We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Up there with the best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Boat Geanna

A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Enjoy dining overlooking some of the best views of the River Thames
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Enjoy dining overlooking some of the best views of the River Thames
Henley-On-Thames where Boat geanna is moored during your stay
Modern fitted kitchen with all mod coms
Dishwasher comes as standard on Boat geanna - no washing up!
Sail through some of the most stunning scenery on Boat Geanna
Cabin 1 - twin cabin with ensuite and satellite TV /DVD
all cabins have ensuite with shower, WC and basin.
A fuel burner stove keeps the boat cosy & warm in the cooler months.
Cabin 3 -All cabins have hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities & TV
Cabin 3 - Double with drop down bunk bed
Cabin 2 - twin cabin with ensuite and satellite TV
Satellite TV and hairdryers are in each cabin
Explore some of the most stunning parts of the River Thames during your 2 hour complimentary cruise
Enjoy a boating holiday on River Thames during your stay - book an optional longer cruise
Plasma TV & DVD in living room
Enjoy the changing views outside your window
Outside dining with stunning everchanging views
enjoy the wildlife and peace and tranquility
Enjoy a complimentary 2 hour cruise as part of your stay
Cruise past The Folly at Temple Island, Henley-On-Thames
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HanaBee79
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We boarded the Geanna for a couple of nights for a girly birthday break.
The boat was more than comfortable, ultra cosy but sufficiently planned out so that it didn't feel cramped.
The mooring has views up and down the river and is close enough to town if supplies are needed.
The hosts Jane and Alan were exceptional. Alan gave a one member of our crew a thorough briefing at the start about the boat.
The cruise was indeed a highlight and included a chance to drive it too.
A small item was left aboard and they contacted us to check if it was ours and then returned it promptly in the post with a handwritten card. A big thanks for that!
All in all - a top reccommendation for anyone looking for something a little different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all pretty good
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor007
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Boat Geanna is the perfect alternative to a hotel for getaway. We were a group of friends celebrating a birthday and we just couldn't have asked for anything more perfect for our trip.

Alan met the first to arrive for handover (which was me) and he's so helpful, knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

The boat was equipped with everything you could need for a weekend with the exception of food and drink; although saying that doesn't do Jane and Alan justice as there was even bottled water in each room, tea bags and a packet of quality filter coffee to go with the cafetiere on board. This lovely couple have given so much thought to the comfort of their passengers that I was actually more comfortable here than many luxury hotels I've stayed in over the years.

We were moored at Henley which is beautiful and we were blessed with sunshine for our weekend, I hope you are too. Jane and Alan took us out on a 2 hour cruise early Saturday evening which was beautiful - I can't rave about this particular mooring spot enough, it surpassed every expectation.

Thank you both, we had a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The creature comforts
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're really pleased everything was to your expectations and hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magical weekend”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I booked Geanna to celebrate my birthday with my girlfriends and the weekend exceeded all expectations. We fell in love with Geanna and the owners Jane and Alan simply could not have provided anything else on the boat to make our stay more comfortable.

Geanna is impressively appointed, super cosy and comfortable. The cruise was a delight and, given the sense of adventure it imparted, this was a weekend with a difference and we loved every second of it. Sod hotels, this is the way forward.

You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed and spacious
Liked least: Nothing to report!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
We are so pleased your birthday weekend was a success and you had the good weather too. Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbra B
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a wonderful week aboard Geanna for a special birthday. The boat was big
enough for a family lunch party, six adults and three children, plus a wonderful cruise!
Jane and Alan run a very well organised company and the boat was just splendid, so
clean and with everything you could possibly want in a home from home.
We were moored in Henley and really enjoyed the town for shopping and eating out.
It felt safe and very clean.
Thank you boat Geanna for a brilliant time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
Thank you for lovely comments. We enjoyed meeting you all and are delighted you had a great holiday to celebrate. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richshy
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out to celebrate my daughters birthday”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

It was such a fun day to be on the river with my wife, Eliana my birthday girl, Rocco my son and my Mother-in law Sue.
Jane and Alan surpassed our expectations, their warm welcome and amazing hospitality warmed our harts.
The boat is so specious and comfortable, my 19mths son had so much room to play while we have enjoyed the views of the river.
We will recommend your boat to our family and friends and hope to return in the near future.
Thank you so much for making Eliana's birthday so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and hospitality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased your daughter enjoyed her birthday. We very much hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in comfort.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - really delighted you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Powder78
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something different for Christmas!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Where to begin?! Decided last minute to go away for Christmas for a few nights and came across this little beauty on Tripadvisor. The owners, Jane and Alan are just lovely and very accommodating! After receiving the grand tour we were left to unpack and settle in for our 3 days of bliss. Luxury boat of note! All wooden interior, indoor log burner (my holiday must), dishwasher, microwave, oven, 3 en-suite bathrooms, dogs allowed (my brothers holiday must).
On the 25th I managed to cook 2 roasts with alllll the trimmings no problem in the kitchen....after sending the others off to the pub! In the evening we all relaxed in the lounge with our feet up watching dvd's.
On the 26th Jane and Alan kindly took us for a day out on the water. We got to help with the locks which was fun. In the evening we went to the local restuarant for a bite to eat.
All in all, the 3 days were so relaxing! Something different! Value for money and definitely not compromising on standards.
Jane and Alan you have a little gem! Thank you again for your hospitality. Looking forward to visiting again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2012
Really delighted you had a great stay on Boat Geanna. Hope to see you again, maybe next Christmas?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing