We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“poor show” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
high wycombe
1 review
“poor show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

stayed 1n december 2010 for a wedding returned reluctantly last week for another wedding . Remains poor, greasy and bad food dirty chairs and unhelpful staaf

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyd547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    118
    46
    29
    18
See reviews for
104
327
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a fabulous choice by close friends.We stayed and had a super room and the staff were very polite and efficient! The wedding took place in the hotel summer house it was brilliant and felt so intimate an occasion thanks to the staff and the attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Quick review to say we stayed with two friends on one of the weekend offers and were so impressed. Hotel is not swish or fancy just full of character and quirks. Often on offers they don't live up to expectations but this place did. Apart from anything its looks much nicer than photos, the food was really good breakfast exceptional and Molton Brown products everywhere you looked. Fab.
We and our friends are buying vouchers for family as a result of stay. Keep doing the offers please!!

Room Tip: We stayed in standard rooms and they were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Our sixth stay in this hotel and yet again I can't fault it. Excellent service, great rooms and great atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the employees always have a smile on their face. I don't understand the bad reviews- clearly they come from people expecting something completely unrealistic. This is not a top end posh London hotel with no character; it's a quaint and welcoming country hotel with loads of character and is home from home- with wonky floors and beautiful open fires. For the people that give bad reviews- don't come back - this place is top class. I don't know how the owners do it but after 3 years they are still the best by far.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We made arrangements, here, on one of their special offers - two nights for the price of one + a free dinner for two. This was very good comparative value. This is a very old country coaching inn which has been delightfully decorated, cozy sitting rooms with log fires, attractive dining room serving excellent English breakfast, spacious bedrooms with good quality beds and linens.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms overlooking the walled garden. The restaurant is excellent!! Wonderful cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were married at The Bay Tree on 14th April.
It was a perfect day - surpassed our expectations.
From the start of the process - even when we visited during the wedding fayre - it was clear that this venue was wonderful. And the management and all staff are top notch.
The building and the hotel rooms are so gorgeous - and the little touches - like the bears on each bed (we ended up buying our bear as we loved him so much) make it truly special.
We had to come in to visit on a number of occasions - a joy to sit in the cosy library or the bar with the log fires on and enjoy the coffee and the shortbread biscuits while working through wedding plans.
Massive thank you to Maureen, Quintin and Chris and all the staff.
The food is excellent - we visited for lunch a couple of times before the wedding and also the wedding catering itself - outstanding.
Can't wait to come back and visit and eat more food :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the bridal suite - oak room. It was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleEarlyThirties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I attended a wedding here in April and the whole day was perfect, the rooms were immaculate, organisation seemed excellent and food was outstanding, really friendly staff - overall nothing to fault. A beautiful character property and well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.9 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
20.6 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
14.5 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Hotel

Property: Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree
Bay Tree Hotel Burford, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing