We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location close to Banbury, Oxford and Bicester”
Review of The Holt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holt Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fairly rated 3 star. Our standard double was fairly basic but very clean as was the bathroom. Our room was at the back and very quiet. Shower was powerful and the water was nice and hot. Stayed 3 nights and toiletries not replenished but I guess we could have asked for more. There was a hair dryer but very weak so unless you have very short or quick dry hair I would take your own. Breakfast was ok if you want traditional English cooked but the continental selection was limited to a few pastries and plastic wrapped cheese. Breakfast the second day was hectic as a large coach party came to eat at once and there were long queues for food and hot drinks. Worth knowing is that there is a garage opposite with a Londis shop that is well stocked with sandwiches, snacks, drinks and essentials plus a free cash machine.

Room Tip: Back rooms quiet. Our room was a long way from reception with stairs to negotiate. If mobility a pr...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gadabout992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Holt Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

My husband and I were driving past The Holt and there was a sign for afternoon tea, we thought it would be nice on they way back from what we were doing to call in and enjoy an afternoon tea. We went into the bar to order, the barman first thought we wanted 2 teas, once we had clarified what we were there for he disappeared into the kitchen for ages, he then came back and asked us to take a seat, there were plenty to choose from, which should have sent alarm bells ringing. After about 15 minutes he came and asked if we wanted our tea now or wait until the cakes were cooked ! When it eventually arrived, the sandwiches were huge, bacon sandwich with salad, cheese and what looked like the skin from a pepperoni and salmon. Scones with packet clotted cream, no jam or knives and a few bits of cake. When I asked for jam we got a selection of apricot jam and .....marmalade !! Another member of staff came and asked if everything was ok. We explained that we had to wait and that we were given marmalade. She went and got some strawberry and raspberry jam and said she would knock a bit off the price for the wait. It was still £25.00. We thought we might have gone to the carvery there but would not touch this place with a barge pole. Josh on reception was very professional. But the rest of it mirrored Fawlty Towers

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Good stay . Chosen as hotel allows dogs. Location ideal - visiting countryfile live. Evening dinner good value and decent bar meal on second night. Breakfast could be improved. Had to ask for tea coffee Sunday morning. No milk jug provided. Toaster inadequate for amount if people, took long time to cook needed to ho through twice, not positioned in an accessible area as stuck in a corner. Breakfast Monday morning. Self serve coffee not as good as in pot. No yoghurt - had no ask, no butter/flora had to ask. Plenty of staff but less urgency on ensuring all topped up, again issues with toaster as above. Buy 3 or 4 good quality toasters and site on separate table. Seen this work very well at hotel recently. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The hotel is at best OK....it is very convenient located for Blenheim Palace and on this occasion Countryfile Live and overall it is tolerable BUT...... the service is either enthusiastic but a shambles or non existent......the rooms are cramped and noisy ...... and we did have a woodlouse....only the one in the bathroom ( I mention this as I noted another reviewer had the same problem ). The food is low quality ' pub grub ' reasonably priced but not very good. From the outside the hotel looks good ...... nice building ..... attractive highwayman sign..... but inside there is no ambience...... the restaurant is floodlit ....... and the bar has the feel of a truck stop...... only you cannot get easily served.
Stay somewhere else ..we will not revisit

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank par14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Staff were welcoming and the room was clean and cosy. Breakfast was a little chaotic but when I finally found someone to ask the young lady was very helpful and brought me a fork, coffee and gluten free bread...happy customer! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great location, good first impressions based on exterior.

But:-

On entering dark a gloomy interior (albeit with a new carpet), the reception "welcome" alerted me to the type of customer experience ahead (had I not pre paid I probably would have left).

The room was very tired and shabby (but they were full!)

Bar drinks, Dinner and Breakfast, all an unmitigated disaster: really slow service, chronically understaffed, untrained pleasant well meaning people just couldn't cope, poor Julie the acting manger did her best, I felt really sorry for her.

The food was ok when it finally arrived from Chef, dinner in particular was a joke, the theme continued at breakfast, no coffee, spoons, slow buffet replenishment etc.....

I paid £200 for my stay, worth rather less!

On a positive note: some refurbishment of the restaurant has taken place, MUCH more investment needed.

What is really required in a decent GM and about 2 x the current staffing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank MikeEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Poor service... starting as soon as we arrived and walked through the door we were presented with an invoice and told it was cash on arrival. I said I'll see the room first, which I did, and it looked OK so agreed.
Barman was not native English speaker and not charming in the least. Not helpful, and rarely even present. Kitchen staff ditto really, although they were easier to find.
The night porter was a sterling bloke though and made up for the other's shortfalls to some degree.
The door lock was tired, the loo paper was the thinnest imaginable...
The coffee at breakfast was terrible on day one, and we weren't even offered any on day two, which was no real hardship once you knew what you were missing. Otherwise I thought the breakfast was OK, but the GF (who's veggie) certainly did not.
It's got potential, but it really really needs management overhaul.
On the plus side, apart from the loo roll, the bathroom was excellent, and the room was quiet and spacious. And the car parking is plentiful and spacious.
Rob

Room Tip: Be prepared for a long bag carry
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
25.9 km away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
624 reviews
2.0 km away
Middle Aston House
Middle Aston House
#34 of 44 in Oxford
105 reviews
14.5 km away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
24.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
15.8 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Hotel

Address: Oxford Rd | Nr. Steeple Aston, Oxford OX25 5QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing