We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our anniversary ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Oxford Thames
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have just got back from a weekend away for our anniversary. We booked room 63 a balcony room overlooking a meadow. We arrived around 11 and did the paperwork we needed. The excellent receptionist booked us a taxi to go into oxford as rooms arnt ready until 2. £10 for a taxi to the city centre. We had a drink and got the taxi waiting straight away for us. (There is a bus stop, buses every half an hour). A guy at reception have us a mal of oxford and marked areas of interest and where the bars and restaurants are etc. Excellent service well done. When we came back a few drinks and off to our lovely room. Drinks included are I the room. This hotel is immaculately clean throughout and with friendly staff what else do you need. In the morning off to the pool and relax. You can check out which is 11 and stay in the pool as long as you want if you like. The breakfast is fantastic. Sunday morning coming home, reception asked if we were going shopping and gave us a discount voucher giving us 10% discount at Bicester village. This is a hotel that thinks about it's guest's not just a job. We will come again as we loved oxford and next time might upgrade to a river view. Asked questions on TripAdvisor before our visit and well answered back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vinney2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Vinney2015,
Thank you for your super review and for choosing De Vere Oxford Thames to celebrate this special occasion. I'm delighted the team were able to exceed your expectations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Stayed here for just one night due to a work commitment and wish I had longer. Had a lovely quiet room with plenty of space. Staff very helpful across all areas. The breakfast very good - self service with a lot of choice. I will be looking to go back for a break at some time in the future because the whole place was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nikb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Nikb26,
Thanks for posting your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay for business. I am delighted that you enjoyed your complete stay and that the team and food met your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend. Very presentable hotel. Fine buildings and grounds, with a little dock, river and stream. Acess to these seemed limited which is understandable. Had a meal in the restaurant that evening. Pleasant surroundings and modern décor. The food was splendid but also a little short on the portions. When this was broached the staff did offer to supplement the course with extra food. Apperantly I was not the first. To be fair my partner thought the portions were fine and what one should expect from this type of establishment. The staff were very good and very polite. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. A couple of small things come to mind however which could do with a little attention. One or two wall light fittings in need of some attention before they part company from the wall in the reception lounge, and noises permeating our room. Our room whilst also very fine with a couple of low beams to contend with had paper thin walls. We could hear normal conversation from the guests next door, and also unfortunately their bathroom situated right next door to our bed and people using the stairs outside our room. The rooms have been fabricated inside a a very old building with two feet thick exterior walls and unfortunately very thin internal ones. Sauna, steam room and pool very pleasant, if not a little crammed in. Bar prices reasonable but the hotel chain seems to follow the tradition of adding 300% to their bottled wine prices unfortunately. Once again to be fair my partner also pointed out that this was standard practice. Mmmmmmm
Overall impression not value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bunyip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear bunyip5,
Thank you for your comprehensive review and I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay. Your comments regarding the room and fittings have been noted and will be discussed with our maintenance and development. My apologies however, that you felt your stay did not represent good value, as the creation of a wonderful experience for all guests, is massively important to the team here. Kind Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My wife and I stayed for one night this week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We simply could not have wished for a nicer hotel, very attentive staff and a superb evening meal. We've eaten in some of the top restaurants in London, but must say that the meal here was really up there with the best. Stayed in a superior room with a lovely view over the gardens. Couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Ian C,
Thank you for your super review and for choosing De Vere Oxford Thames to celebrate this special occasion. I'm delighted the team, service and food exceeded your expectations. Do visit again soon. Kind Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night after shopping in Bicester Village which only 30mins away. Free and easy parking. Lovely and quiet room. You can find all you need in the room. We love the garden. Staff were great!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KCYdnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear KCYdnic,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that the hotel and staff were great. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We just had a one night stay here - it's a pretty fancy setup, and whilst expensive, we did enjoy our stay. Decent sized room with good new facilities. It was a little noisy a few times (probably as much the specific room we were in and it's location in the hotel), but we had a very comfortable stay nonetheless. A really good spread of food provided as well at the breakfast buffet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcs_095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear mcs_095,
Thanks for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return again soon.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel
We stayed overnight and had a great stay
Good quiet room with coffee making etc
Staff are very helpful
We enjoyed the pool and spa facilities which were practically empty on a Sunday night
Had a snack and drink in the bar which was very relaxed
Excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast
Had a walk in the beautiful grounds down to the river
30mins from Bicester shopping village so ideal if you plan to visit there
All in all I really recommend this pretty hotel - there are gorgeous flowers and hanging baskets throughout


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Kate H,
Thank you for your kind review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had such a super stay with us and that the team looked after you well. We do hope that you will return again too.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,860 reviews
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
740 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
4.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Oxford Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $170 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing