We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Ideal, Friendly Staff”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #22 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at The Buttery, when I needed a hotel in the centre of Oxford, that was not too expensive. Room was fine if a bit small. Breakfast was as expected. Happy to recommend it, and would stay there again. As mentioned in title the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beds_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at The Buttery hotel in March 2012. We had a room 101 that is on the streetside, first floor. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and the bathroom was very nice and clean. The view was nice with big windows. The location of the hotel is very central, could not be better. The obvious downside is however noise coming from street. It didn't bother us, but I guess some travelers might have a problem with it. So, take earplugs with you :-). Also, lot of stairs in the hotel, and again, no problem for us, but be warned.
The breakfast was nice, although crowded.

I would stay again definitely (with ear-plugs).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've not actually stayed in the hotel but I go to The Buttery Cafe at the hotel as I work just along the street doing walking tours. The staff at Buttery, including Marcelo, are super friendly and one thing I also especially like about this cafe is that they can serve me fast- which is important in my case as I just order take away coffee to go as I go to The Buttery when I am working. It's god value for money too and it is ideally located bang in the town centre and they also have a terrace looking onto Balliol College.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the hotel though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VisitOxfordTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for a long week-end in February,three nights in total . The room was comfortable but basic ,although it was describes as a superior deluxe. The toilet needed several attempts to make it flush, the wash hand basin tap was loose and waste plug ill fitting. Location is excellent, but you will need ear-plugs if you take a room facing Broad street at the week-end..We thought the breakfast was appauling, with "The Full English" being an all micro waved affair including the eggs! If you take a third floor room be aware that the staircase is spiral, with over 50 steps with no immediate offer of help with baggae inspite of the fact that we were senior citizens. Breakfast has to be taken before 9o'clock mid week to suit the public use of the cafe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oapcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The room offered basic standard accommodation, but lacked the standard and style expected of the price charged for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonetraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we went in December to pick our daughter up from semester abroad from oxford. we did the walking tour which was very informative and worth the money. we then explored on our own. went to Bodlean museum. there is street noise at front of hotel but we came for the oxford experience and were not disappointed. everything walkable. we took bus from heathrow and station is just down the street. we rolled our suitcases to the hotel. we left on train and for 7 pounds we took cab to train station. pre-booked train to london for $7 for the 3 of us plus luggage.

Room Tip: if noise a concern, ask for room not facing the street. be prepared to heave luggage up steps. nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryloujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2011 when we visited the New Theatre in Oxford. Excellent location, Rooms are a really good size and very clean and well equipped. We stayed in a twin at the rear of the property. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked. This hotel or the cafe part often appears on the TV show "Lewis" where the two prime characters are often seen sitting outside drinking coffee. The flat screen TV could have been a little larger, it was about 19 inch and sited quite a way away on the dresser table. Will definitely stay again though and can thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We heard late night revellers on Broad Street (front of hotel) during the night. It's not the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImMandyFlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
754 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 km away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
126 reviews
0.1 km away
Tower House
Tower House
#21 of 85 in Oxford
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $132 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides room only accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing