We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buttery Hotel - Broad Street, Oxford”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2011 when we visited the New Theatre in Oxford. Excellent location, Rooms are a really good size and very clean and well equipped. We stayed in a twin at the rear of the property. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked. This hotel or the cafe part often appears on the TV show "Lewis" where the two prime characters are often seen sitting outside drinking coffee. The flat screen TV could have been a little larger, it was about 19 inch and sited quite a way away on the dresser table. Will definitely stay again though and can thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We heard late night revellers on Broad Street (front of hotel) during the night. It's not the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImMandyFlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Centrally located. Nice enough place to stay - very helpful staff. Average breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here in June with my partner as we were attending a meeting in Oxford. The good points are the location is very central. That is about it. The room was tiny, looked out over a back alley and was like a furnace it was so hot. Even sleeping with the window wide open provided no relief. This is an old building so access to the room is via steps and corridors. The result of which is hearing people walking around all night.
The breakfast was average but the staff were quite offish and I didn't really feel welcome. As a result I woudn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor rooms are larger and I would imagine quieter so request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhsporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had booked a one night stay here, attending an event in Jericho. The evening before we were due to arrive we received an email advising us that "a slight problem has arisen with your deluxe double room" and they had moved us to the Mercure Eastgate.

We were a little put out by this, the Mercure is further away from the event and the faffing around was going to eat into our schedule. However, on checking, we soon realised that this was an upgrade to a full service hotel with a free breakfast thrown in for good measure.

What's more, when we arrived at the Buttery to get details of the new arrangement, they gave us £10 towards additional taxi fares!

Based on the prompt, courteous and pleasant service we received at the Buttery I would certainly book a room there in the future - the location is perfect.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

A great little hotel, in fact it's a four star guest house, and right in the centre of Oxford.
My wife and I stayed there recently and found the staff very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Very handy for the theatre, five minutes left and the White Horse, 400+ years old pub, with some really good food and beers, just five minutes to the right along Broad Street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Great hotel, friendly staff with quite simply the best location in Oxford - in the heart of the City in Broad Street. The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious with a choice of cooked meals, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurts and croissants. My coffee cup was refilled as soon as it was empty (and even before). If you want to be close to all the sights and within easy reach of the city pubs and restaurants stay here. Not suitable if you cant manage stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is in a truly superb location (a view probably not shared by Messrs Latimer, Ridley and Cranmer). There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the establishment but at £100 per night one does expect something a little bit more enticing - even given the rip-off prices generally charged in Oxford.
The decor was redolent of 1970's student accommodation with no redeeming features whatsoever. The bed was rickety. The bathroom was tired.
On the plus side, everything was very clean and the staff were friendly.
In the new age of austerity we need a bit more bang for the pound/euro/yen/buck!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herr-Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
770 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 45 in Oxford
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tower House
Tower House
#23 of 85 in Oxford
209 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
129 reviews
1.4 km away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 85 in Oxford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $171 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides room only accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing