We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
295
493
300
97
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
493
300
97
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street car park privilege room merton college marco pierre white old building central location third floor per day reception staff excellent location eggs benedict no lift breakfast was excellent comfortable hotel two night stay centre of town
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Had four nights here for business, early rises and late nights.

Excellent well appointed suite (Ruskin suite?) spotlessly clean, lovely linen, towels and toiletries.

Only ate breakfast in the hotel, but great service, interesting range of options, very well presented. Returned at approx midnight each night, the night porter doubled as barman, happily opened up for us and allowed us to enjoy a nightcap before retiring and doing it all again the next day!

Thanks for looking after us!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Andy

Thank you so much for your kind review, I was pleased to read that you had enjoy your stay in the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse.
We have recently been renovated and one of the goals we set as a company was to ensure everyone had a comfortable nights sleep - new beds throughout the hotel.
I was pleased that the team, in particular the night porter looked after you and your colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2017

When we arrived to check in our room was not ready, apparently members of a wedding party had checked out late and this had put the housekeeping behind. We were given vouchers for drinks in the bar while we waited. A very nice apologetic member of staff (I wish I had noticed his name) kept us updated. At one point my daughter explained to a lady on the desk that we were going out and needed to change; she was told the room should be ready in about 15 minutes but we could if we wished use a room that had not been cleaned to change in. We decided to wait and in fact when the room was ready we had plenty of time to get dressed up to go out. We were not the only guests in this situation but unforeseen things happen and I was impressed with the calm helpful way the staff dealt with it. The room was lovely and we both slept well. The cooked breakfast was nothing special but the buffet had plenty of choice. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JulieJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Julie148

Thank you so much for your kind review, greatly appreciated and suck a morale boost to the whole team.
Oxford is a lovely city full of history, universities and shops, very vibrant at night with all the students out and about.
The hotel was renovated in 2015, with the theme of Oxford and comfort being two of our key goals going forward, every room has a new bed.
I hope we will have the plerasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
With best wishes

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

quet amd romantic excellent service. terrific food and selections at reasonable prices. spent 3 weeks in oxford and this one of the best places for dinner. highly recommended and center of town. whit tablecoths. candles. low lighting all + romantic and restful

Stayed: July 2016
Thank LuvT-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Mikefpc

Thank you very much for your kind review, really appreciated and such a morale boost to the team.
I was pleased to note that you like the make-up of Marco's New York Italian, very formal in some aspects but open to everyone - a place to relax and enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With best wishes

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Quality is what you'd expect from Mercure. Have stayed here several times as it's in a great location AND has parking (an extra £15 per night, but that's good value for parking in Oxford I think). Lovely building, standard rooms a little on the small side, but have everything you need. Excellent service. Always a little disappointed by their cooked breakfast, but the buffet has excellent choice - including a selection of non-dairy milks.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Merton Street or High Street have much better views. Deluxe rooms have more space.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Michelle B

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our location in the city centre is ideal for sight seeing as well as shopping.
I am afraid a couple of the rooms are small mainly down down the age and structure of a 100 year townhouses.
I am continually looking at the service of the cooked English breakfast and I often when possible spend time in the kitchen reviewing our service and presentation standards, in the limited space we do have.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017

This hotel is ideally located for shopping and site seeing. We stayed here for 3 nights to do just that. The traditional building is cosy, comfortable and contemporary. We had a beautiful room at the front of the hotel, with a large bathroom and big comfortable bed. The restaurant is good and has plenty of variety if you don't want to venture out on a wintry night. All the staff are very polite and helpful. Adam the Reception Manager was extremely helpful to us and went out of his way to make sure our stay was a great success.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear Amanda W

Thank you so much for your kind review, such a morale boost to the team and greatly appreciated. Adam is one of our star players and as Guest Relations Manager he is the ideal person for the role, an exemplary model.
I was pleased to note that you had enjoyed the atmosphere and decor throughout the hotel, we are slightly contemporary but also have a little bit of historic Oxford in the designs.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please do check our hotel website for any special offers.
Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews