We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$128
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$201
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Diana's Bed & Breakfast(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$473
US$440
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
38
38
24
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
38
24
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseorchard cottageoxfordshire countrysideround the groundsgrounds are stunningleisure staysingle travellerhotel accommodationflat screen tvwithin easy reachlate checkenjoyed our staynight staycooked breakfastplenty of parkingfull englishcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 123 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We were a bit deceived by the pictures online - we thought it was a fairly nice hotel due to its exterior and the website. When we arrived, we found out that the "double" rooms we had booked were not really King-size beds. One was a queen and one was a full-size (smaller than a Queen and definitely too small for my 2 6-foot tall sons to share). One of my sons ended up sleeping on the floor. Rooms were very small and were very dated - more like a youth hostel or college dorm room. It was a bit comical because when we checked in, the lady acted like our room was an "upgrade". We just had to laugh when we saw the room - upgrade from what? No A/C (of course), but no fan provided either. Our room was on the 3rd floor, which made carrying our 50-lb. suitcases up and down great exercise. No washcloths. Good WiFi and good, hot shower (not to be taken for granted when traveling around the UK).
Breakfast was included, but was very basic. All in all, this is a place to crash, but definitely no frills and extremely basic. Think family camp or dorm room, not hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

The grounds are gorgeous with a large pond full of fish and fowl and a well cut lawn in front with plenty of mature trees. The rooms though have thin walls (could hear neighbours in their bathroom) and low cost looking furnishings. My shower also surged and ebbed.

The staff were not very friendly, or at least a bit shy until you got them engaged. Breakfast quality not too high but then the room cost per night was not 4-star expectations. Overall you could do worse for an overnighter, especially on budget minded business, but I wouldn't want to stay there longer than that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gelatomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

When we arrived, we had to double check our booking because we couldn't believe that where we had booked could be so beautiful.

The setting of this hotel was landscaped by William Kent who was alive at the same time as Capability Brown - even though his work was just as good, Brown overshadowed him at the time. However, this does not mean that Kent's vision cannot be appreciated because the lake, choice of trees and general atmosphere of the venue is stunning.

Having said this, when we arrived the receptionists seemed to be in a bit of a panicked state. It appeared that there had been a mix up with the rooms and someone had arrived and had not been happy. Despite this, we had no trouble checking in and our room was just what we needed for a short stay: no frills, but fine for what we needed (I would advise getting mugs for the rooms rather than small cups though).

We spent time wandering round the grounds, watching the Canada Geese and even a bird of prey being chased away by crows, as the sun set. (I'd recommend walking to The Red Lion for a pizza - delicious)

Our room was in one of the out building - purpose built for short stays/ conferences. Breakfast was okay but the hot food was unappealing; we didn't eat it because it looked limp and as if it had been there for a while. Cereals are fine though and there is fruit and creamy yogurts. I would suggest providing guests with a pot for tea rather than having to make a small cup each time.

Upon checking out, there also seemed to be a a concern. The people in front of us had paid online for their room, but were being made to pay for it again. They complained about this but had to show their email confirmation to prove it. However, yet again, we had no problem checking out and it was quick and easy.

I think this is a venue with a lot of potential. The venue is certainly a beautiful building and the landscape relaxing. However, it appeared that maybe there is a lack of organisation? There wasn't a wedding at this venue when we stayed (May Bank Holiday) which we thought was unusual - maybe because of how they run the venue? Having said this, we would definitely return and stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a outhouse building purpose built for short stays. I think anywhere would be quiet as there isn't a main road too near by.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank little_emma_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

This is a Conference facility not a 5-star hotel but nonetheless we enjoyed our stay there. The surroundings are stunning, lovely views, characterful house and extremely quiet. Very pleasant. It is an old estate I believe.

We spent a Saturday night there and though it has some 75 rooms I'd guess less than a dozen were occupied - so it did seem a bit deserted and as a result there were few staff around but those that were there were helpful and welcoming.

Rooms were functional rather than plush - but clean and comfortable.

Guessing it could often be fairly empty outside of when conferences are being held, it would be absolutely perfect if a group of people wanted to plan a get-together - old reunions etc.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Weekend stay for two adults. The location is not the easiest to find but rewards the effort.
Within easy reach of Bicester Village (premium Outlet Shopping) and Blenheim Palace each a fifteen minute drive, Oxford just a little further.
I attended corporate development courses sessions here a number of years ago. I was very impressed then, and had not realised that it also handles regular tourist business.

Getting there. I would say a car is essential, although Heyford rail station, a couple of mile taxi ride away, lists services to Oxford, London an Birmingham. There is also a canal stop!
Check in was easy and friendly. Free parking. Accommodation is adjacent to the main house and split between two apartment buildings and a large cottage which is split into four units. All clad in lovely Cotswold stone. I stayed in the former previously and from memory these rooms are not large but perfectly adequate. We had the cottage this time and our room was family sized. Spotless, large bathroom with quality complimentary toiletries, fluffiest towels. Comfy bed, kettle with plenty of complimentary tea/coffee. Flat screen TV. And Free Wi-Fi .Water dispensers in the corridors so no need to buy bottled water.
Breakfast, included in the very reasonable rate, was cooked to order and a highlight.

The main house, an historic building, is a delight, and the grounds including a lake are a pleasure to wander around.

Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and this made for a perfect leisure stay.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms probably more suited for families, but no bad choices.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews