We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Oxford Thames
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We just had a one night stay here - it's a pretty fancy setup, and whilst expensive, we did enjoy our stay. Decent sized room with good new facilities. It was a little noisy a few times (probably as much the specific room we were in and it's location in the hotel), but we had a very comfortable stay nonetheless. A really good spread of food provided as well at the breakfast buffet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcs_095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear mcs_095,
Thanks for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return again soon.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel
We stayed overnight and had a great stay
Good quiet room with coffee making etc
Staff are very helpful
We enjoyed the pool and spa facilities which were practically empty on a Sunday night
Had a snack and drink in the bar which was very relaxed
Excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast
Had a walk in the beautiful grounds down to the river
30mins from Bicester shopping village so ideal if you plan to visit there
All in all I really recommend this pretty hotel - there are gorgeous flowers and hanging baskets throughout


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Kate H,
Thank you for your kind review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had such a super stay with us and that the team looked after you well. We do hope that you will return again too.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here for a family celebration. The staff were all very friendly and helpful particularly the waitresses at lunch time and in the evening. As it was a warm day at lunchtime we sat in the delightful courtyard. We had a wonderful meal in the evening and everyone really enjoyed it. All the food served was nicely presented and cooked to perfection. Breakfast couldn't be faulted and there was a fantastic choice. Our rooms were very clean and had everything we needed, the beds were very comfortable. The complementary tray of drinks in the room was a nice touch. We made good use of the swimming pool which although not huge is more than adequate and larger than some hotels I've stayed in. We wanted to go into Oxford town centre before heading home and the reception staff were very helpful giving us all our options. We chose to park at the other De Vere hotel for free and walk in from there which was very convenient. Our only problem was that we were woken early by some very noisy cleaners in the corridor outside our rooms. This was dealt with by reception when we mentioned it in a very good way and we received an apology. This hotel was ideal for our stay, a good position, lovely staff and excellent food. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear julie T

Many thanks for your review and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay at De Vere Oxford Thames for your family celebration.

We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Regards

Mairi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Stayed here 2 nights - Wednesday and Thursday. Could have stayed a week. Lovely room overlooking the grounds and river. It was very peaceful and must be lovely in the warmer weather where you can sit on the patio and watch a lot of birds flying over. I even saw a kingfisher. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Also had a complementary minibar which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river and gardens. Peaceful and has a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Michellle K

Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased you enjoyed the garden rooms with patio which are extremely popular in the summer sun. We have quite a diverse bird population which are a pleasure to watch.

We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Oxford Thames

Regards

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stayed one night at this excellent hotel during a visit to Oxford with my wife and we both throughly enjoyed our stay. Can't fault this hotel in any way starting with the warm welcome from the lovely receptionist, the well equipped and large room, the super comfy bed, lovely barn bar and the setting in a quiet location. What really made our stay special was the absloutely super dinner we had in the restaurant. The food was excellent, tasty and well presented made even better by the efficient service especially the restaurant manager who's name I didn't get but the receptionist informed me is Romanian ( I thought he was Italian!!!) He really was very proffesional.

The breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice. Couldn't be faulted.

We used the swimming pool for an early morning swim and again found this clean and well run.

If your looking for a well run hotel with an excellent restaurant we heartily recommend this hotel. Well done.

Room Tip: We had room 53 which was large and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Hood1941,
Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am so pleased to hear the team looked after you and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and thanks for the recommendation. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Really impressed by the staff here after a lovely weekend celebrating a birthday with the family. They were so helpful and thoughtful of our needs.

Lovely setting too on the banks of the Thames. You can walk down to the river where it's very pretty and peaceful, but you can't walk along it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank innismhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear innismhor

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I was pleased to read you had a lovely birthday celebration weekend and that the staff were helpful and thoughtful.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

regards

Mairi S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Our stay at the De Vere hotel was one of the best weekends we have had. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the service by all staff members was the best I have seen in the UK in some time. The room was very nice and the spa was a nice extra to enjoy during our stay. The breakfast was awesome, and really good selection of food and drink.

We had a meal on the Friday night at the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing! Highly recommend the fillet steak. The food was that good we chose to eat at the hotel bar on the Saturday night too which was also very enjoyable.

Room Tip: we were in the garden rooms which was quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear John F

Many thanks for your lovely review of Oxford Thames. The team were extremely pleased with your comments on their performance and the chefs' regarding your food review in our AA rosette restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you when you return for future anniversaries.

Regards

Mairi S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,862 reviews
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
4.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Oxford Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $170 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing