We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
852
578
238
99
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
578
238
99
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blenheim palace glove factory lovely hotel four poster bed feature room main building executive room car park coaching inn historic hotel nespresso machine old world charm old building enjoyable stay lovely room lots of character evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Booked for a few days so we can take our time exploring Blenheim Palace. The receptionist was amazing, very committed to his job and extremely courteous. We got a period room, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaRogers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you for you for the fantastic 5* review following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate appreciate your kind comments and I will be sure to pass them to David in particular, who I know will be delighted by them. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Had an enjoyable one-night stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel. The hotel has been renovated to a modern standard whilst also keeping its historical features. There is parking onsite, which you get to through a narrow archway. Room was large and modern with everything you need, the bed was also confortable. There are no lifts at the hotel so carrying all the luggage upstairs through the sometimes winding corridors wasn't easy at times. Breakfast was included in our room rate but was on the small side, I wouldn't have wanted to pay separately for breakfast. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. Blenheim Palace is also just down the road.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank wa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Macdonald Bear Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback that is important to us. I am pleased to inform you that luggage assistance is available on request and we would have been delighted to assist in the event you would have requested this. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. The downside was the restaurant although the breakfast was good the dinner, not so. Overpriced for a very ordinary meal.
Very quiet and peaceful nights sleep though

Room Tip: Room 18 was quiet
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AB-Soton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Delighted to read you enjoyed your overnight stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Macdonald Bear Hotel and we had another wonderful couple of days. A number of the staff have changed since our last visit and the new general manager, Paul Mason, made us very welcome - as did all the other people we met. On our first night we had an excellent 3 course meal which set us up for a great first visit to Blenheim Palace. We look forward to returning for our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JohnH96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear John,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and for noticing the changes within the building. We are truly proud of what we have achieved thus far and are always encouraged by positive comments as it is the only true measure of how far we have come. When you are in the thick of it daily then it is hard to step back and look at what you have achieved. So it is very encouraging to hear from the people that matter, that we are doing well.

So thank you once again, and i look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Mason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay. Our room was excellent and the whole hotel is very atmospheric and cosy. What made our experience very enjoyable was the warmth and friendliness of all the staff who are a credit to the hotel. We would certainly recommend the MacDonald Bear.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlisonMFord24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Alison,

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.As with most things in life people do not always take the time to write when they have had a good time. So i thank you for this as it allows me to show my tam that we truly are making progress and that this is being noticed.

Many thanks,
Paul Mason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews