We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Oxford Thames
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

When we arrived they were in the middle of a wedding so to get a drink you had to have room service no where to sit in bar.

In evening children running around from weeding party and in lounge people with plastic cups and wine and crisps from Tesco and they were guests of hotel.

Food in restaurant average I sent my lamb back and it come back it was burnt to a crisp but I eat it my husband was finished. Breakfast was like a school dinning room.

Not worth the money in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lswalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear lswalk,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel following your stay.
I am extremely sorry that you found certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a busy and diverse business, we always aim to cater for all of our guests' needs, and as such, we do reserve areas specifically for hotel residents to sit, but I am sorry that you found it busy at that specific time. Breakfast is usually served in our light and airy Conservatory, and is generally well received, in terms of its ambience and our wide and varied food offering, and I am sorry to hear it didn't exceed your expectations. I do hope that you will consider returning so that we can deliver a better experience for you. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Lovely room, very clean as was the bedding and bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Hotel in beautiful setting. However, little niggles stopped me adding the extra star. Our booking for three rooms for two nights included complimentary drinks in each room but this was only supplied in one room It took two requests to get this remedied arriving only for the second night. We had also booked a table for 7pm in the restaurant for the first night but this had not been noted and could not be accommodated, meaning we had to take a later table. All being elderly we do not like to eat late. When we entered the dining room it was half empty, so why we could not eat earlier we do not know.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have outside terraces. Choose one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hilarywebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear hilarywebster,
Thank you for posting your review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your overall stay was enjoyable, however, please accept my sincerest apologies that certain aspects of your stay let it down. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the relevant team members, to ensure that we get our hospitality and service consistently right. We hope you will visit again.
Kindest regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Beautiful buildings but fit -out is dated in a bad way. Everything is very clean - our room was big but it really is like something from a few decades ago.

Pub food in the bar was awful. Steak and ale pie certainly tasted and looked like it had come in a packet, spicy bean burger was battered and appeared deep fried.

Staff weren't great - not friendly at all although we did get an ice-cream comped.(Ice cream looked pretty, quality was, unfortunately, also from the Iceland freezer.

breakfast staff were much friendlier - views to the Thames ver pretty but a mad house by lunch time (wedding party?)

So great main building, ersatz the rest of it. It's a few miles out of Oxford too - and Oxford in it's wisdom doesn't like ride share companies so there are two taxi companies- at least one of which will only take cash...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Mike S,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay, for which I offer my sincerest apologies. I can assure you that the Food and beverage team will review your comments, and the appropriate action will be taken, but may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to bring these matters to our attention, for it is only through constructive comments and observations such as those you have made, that we are able to continually monitor, maintain and improve our standards of guest care, and put right what is wrong.
Warm regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I failed to review this hotel after our first visit 10 months ago but enjoyed it so much that a return stay beckoned. The hotel is attractive with excellent use made of the original, Cotswold stone buildings but basically it is a modern hotel with all the features and facilities that one would expect. The real star though is the restaurant. The food is excellent. Interesting food combinations, well-presented, plenty of flavour. Although no one course was large at the end of our meal we were comfortably full and very satisfied. Breakfast is very straightforward and is exactly what would expect from any reputable hotel. Another enjoyable stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 288Eurotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear 288Eurotravels,
Thanks for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your return visit. I am delighted that you had another great stay with us and thanks so much for the recommendation. Look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Had a recent stay and as only overnight took the standard room. Well, it was large with all amenities that you could want, very clean and plant of hot water, excellent shower and bath. Breakfast was very good with a fine selection for all tastes and staff to assist with hot drinks. Staff and service excellent. Free car park and regular bus service to and from Oxford city centre with bus stop right outside. Would not want to fault this establishment.

Room Tip: Leave the car and take the bus to Oxford City Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxinpompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Maxinpompey,
Thank you for posting your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your stay with us. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the team looked after you well. Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed on the top floor of the main house in very big deluxe rooms which were amazing ! Spacious and nicely decorated with free drinks and nibbles!

Meals were very good too and staff v attentive and numerous!

V nice communal areas like the main reception room

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sausagedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear sausagedoggy,
Thanks for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am pleased to hear the team looked after you and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have just got back from a weekend away for our anniversary. We booked room 63 a balcony room overlooking a meadow. We arrived around 11 and did the paperwork we needed. The excellent receptionist booked us a taxi to go into oxford as rooms arnt ready until 2. £10 for a taxi to the city centre. We had a drink and got the taxi waiting straight away for us. (There is a bus stop, buses every half an hour). A guy at reception have us a mal of oxford and marked areas of interest and where the bars and restaurants are etc. Excellent service well done. When we came back a few drinks and off to our lovely room. Drinks included are I the room. This hotel is immaculately clean throughout and with friendly staff what else do you need. In the morning off to the pool and relax. You can check out which is 11 and stay in the pool as long as you want if you like. The breakfast is fantastic. Sunday morning coming home, reception asked if we were going shopping and gave us a discount voucher giving us 10% discount at Bicester village. This is a hotel that thinks about it's guest's not just a job. We will come again as we loved oxford and next time might upgrade to a river view. Asked questions on TripAdvisor before our visit and well answered back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vinney2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Vinney2015,
Thank you for your super review and for choosing De Vere Oxford Thames to celebrate this special occasion. I'm delighted the team were able to exceed your expectations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 45 in Oxford
1,912 reviews
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
755 reviews
4.9 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Oxford Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: C$157 - C$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing