We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a bigger room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The location of the Mercure Eastgate was excellent - parking was an additional £15 but well worth it. You leave your keys at reception and your car is reparked several times.
The hotel reception was great; the room was poor. I believe it was room 216 - at the end of the second floor corridor. The bathroom was almost the same size as the bedroom. Bed was a small double and just fit into the room. We felt very squashed.
We ate dinner in the hotel - first two courses were superb, but I think the chef must have left before the pudding order as the two sweets were just not up to the mark.
Breakfast was excellent.
Overall, attentive staff, good ambiance, central location - but poor room. We should definately have upgraded to a larger room.
I have given this hotel an average grade because of the room size and the pudding! Some parts were definately excellent though.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade of room and ask for a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,116 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
1
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is an old building with a newer annexe. Our rooms were in the older part and were a little small but interesting and very comfortable - not the identikit rooms I'm used to from French Mercure. Service was very good - friendly, welcoming and efficient. We ate at the hotel and were very impressed with the restaurant - interesting menu, good quality food and reasonable value. Location could hardly be better - very close to the centre of Oxford so ideal for tourist visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here recently for a family break in Oxford, we booked two rooms, one double and a twin for the kids, generally the rooms are what you'd expect, similar to a Hilton or Premier Inn really, nice big TV with lots of channels, and everything else you'd expect and more: Comprehensive tea and coffee making kit, fridge, ironing kit, hair dryer, shower gel/shampoo, glasses, large towels etc, to more unique items like sewing kits and shoe polish. My only criticism of the rooms is that the beds are ridiculously soft, sleeping on the first night was horrible, partly because of the candy floss beds and also due to the annoying whir of the A/C and plumbing.

The restaurant offered a good choice at breakfast, again similar to a Hilton, but no hot buffet, you have to order exactly what you want on your cooked breakfast and it arrives about 20 minutes later, so enjoy the minimal fruit offerings and overly small pastries in good time. Despite the lack of choice the food itself is very good but for £16.95 a time, you'd expect a slightly better choice of pastries and fruit.

The location of the hotel is worse than what other reviewers have stated, the walk to the shopping area and main city centre is long and uphill, however, it is well located if you are visiting the various colleges and smaller shops at the bottom of the high street.

The staff are very helpful and happy to go the extra mile, for example, I asked for fresh milk for the fridge in my room and they bought up a reasonable amount, this is really the only thing I can say about the service.

The car park on the other hand is a bit of a joke really, the entrance is very narrow and you'd struggle getting a Range Rover or a big Merc/BMW through without parking sensors, the spaces are also impractical as most box you in and you can't get out easily and manoeuvring is very hard, again you'd struggle in a larger car, it's also £15 a day, but that's as there's not much parking opportunities anywhere else.

On the whole, not bad, rooms do their job very well and the food is good, but small things like bed softness and parking facilities bring this hotel down.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a lower floor, the staircases are narrow and cramped, getting suitcases to the top is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfinchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Leidschendam
1
Reviewed 15 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Mr and Mrs Barber
Great view from our window of college opposite. We thought great value for money, really friendly and attentive staff and a terrific breakfast. Room/bathroom was clean and comfortable. Because we wanted to explore Oxford and leave the car behind, it was a great piece of mind knowing it was parked safely on the hotel car park. One regret is that we did not use the restaurant for our evening meals if breakfast was anything to go by

Room Tip: Try for room overlooking Merton Street. Very quiet, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave-barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Room was nice and reasonably spacious, everything worked as it should. When I told reception the room was missing an iron, they had one sent up. Barman was very friendly and helpful. Disappointed with the service in relation to us leaving an item in the room - it took two phone calls and us finally deciding to take time out of our sightseeing to go back to the hotel for them to finally 'find' the item we'd left in the room, even though after both phone calls we were told that the item was categorically not in the room.

I will not be using the Eastgate again after this incident, which is a shame because other than that it's a perfectly adequate hotel, comfortable beds and in a good location for lots of the central Oxford sights.

Room Tip: The lift only goes to the second floor. If you have difficulty with stairs, make sure you are not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
1.3 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $181 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing