

We enjoyed meals and drinks with our family and friends in the months before our wedding and we look forward to many more return visits to such a great hotel in an amazing location.

Room Tip: Oak Room is honeymoon suite with great bathroom, four poster bed and seperate living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Bay Tree Hotel in Burford. The hotel is wonderful in every way. The staff are polite & friendly providing excellent service. They made you feel very special without be intrusive.
The rooms were lovely, comfortable and all seem to be decorated in an individual way. All the public areas are decorated well and in good taste given the great age of this wonderful building. The Bay Tree is in a fantastic location and central to lots of other great places to visit in the area.
We had dinner(first night) bed and breakfast for 2 days, all the food was absolutely fantastic. The 3 course evening meal was very tasty and all in all this is the best hotel we have stayed in. I would definitely return to this great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue33B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a lovely break at the Bay Tree. From the moment Matthew warmly welcomed our children (and their cuddly toys!) we knew we would have a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble - fresh milk for tea, extra crockery and glasses in our room for the children and Matthew even went home to get DVDs for the children to watch after dinner. Dinner was a treat. The children chose from their own menu but they were still given all the dinner extras such as the amuse bouche and sorbet. It brought out the best in them as, although they were the only children in the dining room, I don't think the other diners would have known they were there. We had a lovely leisurely breakfast in the morning and then wended our way home feeling relaxed and happy after our short break in the Cotswolds. This was not our first vist to the Bay Tree and it won't be the last. Thank you very much and please pass on our gratitude to Matthew particularly for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our stay at the hotel was fabulous. The rooms are lovely, the bar & lounge were very relaxing to sit in with a drink & the food was delicious!! We had breakfast & dinners there.The staff were extremely friendly & helpful, especiallyMatt who carried our very heavy bags & was really helpful. The hotel was gorgeous and had a lovely ambience.We stayed an extra night as liked it so much! We highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Top floor looked out over the countryside. Had a nice breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

One of, if not the best, hotel we've stayed in. Each room seems to be unique and was quiet and very comfortable; the food was as good as we've had anywhere in the world, (both breakfast and dinner); the service was courteous, friendly and very efficient, (to the extent that the receptionist had our keys ready for us and met us at the hotel door when we returned after a night out - the first time that we've ever received such personal service). The hotel itself has great charm being of some considerable age yet with no faded edges as you might expect. Highly recommended and, if you can get a mid-week winter deal, exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovers1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My partner and friends enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal at bay tree hotel restaurant priced £32 per person. The main course was exceptional, and we all agreed having dined at some great restaurants that it was right up there. Good value for money as fine dining goes!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywoozy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
3.9 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.6 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
14.5 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree
The Bay Tree Hotel Burford, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing