We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
23
28
23
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
28
23
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre iffley road excellent bus off street parking minute walk biscuits stayed for two nights oxford area full english breakfast tea coffee comfortable stay within walking distance comfortable room other hotels would definitely stay here again the bus visit oxford
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 90 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

City centre is easily accessible by bus or by foot if you fancy a walk. Near to the Cowley road where there is plenty going on. Free parking & flexible around check in if possible. Comfortable room with all you need in it. Very friendly & helpful at reception. Great breakfast to set you up for the day. More like a b&b as opposed to a hotel. Price was a little steep but to be expected as there was a music festival nearby. Room was very clean.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wjburnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

More an upscale guest house than a hotel but none the worse for that. Comfortable room, nicely equipped, reliable WiFi. Plenty free off-street parking which is a rarity this close to the city centre. Talking of distance, it's a level 25-ish minute walk or a 5 minute bus ride from a stop very nearby.

I'm not sure there are many places to eat in the immediate area as I headed for the centre but breakfast was very good with a wide choice of cooked dishes and plentiful, nice coffee.

Not cheap, but then nowhere in Oxford is, but good value for the location and the facilities.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotbank11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018

After having checked in rather late, we were still given a very warm welcome. The night's sleep, which we were in very much need of, was fantastic. The next morning, we were blown away by the breakfast...so much choice and nothing was a bother.
Now back in New Zealand, we have very happy memories of our stay. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JonEire1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Just got back from an over nighter at The Balkan Lodge to see a gig and I have no idea how anyone could fault the place! The location is perfect for both shopping (no 3 bus is right outside and goes straight into town) and for the O2 (easily walkable). The room was extremely clean and had everything we needed and the guy was totally lovely from start to finish so big big thanks to him. Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank arnyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

So glad we found this little gem. The owners are very warm and welcoming, the breakfast is beautifully cooked and the bed very comfortable. Just up the road is a good pub for your evening meal. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pippamadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews