We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort in rural Oxfordshire”
Rose Lodge at Frieze Cottage, Crowsley, RG9 4JL
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Lodge at Frieze Cottage, Crowsley, RG9 4JL
The sitting room The sofabed made up and ready...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Rose Lodge at Frieze Cottage, Crowsley, RG9 4JL
The sitting room
The sofabed made up and ready...
The sitting room
Bedroom
Kitchen
Evening Kitchen
The  private garden of Rose Lodge
Entrance Gate
The lane beside Rose Lodge and entrance gate
Bluebells in May, growing in Morgans Wood behind us.
Ponies in the field behind us.
Horses in the field in front of Frieze Cottage.
Looking at Frieze Cottage and Rose Lodge from across the fields.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Februaryr...
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfort in rural Oxfordshire”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were looking for a home-from-home and Rose Lodge came close but on a smaller scale. Walkers will love it and there are country pubs with good atmosphere and food nearby. The property was warm and comfortable with a good standard of finish, plus the owners are on hand for assistance/queries if required. Take your marigolds and there's no dishwasher! Will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and teenage son and I stayed for 1 week during the Henley Royal Regatta. We were there to watch our other teenage son race. The cottage is very comfortable and equipped with everything we could possibly need. The location is the best part. So peaceful and beautiful and a quick drive to downtown Henley. This was our first journey to England. We're very grateful for Clare and Malcom's hospitality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123nkr
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We received a friendly greeting from owners Clare and Malcolm. The cottage is cosy, warm and well equipped. The surrounding countryside is good for short walks. Village shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Yet the cottage retains a very secluded and peaceful feel. We particularly liked the many red kites that could be seen circling above! Overall, a tranquil stay over the New Year period. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Wonderful "get away from it all".”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Rose Lodge is cosy and comfortable for a get away from it all weekend, in beautiful rural surroundings but not far from Henley or even Reading. There's lots to do in the area and the cottage has information about walks and places nearby. Everything is spotlessly clean with attractive decor and attention to detail.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
39steps20...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A few splendid days.”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Situated in a in a very lovely part of the Thames valley, with delightful walks, this cottage suited us perfectly. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and with all the facilities we required.

We were graciously received by our hosts, who are to be congratulated on helping to make our stay so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyKel...
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
“Escape to Country Life near to Town Facilities”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great little cottage which feels way out in the country but is within easy driving distance of Henley and easy walking by footpaths to a nice pub with good grub. Three separate rooms - lounge, bedroom, kitchen. Very nicely decorated and equipped with all mod cons including wi-fi. Microwave and ceramic hob on worktop but no conventional oven - more than adequate for vacation self-catering. Good off-road parking. Nice friendly welcome and advice on things to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being way out in rural England.
Liked least: The road to Henley is narrow and commuters come fast towards you.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fern B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, ideal for exploring the Chilterns, especially by bike”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here to be closer to my husbands work while I was on teachers school holiday. All amenities provided for cooking in the lodge, and I was able to sit in the beautiful garden and make the most of the good weather. Owners were happy for my family to come over for dinner in the lodge as it was my birthday while we were there. Henley is a cycle ride away, and Reading accessible in 15 minutes. But you'd never know it from the peace and quiet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing