We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient guest house”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #24 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stayed at the Acorn for 4 nights in November. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Bus service is frequent and convenient. We enjoyed the breakfast. I would definitely stay here on any future trips to Oxford.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the back - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hortense910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2015

very good for the money nice rooms good showers nice people good for parking i stop in a lot of guest house and this is one off the best ones i have been in this year and at £40 a night very cheap so thanks

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 47bigtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Everything about the Acorn was wonderfull from the staff to the room and the continental breakfast. Very clean, well located and superb value. An easy 5 star recommendation.

10 minutes walk or £2.80 return on the bus from the centre of Oxford it is ideally situated and limited off street parking is a benefit. I was in room 8 which is en-suite and just about perfect.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Great little B&B on Iffley Road, super conveniently located for what we needed to do in Oxford (bus to Rose Hill, walk/bus to town & walk to Cowley Road)

We had the double ensuite room A6 on the top floor overlooking the back garden - gorgeous district views! The room was big enough to not feel cramped & the double bed was massive! Room was nice & clean too, and serviced daily.

The bathroom had a walk in shower with curtain closure. Shower cubicle was quite small but the water pressure & temperature adjustment of the shower head & taps was very good. Plenty of hooks & rails to hang all your stuff too. The only thing really was that there were no bath sheets, only tiny bath towels that don't even wrap around your body? So it wasn't conducive to taking your time in the bathroom post shower... You just had to be quick about it & get dressed. Guess that's how it use to be before bath sheets came into the picture! Really glad for the face cloths though!

Also surprisingly quiet given the number of rooms. Think being top floor meant no overhead noise & back of house no Iffley road noise either.

Continental breakfast was served downstairs & consisted of filter coffee, a selection of cereals & yoghurts, a selection of sliced bread for toast. Plenty of cheese options & shaved ham, hard boiled eggs, oh and a big bowl of fruit & orange juice too. If you wanted tea - Kate our hostess would make you a fresh pot. You definitely won't go hungry.

If you're lucky their resident puppydog Annie (a gorgeous Labradoodle) would come & say hello to you in the breakfast room.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & I suspect we will be back!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank SonyaMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

A really lovely place to stay with everything you could possibly need provided. Comfortable, warm, airy, spotlessly clean. The hosts are so welcoming. Very convenient for links to the city and Kassam Stadium. Highly recommended. A true home from home.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Marym1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

My parents loved their stay here. The room was clean, lovingly decorated and absolutely fine size-wise (the owner said sorry for it being quite small, but I and my parents agree that it was absolutely fine for their purposes and didn't need to be any larger, especially since there was enough room to store clothing and suitcases!). The bed was also very good, as was the (newly renovated) bathroom. My mum especially loved the small tray of tea and cups (with a rose décor!) and the fact that she was provided with a hair dryer, since she had forgotten hers. :)

There also is a bus stop directly in front of the guest house, so getting to the city centre was a snap, only about 10 minutes (walking would be about half an hour along a quite nice, relatively quiet street).

All in all, absolutely recommended.

(Regarding the breakfast-question below: We didn't book any, since my parents ate at my apartment, so I clicked 'Not Sure'.)

Room Tip: Request a room to the back, ours oversaw the garden and was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naurael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Acorn
We were in Oxford to attend a wedding at the university and can highly recommend this B&B.
We found the Acorn to be extremely clean and tidy and our room had all the facilities we needed including free wi-fi which worked perfectly unlike some hotels.
The breakfast is more than adequate to get the day started and Kate is the most attentive host ably assisted by her loveley canine companion Annie.
There is a bus stop just a few strides from the door, fare into Oxford £2.80 return.
A Co-op and a small store inc post office is just a short walk up Iffley Road.
Inside the Co-op you will find a free to withdraw/cash machine.
From the Acorn you can walk down to the river and stroll into Oxford along the path a very nice walk if the weather is good,takes about 30mins.
Finally thanks to Kate for a very enjoyable stay you were very helpful and we enjoyed your company very much
Best Regards
Graham and Yvonne

Room Tip: Phone and discuss your requirements before booking ie ensuite or low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrahamLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
1.3 km away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#18 of 85 in Oxford
224 reviews
0.4 km away
Heather House
Heather House
#7 of 85 in Oxford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Browns
Browns
#52 of 85 in Oxford
54 reviews
2.8 km away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#10 of 85 in Oxford
108 reviews
2.1 km away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#22 of 85 in Oxford
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 260 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $74 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kate and Henry have been running Acorn since March 2006, when they moved back to Oxford from St. Andrews to be close to family. ​ Acorn has eight rooms, ranging from singles with a shared bathroom to larger en suite twin and double rooms. Room prices range from £45 to £110 per night and include a generous continental breakfast. ​ Acorn offers free WiFi throughout and off-street parking (subject to availability). There is also unrestricted parking in adjacent streets. ​ There is a frequent direct bus service to and from the city centre, or it is an approx. twenty minute walk. ​ Annie the dog is a popular member of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing