We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place in The Cotswolds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
308 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Cozy place in The Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stood 5 nights at The Fox in Chipping Norton, we thought it would be a strategic place to stay while sightseeing the amazing region and it did not let us down. The 16th century construction is gorgeous. We were given the choice between two rooms, both very comfortable, and we chose the one in the picture above, very silent. The other was green, beautiful and with a view but there was roadwork in progress so we chose the red one (room six). We had a complete bathroom with a tub, and amenities. The owners (Lou and John) couldn't be nicer, they went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time, they gave us accurate advise about transportation, restaurants in the area, attractions in the region, opening times, etc, so kind!
Great breakfast, made to your taste and preferences. And they offer lunch as well, which I can say was excellent, their cook is really something. Pity they don't offer dinner. The pub is lovely, with a variety of beers and the locals are all very nice and chatty.
We'd love to go back and if we can make it, The Fox is our home in the Cotswolds region.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
19
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Friendly pub/hotel. Great location in the heart of Chipping Norton. Rooms attractive and very clean. Staff friendly and welcoming. Only downside is that they don't do evening meals but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcatj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the area. When looking for somewhere to stay, we were really glad to find The Fox as it was only £70 for the room and we could stay for 1 night. Everywhere else we had looked at required a min 2 night stay at this time of year.

The pub itself was pretty average and did have that 'kitchen fat' smell about it. Fortunately this was undetectable in the rooms. Our room was lovely and had obviously been renovated quite recently. Towels, tea & coffe etc... all great. Bathroom was fine, new floor and a lick of paint, but the bathroom suite was obviously quite old. Still it was clean and all functioned well and we wouldn't have expected anything more for the money. The pillows were quite uncomfortable so if you're fussy I'd advise taking your own.

Breakfast was ok, I'd been expecting better given the previous reviews on here, and there was plenty of tea and coffee.

The land lord was very helpful and upon asking about what time we needed to check out he told us that noone was staying in our room the next night so just to take our time.

All in all a good place to stay and we'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The Fox was very clean and tidy, the rooms were lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very reasonably priced, would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASM9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

A friendly place to stay staff couldn't have been nicer, made to feel like a local in the bar. Exellent breakfast and the beer ain't half bad. Room clean, comfortable and quiet, we will be back. I can't understand the negative reviews we found everything positive

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

If you like proper pubs ,with, in our case, a tastefully furnished, comfortable en suite bedroom(70 pounds-room 2) and a properly home cooked full English breakfast ,served with a smile, then The Fox is worthy of consideration. There is a little traffic noise from the front bedrooms, but you are centrally located in this charming town. The Landlord was notably welcoming-we arrived much earlier than scheduled but this wasn't a problem

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyvernLancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We walked in off the street as our booked hotel was unsuitable. Nice welcome and bright airey room with en-suite. Basic room but very comfortable with flatscreen TV.Traditional english feel and cosy rooms above cosy bar. Excellent breakfast cooked to order rather than the usual buffet.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funboyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
8.6 km away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 km away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
5.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
12.1 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
12.5 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, UK - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing