We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My company paid for me to go away for a weekend for my 20 years service. Upon arrival receptionist changed our room as my husband is 6' 5" and said double bed would be too small. We got upgraded to Trafalgar room. It was spacious although floors very uneven as you would expect in this age of building. Added to the character. The doorways very low and my husband kept bashing his head!

The bed was comfy and everything was clean. Plenty of tea/coffee making facilities and shower gels/shampoos etc in bathroom.

Evening meal was absolutely fantastic. Food well presented, full of flavour and generous portions. Breakfast had a full cold buffet and breakfast cooked to order. Homemade muesli was superb.

All the staff were polite and friendly. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Our Room was located at the rear of the Hotel overlooking their car park. A nice size room with a comfortable double bed and a very clean bathroom with toiletries provided. The dinner was extremely good and very filling as the portions were normal sizes not gourmet size. Every starter that was ordered was very good. Our main was the steak with chunky chips,with roasted cherry tomatoes. Personally I would have liked a choice of a vegetable instead of the tomatoes. The deserts went from a small trio of different ice creams to a Milhojas de Chocolate. This was a flaky pastry filled with custard and a very large mint dark chocolate wafer served ontop of the custard served with a few strawberries,blueberries and dusted with chocolate and confectionery sugar. It also came with a tiny pitcher of chocolate syrup. It was a very large dessert as was the other desserts that were order by our party of 15. The breakfast was a buffet of many items and then you ordered your hot breakfast and toast according to your preference with tea or coffee. We could not fault any of the food that was ordered between dinner and breakfast the portions were great sizes and service was fantastic. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear of Hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We were in Burford for a wedding and booked two nights in the 'superior' room. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the street. It had a four poster bed. We expected it to be quaint as it is an old building. The bedroom and bathroom needed a deep clean. Getting ready for the wedding was a nightmare as there was insufficient lighting to see in the mirror. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent but the room itself was very disappointing for the price we paid. The following night we moved on and stayed in a budget hotel where we paid less than a quarter of the price and had a clean comfortable bed, good shower and fantastic lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a review for food only - we didn't stay at The Bull. We were politely informed that there would be a wait of at least 30 minutes for food, but our order was taken and arrived well within the 30 minutes. The fish and chips (and peas) were freshly cooked and delicious, the service was charming and the place itself offers various areas to eat - we were lucky enough with the weather to eat outside, but the indoor areas seem very pleasant too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank newbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed just one night at this hotel; although we accepted a 'small' room it was rather poorly furnished and both of us hit our legs moving around on the end of the bed due to very little room to move either side of it; a tired bathroom with a chip on the bath and a broken loo flusher. A soulless bar area and the 'residents lounge' just a few wooden tables and chairs in the reception area. Food good but dinner was rather overpriced - the fact that there were only six people dining between 8 - 9.15 p.m. on a Saturday evening rather bore this out Rather surprised as other reviews so good.

Room Tip: Do check a photo of your room before booking - I am sure other rooms were much better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullatburford, Manager at The Bull at Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Bull. We're really sorry that things didn't live up to your expectations on this occasion. Overall September has been our busiest month since we took over the hotel in 2009 so we're surprised the restaurant lacked atmosphere, but it does explain why you might have been in one of our smaller rooms.
We very much hope that you will put this down to us having an off day and come back soon.
Kind regards,
The management, Bull at Burford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Visited with friends on a Secret Escapes deal which was excellent value.
What a quintessential gem of a place Burford is! Gorgeous quaint Cotswold stone houses in a village packed with charm and character. Nestling in the midst of the High Street is The Bull Inn, a 15th Century Coach House, bursting with character and history.

The staff were so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms nicely furnished and comfortable but it is,a very old building with quaint passages and stairs.

Food was excellent. Good choice of menu with very generous portions and breakfast one of the best selections we've seen. The fresh honeycomb was a particularly nice touch.

There is a very small car park at the rear of the hotel but access is quite different especially if you have a larger vehicle. However, there is a free car park within easy walking distance as well as plenty of on street parking so wasn't a problem.
Highly recommended. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms at the rear were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely few days in Burford. The Bull's staff are so welcoming, considerate, polite and friendly. With our dog in tow, we were shown where we would eat (comfortable area before the main restaurant) so we could keep him close. The room was lovely, if the bathroom a little tired but clean. The al a carte food, from my husbands point of view, was amazing. I enjoyed what I had but as a lover of a more plain diet, I would have liked the bar menu to have been available. Breakfast was superb. The full English was generous with not a hint of grease on the plate. Coffee and toast was supplied as much as you wanted. A special mention to Hannah and Jenny who fussed over us and the dog.... perhaps a little more over the dog!! Thanks to all. Would definitely recommend The Bull.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.2 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
3.8 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
0.4 km away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
300 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
667 reviews
13.5 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $139 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of the popular Cotswold town of Burford, this historic former coaching inn offers 18 bedrooms catering for a variety of tastes, requirements and budgets and wonderful food in its restaurant and bar. The friendly staff are always on hand to offer help and advice. For best value try the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate, which gives you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford
The Bull At Burford UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing