We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
652
470
175
54
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
470
175
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour pillarsroom restaurantlovely hotelsister hotelsauna and steam roomleisure centreleisure clubsecret escapesspa facilitiesweekend breakdeluxe roomrelaxing staybuffet stylereception arealovely roompark and ridestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017

Stayed here for just one night due to a work commitment and wish I had longer. Had a lovely quiet room with plenty of space. Staff very helpful across all areas. The breakfast very good - self service with a lot of choice. I will be looking to go back for a break at some time in the future because the whole place was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nikb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Dear Nikb26,
Thanks for posting your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay for business. I am delighted that you enjoyed your complete stay and that the team and food met your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend. Very presentable hotel. Fine buildings and grounds, with a little dock, river and stream. Acess to these seemed limited which is understandable. Had a meal in the restaurant that evening. Pleasant surroundings and modern décor. The food was splendid but also a little short on the portions. When this was broached the staff did offer to supplement the course with extra food. Apperantly I was not the first. To be fair my partner thought the portions were fine and what one should expect from this type of establishment. The staff were very good and very polite. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. A couple of small things come to mind however which could do with a little attention. One or two wall light fittings in need of some attention before they part company from the wall in the reception lounge, and noises permeating our room. Our room whilst also very fine with a couple of low beams to contend with had paper thin walls. We could hear normal conversation from the guests next door, and also unfortunately their bathroom situated right next door to our bed and people using the stairs outside our room. The rooms have been fabricated inside a a very old building with two feet thick exterior walls and unfortunately very thin internal ones. Sauna, steam room and pool very pleasant, if not a little crammed in. Bar prices reasonable but the hotel chain seems to follow the tradition of adding 300% to their bottled wine prices unfortunately. Once again to be fair my partner also pointed out that this was standard practice. Mmmmmmm
Overall impression not value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bunyip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear bunyip5,
Thank you for your comprehensive review and I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay. Your comments regarding the room and fittings have been noted and will be discussed with our maintenance and development. My apologies however, that you felt your stay did not represent good value, as the creation of a wonderful experience for all guests, is massively important to the team here. Kind Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

My wife and I stayed for one night this week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We simply could not have wished for a nicer hotel, very attentive staff and a superb evening meal. We've eaten in some of the top restaurants in London, but must say that the meal here was really up there with the best. Stayed in a superior room with a lovely view over the gardens. Couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Ian C,
Thank you for your super review and for choosing De Vere Oxford Thames to celebrate this special occasion. I'm delighted the team, service and food exceeded your expectations. Do visit again soon. Kind Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night after shopping in Bicester Village which only 30mins away. Free and easy parking. Lovely and quiet room. You can find all you need in the room. We love the garden. Staff were great!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KCYdnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear KCYdnic,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that the hotel and staff were great. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

We just had a one night stay here - it's a pretty fancy setup, and whilst expensive, we did enjoy our stay. Decent sized room with good new facilities. It was a little noisy a few times (probably as much the specific room we were in and it's location in the hotel), but we had a very comfortable stay nonetheless. A really good spread of food provided as well at the breakfast buffet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcs_095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear mcs_095,
Thanks for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return again soon.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews