We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great architecture”
Review of Sheldonian Theatre

Sheldonian Theatre
Ranked #18 of 144 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sheldonian Theatre, an exquisite Grade I listed building situated in Oxford's city centre, is the official ceremonial hall of Oxford University. The Theatre is a popular tourist attraction particular because it offers one of the best indoor panoramic views of Oxford's famous skyline from its Cupola. It was designed by Sir Christopher Wren and built between 1664 and 1669. The Theatre offers self-guided tours or guided tours. On a one hour guided tour, you get to learn about how the University was formed, how long it's been in existence and the secrets of its past. You get to hear about 900 years of University history as well as learning about the history of the Theatre. For availability, booking and opening hours information visit our website.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Lovely theatre (though I wasn't there for a performance) with lovely architecture and painted ceiing. And affordable entrance fee (£3.50/£2.50). Not too difficult a climb to the top - interesting historical display boards in the attic, where you can also see the sturdy timbers of the roof construction. Terrific views from the cupola all round. Good to combine with a visit to the Bodleian and/or the Weston libraries.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 532Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldonianTeam, Front Office Manager at Sheldonian Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear 532Sue,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Thank you for your comment.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"graduation ceremonies"
in 19 reviews
"designed by christopher wren"
in 18 reviews
"painted ceiling"
in 17 reviews
"classical concert"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 23 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 13 reviews
"dreaming spires"
in 9 reviews
"oxford university"
in 17 reviews
"main hall"
in 5 reviews
"carfax tower"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 11 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"bridge of sighs"
in 4 reviews
"cupola"
in 64 reviews
"acoustics"
in 36 reviews
"architecture"
in 34 reviews
"pomp"
in 5 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018

Beautiful building, well maintained. Stairs a challenge, but worth it. We had a great time and felt honoured to be in there.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank dorothycF2313ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldonianTeam, Front Office Manager at Sheldonian Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear DorothycF2313ZI,
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Hope to see you again.

With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

A great meeting spot and an amazing architectural gem. Still have fo visit an performance there, but will do one day.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank PaulB5146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldonianTeam, Front Office Manager at Sheldonian Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Paul B,
We are looking forward welcoming you for a concert.
With our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We have experienced concerts in many chapels and Holywell Concert Hall each having its own pluses. The acoustics were good at this venue; however, with the high heat this summer, it was very warm during our evening concert. I am short and the benches high and narrow making my back hurt.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldonianTeam, Front Office Manager at Sheldonian Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Patricia,

We are happy you enjoyed the acoustics in the venue. But we are really sorry that the seats in the theatre are uncomfortable and that the summer heat wave reduced the enjoyment of your experience on this occasion.
Know that the Upper Gallery has been refurnished few days ago, so that the guests' experience is improved in this area. However this will be reducing the seating capacity of the theatre.
Regarding the heat in the Theatre, there is nothing we can do about it I'm afraid. This monument, being a Grade 1 listed building, we are extremely restricted when it comes to modifying the building.
Hope to see you again.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

It is a nice building contains with lots of historical story. It is magnificent for everyone to visit and recommended when you go to Oxford.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Porschex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldonianTeam, Front Office Manager at Sheldonian Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Porschex,
We really appreciate your comment thank you to have taken the time to write a review.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheldonian Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Sheldonian Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing