We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveller rating
647
461
171
53
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
461
171
53
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour pillarsroom restaurantlovely hotelsister hotelsauna and steam roomleisure centreleisure clubsecret escapesmain restaurantspa facilitiesrelaxing breakdeluxe roombuffet stylereception areashort breakenjoyable staylovely room
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

When we arrived they were in the middle of a wedding so to get a drink you had to have room service no where to sit in bar.

In evening children running around from weeding party and in lounge people with plastic cups and wine and crisps from Tesco and they were guests of hotel.

Food in restaurant average I sent my lamb back and it come back it was burnt to a crisp but I eat it my husband was finished. Breakfast was like a school dinning room.

Not worth the money in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear lswalk,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel following your stay.
I am extremely sorry that you found certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a busy and diverse business, we always aim to cater for all of our guests' needs, and as such, we do reserve areas specifically for hotel residents to sit, but I am sorry that you found it busy at that specific time. Breakfast is usually served in our light and airy Conservatory, and is generally well received, in terms of its ambience and our wide and varied food offering, and I am sorry to hear it didn't exceed your expectations. I do hope that you will consider returning so that we can deliver a better experience for you. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Lovely room, very clean as was the bedding and bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Hotel in beautiful setting. However, little niggles stopped me adding the extra star. Our booking for three rooms for two nights included complimentary drinks in each room but this was only supplied in one room It took two requests to get this remedied arriving only for the second night. We had also booked a table for 7pm in the restaurant for the first night but this had not been noted and could not be accommodated, meaning we had to take a later table. All being elderly we do not like to eat late. When we entered the dining room it was half empty, so why we could not eat earlier we do not know.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have outside terraces. Choose one overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hilarywebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear hilarywebster,
Thank you for posting your review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your overall stay was enjoyable, however, please accept my sincerest apologies that certain aspects of your stay let it down. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the relevant team members, to ensure that we get our hospitality and service consistently right. We hope you will visit again.
Kindest regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Beautiful buildings but fit -out is dated in a bad way. Everything is very clean - our room was big but it really is like something from a few decades ago.

Pub food in the bar was awful. Steak and ale pie certainly tasted and looked like it had come in a packet, spicy bean burger was battered and appeared deep fried.

Staff weren't great - not friendly at all although we did get an ice-cream comped.(Ice cream looked pretty, quality was, unfortunately, also from the Iceland freezer.

breakfast staff were much friendlier - views to the Thames ver pretty but a mad house by lunch time (wedding party?)

So great main building, ersatz the rest of it. It's a few miles out of Oxford too - and Oxford in it's wisdom doesn't like ride share companies so there are two taxi companies- at least one of which will only take cash...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear Mike S,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay, for which I offer my sincerest apologies. I can assure you that the Food and beverage team will review your comments, and the appropriate action will be taken, but may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to bring these matters to our attention, for it is only through constructive comments and observations such as those you have made, that we are able to continually monitor, maintain and improve our standards of guest care, and put right what is wrong.
Warm regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

I failed to review this hotel after our first visit 10 months ago but enjoyed it so much that a return stay beckoned. The hotel is attractive with excellent use made of the original, Cotswold stone buildings but basically it is a modern hotel with all the features and facilities that one would expect. The real star though is the restaurant. The food is excellent. Interesting food combinations, well-presented, plenty of flavour. Although no one course was large at the end of our meal we were comfortably full and very satisfied. Breakfast is very straightforward and is exactly what would expect from any reputable hotel. Another enjoyable stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 288Eurotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear 288Eurotravels,
Thanks for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your return visit. I am delighted that you had another great stay with us and thanks so much for the recommendation. Look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Had a recent stay and as only overnight took the standard room. Well, it was large with all amenities that you could want, very clean and plant of hot water, excellent shower and bath. Breakfast was very good with a fine selection for all tastes and staff to assist with hot drinks. Staff and service excellent. Free car park and regular bus service to and from Oxford city centre with bus stop right outside. Would not want to fault this establishment.

Room Tip: Leave the car and take the bus to Oxford City Centre
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxinpompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Maxinpompey,
Thank you for posting your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your stay with us. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the team looked after you well. Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Jonathan Oldroyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews