We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant rooms in nice setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Lancs UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant rooms in nice setting”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012 went with 2 friends and shared room - 2 x double beds was difficult to find hotel that would accomodate 3 x adults in one room and wanted Spa hotel - so is why we picked this one. Good value package for 2 nights stay with use of spa facilities and 1 hr of treatment on 2nd day of stay. We booked DBB package - food okay - better on 2nd night - Hotel very quiet other than the restaurant felt like we had the place to ourselves. Only problem was that it snowed overnight on our 1st night and although Spa was open - ie pool etc - they could not offer us treatments as the beauticians failed to turn into work - due to weather conditions - very disappointed. We did get our money back for the treatments and an alternative Spa day was offered but had travelled a long distance to get to hotel so refused offer - not worth the fuel costs. So be mindful if bad weather forecast!! Hotel staff pleasant - rooms new decor and apart from very hot shower water nice rooms, hotel decor very modern. Overall good budget stay. To add pool and spa quite small - there were about 6 loungers and it is also gym that open to non guests so can imagine gets quite busy if the snow hadn't kept people away.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one - albeit I don't think hotel was very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that the team couldn't get to the Spa, due to the snow, as the Estate is set in 440 acres of beautiful countryside, it can be difficult to get all of the staff on site when we have heavy snow, fortunately it is only once or twice per year.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    442
    273
    104
    63
See reviews for
243
538
15
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

stayed here for a relaxing weekend break of country walks and sightseeing and is perfect base for touring around provided you have a car, situated in lovely grounds with walks all around, it is a few miles from anywhere but that was the idea. Rooms and decor all brand new and ultra clean, stylewise a bit suspect, more like Essex meets BHS but at least they are trying to be different than the usual corporate bland look. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Rooms offered are standard, executive, junior suite or senior suite, i like to splash out now and again so booked a senior suite assuming it would have a separate sitting room (after all suite does mean a 'set of' or 'collection of' eg more than one room see Wikepedia definition:- "Suites offer multiple rooms, with more space and furniture than a standard hotel room. In addition to one or more beds and bedroom fixtures, a suite will include a living or sitting room, usually with a couch that converts into a bed. Dining, office and kitchen facilities are also added in many suites" there was no separate sitting area, no sofa or relaxation area just two small upright chairs and a side table see pic. It would have been fine as an executive room but totally missold and misleading description as a "suite" Crowne Plaza's website promotes the senior suite as "THE LOUNGE AREA IN YOUR SUMPTUOUS SUITE PROVIDES A COOL AND CALMING BACKDROP FOR INFORMAL MEETINGS WITH COLLEAGUES" well it would have to be be very informal as they would be sat on the floor.

Room Tip: don't waste the money on upgraded rooms or suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, we have different kinds of suites in the Crowne Plaza and yes a number do have seperate seating areas, however other Junior Suites have a combined large seating area within the main bedroom.

We take customer satisfaction very seriously and I understand that Marilyn Hall our Operations Manager has been in contact with you. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop very soon.
Regards
John Angus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

we stayed at this hotel after visiting Blenheim Palace, amazing hotel , fantastic location and really friendly staff , breakfast was excellent , cant wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it has pride of place on the staff notice board! We all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is set in stunning grounds in the Oxfordshire countryside. The old building I assume used to be a stately home, and has a modern addition to it, housing the hotel and conference facilities. The grounds are huge, and the views from the old building are fantastic. The conference facilities are very good, and the main conference theatre is very comfortable - with what can only be described as armchairs instead of the usual conference chairs (some of them in shocking pink!).
The one slight disadvantage is that mobile phone reception is very patchy, with no reception at all in the main conference theatre. There is wi-fi in the hotel rooms, but rather annoyingly you have to keep putting the password in each time you want to use the internet.
The rooms are good, and attractively furnished, although not very big. Unfortunately there was a problem with the boiler on our floor, so I wasn't able to have a shower, which was not good. The bathrooms have good showers, but no baths.
The hotel is rather a rabbit warren, with a very confusing set of lifts that don't always take you where you expect to go, but it's not a real problem.
The food was good and the staff very helpful.
There is ample parking. If you're coming by train I imagine that the taxi fare would be quite high, as it is quite out of the way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the hotel, I am delighted to be able to say that a new phone mast has been installed on the site, which will greatly improve the signal strength.

To answer your question, taxi's cost around £15 from the station, not to bad in such beautiful countryside.

Apologies on the heating, it was immediately rectified and again thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was a Birthday surprise break for my husband from myself and our fourteen year old son who came with us.
I strongly disagree with the recent reviewers that have made uncomplimentary comments relative to the staff. The staff from the initial booking stages (Jo Radford - wonderfully helpful and informative - thank you Jo!) throughout our whole stay were very pleasant and the service was impeccable.
I wondered how the Crowne Plaza's modern stance would work with Heythrop Hall's traditional setting and I think they compliment each other well. To sit in the modern, rather lovely Brassey Restaurant overlooking the beautiful grounds was a really pleasant and unusual experience.
Our room was perfect - everything is new and very sparkly, just how we like it!
All the food - lunch; dinner and breakfast was delicious and well priced.
The swimming pool area was pleasant and my husband and son enjoyed their swim while I relaxed on a sun lounger!
We will definitely be returning as it was a lovely, relaxing break in a beautiful part of the world and we kept commenting throughout the stay "the service is excellent" so you can't get much better.
Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
It is always a pleasure to recieve such wonderful comments, it makes all the training worth while and provides great rewards to the team. I have already thanked Jo on your behalf.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop and thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is not would you expect by booking a Crowne Plaza. The hotel is nice, surrounded by a very nice park and golf club.
What is wrong is most of the staff: it looks like most of them have no idea about their job.
I staied there only one night and before checking out i complained at teh reception because my room was very noisy: it's the room immediately above the entrance of the hotel and everytime somebody is going out to smoke or to talk you feel like they are next to your bed !
The guy at the reception didn't even tell "I'm sorry".
Very poor service, avoid it if you can

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I have read your comments with interest and I can assure you, all of our team are trained to the highest possible standards, which is fairly evident from the vast majority of responses to this site.

Your commemts on the receptionist will be taken on board, however it appears pretty harsh to grade all of the team based upon one employee.

I have also taken note of the rooms above reception and will monitor feedback in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The previous review could have been written by me! The phrase 'well-intentioned but awkward, uninformed amateurs' sums the staff up perfectly.

Every other staff member had been there about a week it seemed.

As Platinum PCR members, like the previous reviewer, we almost always get upgraded at CPs. I'd booked and paid for an 'Executive' room in the hope of getting upgrade to a suite. And, lo and behold, when we arrived the greeting was fulsome, 'Platinum' was mentioned at least 5 times in 5 minutes, together with the hoped-for 'as Platinum members we've upgraded you'. Yippeee! We too were given the lovely Platinum Envelope (with the map and not much else apart from a 'special' letter that detailed facilities actually available to anyone) and taken off to our suite. Except it wasn't a suite. It was the room that had been booked, perfectly nice, but not the upgrade that was so bounteously heralded on arrival. A visit back to reception shortly afterwards resulted in me being told 'terribly sorry, we didn't check, we just assumed you'd booked a standard room. Sorry but we have no better rooms available.' I then asked about our second night, Saturday, to be told, 'No, sorry, nothing available.'

The next morning I checked online, they were still selling Junior and Senior suites for that night. Another trip to reception ended up with 'Oh, really, those rooms are unavailable, we've had a problem with the hot water, we must tell reservations.' Yet amazingly at 6.00pm, they were still available online.

The hotel was very quiet, frankly unless everyone else was staying in a suite I find it a hard story to swallow that they had no suites available.

OK, the good bits, the place is clean, room was nice enough, grounds superb, pool and gym, even though you have to walk outside to get to them, really very good.

The bar tender didn't know what a 'Bloody Mary' was. Four star hotel and they can't make a Bloody Mary? The next night, we ordered two Vodka Martinis. They were made with equal measures of vodka and vermouth. Yuck. £19 wasted. At least they didn't put lemonade in.

We had dinner in the Brassie restaurant. There is a bizarre reservation system with an arrival slot every 15 minutes. They then spread the few people there all over the large area, as a result there is zero atmosphere. Food OK. Couldn't face it 2 nights in a row, had dinner in the bar on the second night, food not bad.

Breakfast. If not on an inclusive rate, it's £20/person/day, with a £25% discount if you book it for everyday of your stay on arrival. Ridiculous, overpriced, average buffet. Eggs swimming in grease, worth about £5. The good bit was the extraordinarily slick service run by a lady who makes those breakfast guys jump around. She was impressive, a shame they don't let her manage the whole hotel!

They have an area they call 'The Mezz' where you are supposed to be able to eat a different casual menu, but which in fact turns out to be the same as the bar menu. It's lifeless, dull, and nobody seems to use it. In reality, despite the numerous dining options supposedly available, you have a choice between the restaurant and the bar. The restaurant in the old house was closed.

The attached older house is worn, dated, tired and in need of hundreds of thousands of pounds of investment to bring it up to scratch.

The in-room PPV film selection was dire, nothing remotely new (eg Bridget Jones is a current film in their opinion.)

The hotel is 6 miles from the nearest town (Chipping Norton.) Without big taxi fares you're stuck there in the evening.

All we got for our Platinum PCR membership in the end was 24 hours comp wi-fi and the map in the platinum envelope. Whoopee.

Room Tip: Wish I could think of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith-in-Brighton-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, re your recent stay. I have checked the availability on the day and our 4 Suites were allocated, there are occasions when sites with have allocations, which I can only presume is the explanation for your search results.

I have taken on board your comments and I can assure you that Priority Club members are of paramount importance to us, with this in mind I would be grateful if you could call me directly on 01608 673333 prior to making your next booking.

Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,002 reviews
29.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
14.5 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,643 reviews
17.9 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
847 reviews
20.3 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, UK - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing