We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Disappointing Breakfast”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #26 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Disappointing Breakfast”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for a long week-end in February,three nights in total . The room was comfortable but basic ,although it was describes as a superior deluxe. The toilet needed several attempts to make it flush, the wash hand basin tap was loose and waste plug ill fitting. Location is excellent, but you will need ear-plugs if you take a room facing Broad street at the week-end..We thought the breakfast was appauling, with "The Full English" being an all micro waved affair including the eggs! If you take a third floor room be aware that the staircase is spiral, with over 50 steps with no immediate offer of help with baggae inspite of the fact that we were senior citizens. Breakfast has to be taken before 9o'clock mid week to suit the public use of the cafe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oapcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    176
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
70
127
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The room offered basic standard accommodation, but lacked the standard and style expected of the price charged for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonetraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we went in December to pick our daughter up from semester abroad from oxford. we did the walking tour which was very informative and worth the money. we then explored on our own. went to Bodlean museum. there is street noise at front of hotel but we came for the oxford experience and were not disappointed. everything walkable. we took bus from heathrow and station is just down the street. we rolled our suitcases to the hotel. we left on train and for 7 pounds we took cab to train station. pre-booked train to london for $7 for the 3 of us plus luggage.

Room Tip: if noise a concern, ask for room not facing the street. be prepared to heave luggage up steps. nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryloujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2011 when we visited the New Theatre in Oxford. Excellent location, Rooms are a really good size and very clean and well equipped. We stayed in a twin at the rear of the property. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked. This hotel or the cafe part often appears on the TV show "Lewis" where the two prime characters are often seen sitting outside drinking coffee. The flat screen TV could have been a little larger, it was about 19 inch and sited quite a way away on the dresser table. Will definitely stay again though and can thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We heard late night revellers on Broad Street (front of hotel) during the night. It's not the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImMandyFlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Centrally located. Nice enough place to stay - very helpful staff. Average breakfast

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here in June with my partner as we were attending a meeting in Oxford. The good points are the location is very central. That is about it. The room was tiny, looked out over a back alley and was like a furnace it was so hot. Even sleeping with the window wide open provided no relief. This is an old building so access to the room is via steps and corridors. The result of which is hearing people walking around all night.
The breakfast was average but the staff were quite offish and I didn't really feel welcome. As a result I woudn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor rooms are larger and I would imagine quieter so request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhsporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock in Brum
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had booked a one night stay here, attending an event in Jericho. The evening before we were due to arrive we received an email advising us that "a slight problem has arisen with your deluxe double room" and they had moved us to the Mercure Eastgate.

We were a little put out by this, the Mercure is further away from the event and the faffing around was going to eat into our schedule. However, on checking, we soon realised that this was an upgrade to a full service hotel with a free breakfast thrown in for good measure.

What's more, when we arrived at the Buttery to get details of the new arrangement, they gave us £10 towards additional taxi fares!

Based on the prompt, courteous and pleasant service we received at the Buttery I would certainly book a room there in the future - the location is perfect.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
0.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Property: The Buttery Hotel
Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing