We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
96
46
15
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
46
15
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dress code private members club non members the river older clientele served hot the food was absolutely delicious passing boats old school charm wedding coordinator panna cotta great views of the thames deluxe room large comfortable room lovely position small fridge walk in wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 175 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Spur of the moment dinner date in the "Orangery".
A step back in time private members club which offers genteel surroundings and service on the banks of the Thames.
Excellent service and food at a sensible price.
Everything about this establishment shouts quality without ramming it down your throat.
The food was great and the service impeccable.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Our second visit to the elegant, sophisticated Phyllis Court Club. Beautiful setting on the Thames next to the Regatta finish point. Short walk into Henley, lovely riverside walks watching the rowers. Tasteful rooms, lovely table service breakfast overlooking the river.

Room tip: Ask for a river view
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishwirral2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Iconic and for me the best place to stay in Henley. Unbeatable setting with well-tended riverside lawns, easy parking and a short stroll into town. The client group is mature, empowered and highly respectable; I'd say this place meets their expectations. Spacious and very comfortable, Phyllis Court has character you don't always find in a similar quality hotel, with its demonstrable history and local connections. Food is very good, and service well-judged. I would certainly use this again.

Room tip: Room 10 was small, very comfortable, unethical and had a fabulous outlook over the river Thames.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stubbersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

As soon as you drive up to the hotel you get a sense of going back In time.
Don't get me wrong this isn't an old fashioned hotel, this is an enclave of posh. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the view of the Thames spectacular, the staff are polite and not overbearing, the clientele (particularly the club members) are of another time.
Our room with balcony faced the Thames, I am not sure if all the rooms do so but you need the fantastic view. To wake, throw open the curtains and see it in all its glory will long be remembered.
The hotel is a short walk to town with its bars and restaurants. It is a shame that you can't walk along the river all the way, there is a short detour "in land" but if you cut through the car park and use the members entrance you are only a few steps away.
Our room was bright, modern (apart from the bathroom) and spotless.
Quality is the mark of this hotel. Gripes, few and far between. It took a while for breakfast to be served but I accept that it is cooked to order and I have to say it was one of the best full English I have had for a while.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 159MatthewL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

The Phyllis Court Club is located on the banks of the Thames, right where the Henley Regata finishes, and is very picturesque both inside and out. The first impression is of a posh, swanky venue but on closer inspection it appears to be trying a bit too hard: the Greek/Roman style pillars in the central area and the stone staircase are in fact hollow models. This (plus a few other features) make the place feel a bit tacky.

The room had a nice view of the river and the pavillion on the bank but apart from that was fairly unremarkable. It was about the size of the average Holiday Inn/Travelodge room and was kitted out fairly similar with a bed, TV, wardrobe etc. The bed was comfy and there was a bath.

The food was pretty good, I really enjoyed the starter and mains but the desert left a lot to be desired. It was supposed to be panna cotta but it had had far too much gelatin added and was closer to the consistency of a Rowntree's fruit pastel.

The staff were great, I expected a certain degree of snobiness but they were really friendly. The dress code is a bit overrestrictive and just seems to be a bit over the top. Overall a pleasant stay but I think they'd be better off tonning things down a bit.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews