We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great hotel in a great location"”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at The Buttery for one night and could not fault it. The staff were very nice, the location was great with no need to worry about driving and parking (we used the park and ride as suggested and found it worked well). We enjoyed the breakfast after a very comfortable night. Oh it was spotlessly clean too! We will definitely be using The Buttery again on our next trip to Oxford.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OISWeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Buttery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here recently during a one night stay in Oxford. The hotel is in a great location, central and across the road from Balliol and Trinity College. Room was tiny but comfortable bed and well equiped for a good price. It's an old building so a few creaky floorboards but I had no problems sleeping. Would recommend staying here if you need a bed somewhere central.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavesBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at The Buttery, when I needed a hotel in the centre of Oxford, that was not too expensive. Room was fine if a bit small. Breakfast was as expected. Happy to recommend it, and would stay there again. As mentioned in title the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beds_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at The Buttery hotel in March 2012. We had a room 101 that is on the streetside, first floor. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and the bathroom was very nice and clean. The view was nice with big windows. The location of the hotel is very central, could not be better. The obvious downside is however noise coming from street. It didn't bother us, but I guess some travelers might have a problem with it. So, take earplugs with you :-). Also, lot of stairs in the hotel, and again, no problem for us, but be warned.
The breakfast was nice, although crowded.

I would stay again definitely (with ear-plugs).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've not actually stayed in the hotel but I go to The Buttery Cafe at the hotel as I work just along the street doing walking tours. The staff at Buttery, including Marcelo, are super friendly and one thing I also especially like about this cafe is that they can serve me fast- which is important in my case as I just order take away coffee to go as I go to The Buttery when I am working. It's god value for money too and it is ideally located bang in the town centre and they also have a terrace looking onto Balliol College.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the hotel though.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ILoveOxfordTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for a long week-end in February,three nights in total . The room was comfortable but basic ,although it was describes as a superior deluxe. The toilet needed several attempts to make it flush, the wash hand basin tap was loose and waste plug ill fitting. Location is excellent, but you will need ear-plugs if you take a room facing Broad street at the week-end..We thought the breakfast was appauling, with "The Full English" being an all micro waved affair including the eggs! If you take a third floor room be aware that the staircase is spiral, with over 50 steps with no immediate offer of help with baggae inspite of the fact that we were senior citizens. Breakfast has to be taken before 9o'clock mid week to suit the public use of the cafe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oapcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The room offered basic standard accommodation, but lacked the standard and style expected of the price charged for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonetraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,192 reviews
0.1 km away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 84 in Oxford
201 reviews
0.3 km away
Museum Hotel Oxford
Museum Hotel Oxford
#33 of 84 in Oxford
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $189 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing