We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our daughter lives in Reading and previously we had stayed in a Travelodge, but this time wanted something a little more comfortable and convenient. The staff (might be the owners) are very friendly and welcoming, and made me feel at home straight away. The room might be one of the largest I've stayed in but the bed certainly was. ENORMOUS! And very comfortable. Nice big tv, WiFi, tea/coffee in the room but also available from an honesty bar downstairs. Talking of downstairs, there's a very comfortable lounge which we used to sit quietly and read.
There's a good breakfast. I have a free bus pass and seeing as there's a bus stop just outside got into the town centre in about 10 minutes, (including waiting time - OK, I was lucky). But it's an easy drive if you know where to park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    85
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
108
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a good sized room which was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The manager was extremely welcoming and went out of his way to ensure that we could have breakfast with other family members who were also staying. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sappers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I would happily stay here again. Friendly, courteous staff, great service, good breakfast, nice rooms. Very quaint!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Excellent friendly service. Warm welcome on arrival. Bags taken to room.
Room very comfortable with all you need for a short trip, with usual facilities - kettle TV etc.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and very clean. Rooms have character with colour and warmth and not the bland clinical feel of standard hotel chains.
As a group of 5, when we arrived at breakfast there was not enough room in the main dining room to sit together. A table was immediately set up in the adjoining room with no fuss so we could breakfast together. The breakfast was also freshly cooked, with various alternative options if required.
Easy to find and free parking a bonus.
Excellent value for money and definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

How nice to find a individual hotel with great rooms all different and a very nice owner to greet you. Very reasonable price I will certainly book again, but remember this is a room and breakfast only hotel. The breakfast room is very nice as was the food but they do not serve evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very high standard of decor for the price, excellent reakfast and service, Wifi and parking included free (and not used to screw extra cash out as with some). Excellent room size for the money. Conveniently located. Only downside is single glazed windows, given it is on an A road. Fortunately it's far enough off the road that the traffic noise isn't too bad.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkwrightZoborodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

2 day business trip - helpful, friendly staff. Really good rate!!

Nice and quite - private car park - and railings where I could chain up my motorbike,.

Room basic but clean - all the facilities you need - bed, chair, TV, kettle, ubiquitous trouser press (does anybody actually use them?). wifi.
Only thing missing was a desk - but as I did not need to work from the room this was not a problem this time.

Breakfast good, no restaurant or bar - Beefeater across the road for meals.
But too far to walk to go into town center.
Great for short visits, I'll probably stay again. But if I was in Reading for longer periods, I would probably stay somewhere nearer the town center - (pubs, restaurants etc.) - but not anything the hotel can do about its location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.2 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
1.5 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
1.9 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing