We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, breakfast and owners. Highly recommend! ”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #25 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my father while visiting Oxford for a music festival. Kate was extremely welcoming and accommodating. Lovely twin room, with plenty of space. Very clean room, essentials / useful items included (shower gel, soap, hairdryer, free wifi, tea,coffee,hot choc, mini fridge, tv) Great breakfast with loads of choice! Off road parking available on a first come first serve basis but plenty of room when we were there. Located on a busy road but I would not see it as a problem. I would definitely recommend and stay again if visiting Oxford. Easy to get in to the city centre on foot or bus.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank wjburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Our room was clean but bathroom very small behind a very flimsy louvred door. Shower weak and water took a long time to drain. Our room faced the road and despite double glazing the noise a of the road could be heard. Breakfast​ was continental style with cereal, fruit, small selection of cheese and cold meat. There was a toaster with 2 types of bread and a couple of muffins. The guest house is near bus stop where it's a short ride into town.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank UK_Tad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice and the owners are very friendly good location for town centre.Had a brilliant sleep room clean and tidy was at back of house and was very quiet . Down from Scotland for a weekend would really come back here .

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is by far the finest accommodation I have found. Affordable and very friendly, I took my little Cavalier KC spaniel, 'Dixie' with me and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Kate and Henry at The Acorn. The room was excellent and most comfortable for us with tea and coffee making facilities and a Television.
Breakfast is a leisurely meal with an abundance of fresh coffee and a good self service buffet.The kindness and consideration shown to us was much appreciated and the location is ideal. there are bus stops almost at the door with a frequent service to and from the city, so I had no need to use my car. A short walk takes you to Aston's Eyot and 'the 'kidneys', an area of scrub and woodland,where wild flowers abound. Ideal for a stroll with a dog. For a slightly longer walk,(about a mile) take Fairacre Road to Meadow Lane and cross the river at Donnington Bridge.The gentle walk along the towpath takes you to the city in around twenty minutes, From there the number 3 bus will get you back to your 'oasis' at the Acorn. I thoroughly recommend this accommodation for a stay in Oxford and will certainly return later in the year. Thank you Kate and Henry for a most enjoyable break.

Room Tip: My single room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and I was not disturbed by traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisparris2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My room on 2nd floor overlooking the road (Iffley Road)) was good for viewing and early morning sunshine, very clean as the whole guest house, very quiet for a restful and quality sleep, bed very comfortable, and with light breakfast. The Location is superb for walking to different nearby restaurants, and general workout, its also very close to a bust stop and a parking few cars which found to be plus especially in Oxford. Kate was always available for help, for maps, directions and sorting out internet issues quickly and made life comfortable.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erasmus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Very clean, lovely owners, good continental breakfast, great location for transport, offsite parking, quiet....all in all, great value for money. And a lovely dog called Annie. I'll be back! What else to say?

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RajTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My husband and I were at the Acorn for a couple days at and would have happily stayed longer! Our room (one of the en suite rooms) was bigger than I expected, tidy, and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and Kate was a wonderful hostess--she showed us a map of town and suggested a nice walk, and made herself available if we had any special requests.

The location worked well--as others have mentioned there's a bus stop very close by and we found it easy to get downtown and back. A few good restaurants/cafes within easy walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
0.4 km away
Heather House
Heather House
#7 of 85 in Oxford
383 reviews
5.9 km away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#18 of 85 in Oxford
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Browns
Browns
#48 of 85 in Oxford
57 reviews
2.8 km away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#9 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 260 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kate and Henry have been running Acorn since March 2006, when they moved back to Oxford from St. Andrews to be close to family. ​ Acorn has eight rooms, ranging from singles with a shared bathroom to larger en suite twin and double rooms. Room prices range from £45 to £110 per night and include a generous continental breakfast. ​ Acorn offers free WiFi throughout and off-street parking (subject to availability). There is also unrestricted parking in adjacent streets. ​ There is a frequent direct bus service to and from the city centre, or it is an approx. twenty minute walk. ​ Annie the dog is a popular member of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing