We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
92
196
87
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
196
87
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroad streetballiol collegethe cafe downstairsgreat locationfirst floorcentral locationno liftold buildingstreet noiseheavy luggagecontinental breakfasttrain stationfull englishsofa beddeluxe roomyogurtpark and ride
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 423 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A great little hotel, in fact it's a four star guest house, and right in the centre of Oxford.
My wife and I stayed there recently and found the staff very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Very handy for the theatre, five minutes left and the White Horse, 400+ years old pub, with some really good food and beers, just five minutes to the right along Broad Street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great hotel, friendly staff with quite simply the best location in Oxford - in the heart of the City in Broad Street. The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious with a choice of cooked meals, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurts and croissants. My coffee cup was refilled as soon as it was empty (and even before). If you want to be close to all the sights and within easy reach of the city pubs and restaurants stay here. Not suitable if you cant manage stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is in a truly superb location (a view probably not shared by Messrs Latimer, Ridley and Cranmer). There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the establishment but at £100 per night one does expect something a little bit more enticing - even given the rip-off prices generally charged in Oxford.
The decor was redolent of 1970's student accommodation with no redeeming features whatsoever. The bed was rickety. The bathroom was tired.
On the plus side, everything was very clean and the staff were friendly.
In the new age of austerity we need a bit more bang for the pound/euro/yen/buck!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herr-Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2011

After visiting Christ Church and strolling up Cornmarket Street it was time for a break for my family. There were many outdoor tables and chairs set up in the street attached to the Buttery. A couple coffees, juices, and a scone or two later and we were all in a much better mood.

Perfect for a bit of people watching while enjoying a quick and tasty snack.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while I was attending a conference at Mansfield College. The hotel is in an ideal location, right in the center of things. We were in room 303, which is nice and spacious with lots of storage. It is, however, at the top of many STEEP and NARROW steps. The windows look right on the street, which is fun (and the lighting is excellent). If noise bothers you, however, it would be a problem. People tend to be out late in large groups, so there are voices ringing over the stones. The wi-fi is so-so, but the wired Internet was fine.

For us, the main problem was that the room was quite warm, despite having the windows open on the cool night air. There is no cross-ventilation. A ceiling fan would make a huge difference, especially since the only bed cover is a comforter--no separate sheet. You're either warmly bundled or completely bare.

I would stay there again, but it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews