We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
652
470
175
54
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
470
175
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour pillarsroom restaurantlovely hotelsister hotelsauna and steam roomleisure centreleisure clubsecret escapesspa facilitiesweekend breakdeluxe roomrelaxing staybuffet stylereception arealovely roompark and ridestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Stayed one night at this excellent hotel during a visit to Oxford with my wife and we both throughly enjoyed our stay. Can't fault this hotel in any way starting with the warm welcome from the lovely receptionist, the well equipped and large room, the super comfy bed, lovely barn bar and the setting in a quiet location. What really made our stay special was the absloutely super dinner we had in the restaurant. The food was excellent, tasty and well presented made even better by the efficient service especially the restaurant manager who's name I didn't get but the receptionist informed me is Romanian ( I thought he was Italian!!!) He really was very proffesional.

The breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice. Couldn't be faulted.

We used the swimming pool for an early morning swim and again found this clean and well run.

If your looking for a well run hotel with an excellent restaurant we heartily recommend this hotel. Well done.

Room Tip: We had room 53 which was large and on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Hood1941,
Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am so pleased to hear the team looked after you and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and thanks for the recommendation. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Really impressed by the staff here after a lovely weekend celebrating a birthday with the family. They were so helpful and thoughtful of our needs.

Lovely setting too on the banks of the Thames. You can walk down to the river where it's very pretty and peaceful, but you can't walk along it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank innismhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear innismhor

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I was pleased to read you had a lovely birthday celebration weekend and that the staff were helpful and thoughtful.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

regards

Mairi S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Our stay at the De Vere hotel was one of the best weekends we have had. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the service by all staff members was the best I have seen in the UK in some time. The room was very nice and the spa was a nice extra to enjoy during our stay. The breakfast was awesome, and really good selection of food and drink.

We had a meal on the Friday night at the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing! Highly recommend the fillet steak. The food was that good we chose to eat at the hotel bar on the Saturday night too which was also very enjoyable.

Room Tip: we were in the garden rooms which was quiet and very nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear John F

Many thanks for your lovely review of Oxford Thames. The team were extremely pleased with your comments on their performance and the chefs' regarding your food review in our AA rosette restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you when you return for future anniversaries.

Regards

Mairi S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

This hotel is very enjoyable been a heritage building configured as a high quality hotel.

The rooms were of a high standard. The staff were very obliging and a pleasure to deal with. This applied from eth receptionist to the bar staff and the dining room.

The rooms have all the basic facilities which are of a very high standard except for two items that I found amazing that were missing.

In the first instances was the lack of any form of fridge. The excuse given was that it was a heritage hotel and therefore could not have a fridge installed. This is, to put it simply , nonsense because there is a clear space to install a fridge with power already available with power to coffee jug. The failure to provide a fridge is a cost saving effort that has no justification.

Of more important is the fact the room has no ventilation of any kind with no air conditioning (which I can understand cold England does not consider it necessary) but then the windows were locked. This is amazing that the management consider it is not necessary to given any form whatsoever of fresh air. Clearly they have not read any health code about the need for fresh air.

The rooms were stuffy and unpleasant to stay in. Why not have someone who claims to be a manager stay in one of the rooms.

Room Tip: reat Hotel but rooms with no ventilation
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear gordon35au,
Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Each of our 104 bedrooms offers a unique style with some being traditional and others more contemporary, but all rooms have windows that open, and additionally, all feature fans or air-conditioning. Many of our rooms already feature fridges and we have an ongoing plan to add more where we can. We hope you will visit again soon. Kind Regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We spent an impromptu 2 nights here after our holiday abroad didn't go ahead. We took pot luck on Trivago and travelled here from Gatwick airport. On arrival we were given a free upgrade, which was a lovely surprise. Our room was in the older part of the hotel and was very luxurious. We ate in the restaurant in the evening; the food was delicious and we had a really nice waitress. We only booked our second night the following morning, so that we could further enjoy the facilities. Our 2nd night was spent in a more modern room, which was spacious and light, with the same amenities as the first. The pool, gym and sauna are excellent and the young man who oversees that area is very welcoming. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank APJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear APJ24,
Thank you for submitting such a good review and also highly recommending De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay in our College rooms. We certainly hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews