We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Was invited to stay here with friends - what a treat! As it was a match day we could only park in the overflow car park over the road but not really a bother. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room, on the third floor, had huge panoramic windows and overlooked the car parks so we weren't sure whether anyone could see in or not (I closed the curtains just in case)!! The room had two king-sized beds, his and hers wash-basins, walk-in shower with huge shower head and hand-held shower, I think shampoo and body wash by The White Company (lovely). Plenty of good-sized towels although we couldn't find anywhere to put them to air after we'd showered.... We had a meal in the Royal Suite, which was very good. The bar area was comfortable (well we stayed there till 1.30 a.m. so it must have been)! The bed was extremely comfy and the room just the right temperature with easy to use thermostat on the wall. We weren't advised at reception that we had to put our key card in the holder on the wall on entry to turn on the power nor where breakfast was the following morning. Breakfast was lovely - we had it pre-paid so I think a little cheaper than if you pay on the day. Everything from pastries to smoked salmon, fruit, cereals and a full cooked breakfast. Earl Grey wasn't a problem when requested. Toast brought to the table, much niceer than you having to do it yourself on an industrial toaster! All in all a very enjoyable experience and to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading.

I will forward on your comments to the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre with regards to your dinner and their comfortable bar, but I am pleased you enjoyed the event.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    338
    123
    36
    7
See reviews for
120
192
32
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here on business in March. We had a team meeting on the first day, before a dinner, over night stay and an all day conference on the following day. So I had a good chance to test the hotel's facilities!

Now, to explain my bias in favouring the location; I was born and grew up in Reading, before moving away when I was 19, but remained a supporter of my home football club. So "coming home" and having a monthly team meeting in a box over the pitch was a pretty damn good location for me! Without being bias though, you have to rate the location as pretty good in terms of it's ease of access from the M4. It's not close to the town the centre, but it's easy to reach central Reading by car, bus or taxi from there.

All the conferencing facilities were pretty smart and well maintained. Before dinner (and in the morning) I made use of the leisure facilities. The pool was a good enough size and fine for doing lengths. The water temperature was rather warm, though. There was a spa and sauna, but no steam room. Everything was clean and the staff friendly.

Food in the evening was okay and the breakfast was good; plenty to choose from and of a fairly decent quality. Public areas in the hotel are all very open, modern, clean and spacious. All staff seemed to be pleasant and helpful, especially at reception. Buffet lunch on both days was good, too.

The room was alright, with the standard business traveller facilities you would expect. There was nothing especially stand out about my twin room though, except for a funny shaped desk- sort of boomerang shaped- to encourage you to sit at it and gaze out of the window (at the empty match day over-flow car park!?). I would of rather had a double than a twin for a single occupancy room, but the single bed was comfortable enough. I found the deuvet a bit thin and the tea/coffee making facilities on the sliding ledge a bit awkward, but on the upside there was complimentary bottled water and the room was of a reasonable size.

Overall, a pleasant hotel with good leisure and conferencing facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear your event at the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre was a success and that you enjoyed the services they provided. I will forward on your comments to them shortly.

Thank you also for writing such a comprehensive review of the Hotel facilities.

We do hope to welcome you to the Hotel and Stadium again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel on boxing day 2011, the check in was easy with great customer service from the check in girl, the rooms are over sized with a lovely bathroom, very very clean. The bedroom had a work space area which is perfect and the hotel offers free wifi in the bedrooms. The main reason for staying here was the location as it's next to reading fc and we was watching the match that day, we are reading supports but stayed here as a nice treat after Xmas. I would stay here again the main reason being great valve for money and amazing rooms for the price you pay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

As a Reading FC supporter I am sure you are very pleased with their promotion.

We do hope to see you again for the new season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having returned from this hotel we were very pleased with our stay. Very frendly staff and extremely helpful. Excellent bus service into Reading centre. Leisure facilities were very good, swimming pool was lovely and warm. Room very clean and tidy with everything that you would need. We checked in early no issues at all and we had to check out by 12. Only downside is the food was very expensive and not really that great for the price (prawn cocktail nearly £8 and they were frozen prawns, very small). Apart from that we had a lovely time. Would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseyhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to find you had a pleasant stay and that the rooms and hotels facilities provided you with everything that you required.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed the night following a game of rugby. We were amazingly able to check in soon after 11am the morning before the game started. As we were staying at the hotel it also mean that we were able to park free of charge right in the stadium complex.

Although the hotel is built into the side of the stadium, so fantastic for the sporting events, there is nothing else around it so you are a bit isolated. It is also with 2 minutes of the M4 so very easy to get to.

The staff were excellent, the room was well equiped with a very high quality bed and pillows. The room as clean and wireless WiFi was free throughout the hotel. My only slight moan is that I felt the TV was small for the size of the room and it was not easy to watch from the bed.

Some of the rooms overlook the atrium that contain the main bar. If you want a quiet room after the game then do not get one of these rooms as it was very rowdy. Personally I enjoyed the atmosphere and the noise only lasted a few hours before the crowd drifted away.

The evening meal in the restuarant was excellent with attentive staff and a good menu but was a little pricey for what we got. A couple of burgers with fries and two small glasses of water cost 40 quid (we had no starters or puddings)

Breakfast was included in my rate and was excellent with a large selection of hot and cold food and drinks. my advice would be go steady on the evening meal and blow out on the excellent breakfast.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and one that I would definitely do again.

Room Tip: to avoid the noise before and after a game of football or rugby avoid the rooms that overlook the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading thanks you for your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed the complimentary WiFi.

Thank you again for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in a Club Junior Suite - the decor hadn't been updated since a previous stay a few years earlier, but the room was clean and tidy and furnishings were in good order.

All staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.

We visited the Club Lounge for complimentary aperitifs. The choice available was very, very limited. We were advised by a member of staff that they didn't usually have anyone use the lounge at the weekend and were taken by surprise that it was crowded on this occasion. There were some hot canapes - literally one each, and a bottle of red and white wine. A continental breakfast was served in the lounge the following morning. It is fine for light eaters, but again, pretty basic in terms of the choice available.

We dined in the Cilantro restaurant, and sampled the taster menu. We were impressed by service throughout and thought the food was fabulous. Highly recommended.

Would stay at the Millennium again and think it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We thank you for your comments and are pleased you found our staff friendly and efficient.

We have reviewed our Club facilities and we hope next time you stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel that you find an improvement in our Club services.

Thank you again for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel last year, and spent 4 nights last week as business traveler. Room I had stayed last year was larger I guess, and had european plug. I didn't use an adapter last year, but the room I stayed this time I needed to use it. Even though room service forget to renew water bottles in the fridge once, I had positive experience again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading has a range of room facilities to cater for a variety of guests needs.

Should you require a room with European plug sockets please advise on booking and we will try our best to accommodate your request. Alternatively the hotel does hire our Plug adaptors should you require these.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
3.9 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
509 reviews
3.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
4.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
3.9 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing