We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
390
181
53
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
181
53
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muesli high street the hotel car park superior room uneven floors historic hotel old building courtyard room four poster bed venison steeped in history excellent food reception area full english small hotel bottled water kippers
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 656 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We were in Burford for a wedding and booked two nights in the 'superior' room. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the street. It had a four poster bed. We expected it to be quaint as it is an old building. The bedroom and bathroom needed a deep clean. Getting ready for the wedding was a nightmare as there was insufficient lighting to see in the mirror. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent but the room itself was very disappointing for the price we paid. The following night we moved on and stayed in a budget hotel where we paid less than a quarter of the price and had a clean comfortable bed, good shower and fantastic lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This is a review for food only - we didn't stay at The Bull. We were politely informed that there would be a wait of at least 30 minutes for food, but our order was taken and arrived well within the 30 minutes. The fish and chips (and peas) were freshly cooked and delicious, the service was charming and the place itself offers various areas to eat - we were lucky enough with the weather to eat outside, but the indoor areas seem very pleasant too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank newbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Stayed just one night at this hotel; although we accepted a 'small' room it was rather poorly furnished and both of us hit our legs moving around on the end of the bed due to very little room to move either side of it; a tired bathroom with a chip on the bath and a broken loo flusher. A soulless bar area and the 'residents lounge' just a few wooden tables and chairs in the reception area. Food good but dinner was rather overpriced - the fact that there were only six people dining between 8 - 9.15 p.m. on a Saturday evening rather bore this out Rather surprised as other reviews so good.

Room Tip: Do check a photo of your room before booking - I am sure other rooms were much better than ours.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullatburford, Manager at The Bull at Burford, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Bull. We're really sorry that things didn't live up to your expectations on this occasion. Overall September has been our busiest month since we took over the hotel in 2009 so we're surprised the restaurant lacked atmosphere, but it does explain why you might have been in one of our smaller rooms.
We very much hope that you will put this down to us having an off day and come back soon.
Kind regards,
The management, Bull at Burford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Visited with friends on a Secret Escapes deal which was excellent value.
What a quintessential gem of a place Burford is! Gorgeous quaint Cotswold stone houses in a village packed with charm and character. Nestling in the midst of the High Street is The Bull Inn, a 15th Century Coach House, bursting with character and history.

The staff were so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms nicely furnished and comfortable but it is,a very old building with quaint passages and stairs.

Food was excellent. Good choice of menu with very generous portions and breakfast one of the best selections we've seen. The fresh honeycomb was a particularly nice touch.

There is a very small car park at the rear of the hotel but access is quite different especially if you have a larger vehicle. However, there is a free car park within easy walking distance as well as plenty of on street parking so wasn't a problem.
Highly recommended. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms at the rear were quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Lovely few days in Burford. The Bull's staff are so welcoming, considerate, polite and friendly. With our dog in tow, we were shown where we would eat (comfortable area before the main restaurant) so we could keep him close. The room was lovely, if the bathroom a little tired but clean. The al a carte food, from my husbands point of view, was amazing. I enjoyed what I had but as a lover of a more plain diet, I would have liked the bar menu to have been available. Breakfast was superb. The full English was generous with not a hint of grease on the plate. Coffee and toast was supplied as much as you wanted. A special mention to Hannah and Jenny who fussed over us and the dog.... perhaps a little more over the dog!! Thanks to all. Would definitely recommend The Bull.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews