We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University college ”
Review of University College

University College
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.02*
and up
Oxford Bike Tour Including Full-Day Bike Hire
Ranked #53 of 145 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Endowed by William of Durham in 1249, University College is the oldest college of Oxford University.
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

Another contender for oldest college. Founded in 1249 by William Durham university college is located on the high street in Oxford city centre amongst many other colleges.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"harold wilson"
in 2 reviews
"bill clinton"
in 2 reviews
"high street"
in 4 reviews
"dining hall"
in 2 reviews
"memorial"
in 6 reviews
"latin"
in 2 reviews
"redcliffe"
in 3 reviews
"alumni"
in 2 reviews
"quad"
in 5 reviews
"inspiration"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"college"
in 14 reviews
"students"
in 4 reviews
"library"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2017

Maybe will you get a feeling of seen this before. Maybe are you thinking of something from Harry Potter films?

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Even though many people on the tour of this majestic and historic university seemed to be more interested in seeing the places where Harry Potter scenes were filmed or were the inspiration for those scenes, this place has much more. The fact that this has been a site for higher learning since the 13th century is quite impressive. Even though the actual buildings haven't been around that long, the idea that people have gone to Oxford to learn for so many years is cause for reflection. I would recommend going into the Museum of Oxford in the Town Hall on St. Aldate's before going to the University College. It was very informative.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank henry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

University College inevitably causes confusion amongst American tourists who find it difficult to understand It is just one of more than thirty or so constituent colleges and not congruent with the University itself. 'So there's a university university as well as University college' is a response I once elicited to my attempt to distinguish the two. Founded in 1249 by William of Durham it claims to be Oxford's oldest college, although this is disputed by both Merton and Bailliol. Until the 16th century it was open exclusively to fellows of divinity. Its original medieval buildings were replaced in the 17th century by the main quadrangle we see today. Radcliffe Quad dates from 1719 and the Library from 1861. Its most unusual building houses the Shelley Memorial designed by a former student sen down for writing an article called The Necssity of Atheism. It has the longest Latin grace of any Oxford college. Its alumni include politicians such as William Beveridge, Harold Wilson, Bill Clinton and former Australian PM Bob Hawke. I has a very good college choir, which I know from my own experience of participation in performances of three Bach cantatas although I was an undergraduate at Christ Church at the time.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank futtock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2017

While we wandered along the High Street gawping at the wonderful old college buildings, we noticed a group of visitors in a doorway, ready to move off on a tour, so we joined them. Our guide was a graduate student of Medieval History and her friendly manner and interesting stories made the tour very enjoyable.

This is a small college ( although it claims to be the oldest ) and is a comfortable introduction to how the University came to develop and grow. The tour ends with the visit to the shrine to Shelley, memorialised in a romantic marble statue, even though he was actually expelled for writing a pamphlet promoting atheism. This was a bit much for the then authorities, given that the college was endowed to study only theology for much of its earlier existence.

Modern times are very much emphasised in the portraits in the Hogwarts style dining hall, with paintings of alumni such as Clement Attlee, Harold wilson and Bill Clinton.

For few pounds, this ticket was extremely good value.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Photeinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University College also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to University College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing