We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reading Serviced Apartments
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Now called Reading Serviced Apartments, SACO. I've stayed here before a few years ago and it's looking worn and rather run down by now. Our two bed was spacious but lots of things need replacing from worn sofa (only one 2-seater sofa in lounge of 2-double bed apartment!) to rather uncomfortable mattresses, communal areas need a good vacuuming and coat of paint. It was cheaper than others I've stayed in Reading but also poorer quality

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2016

Beware when booking at this apartment. My family was 10 minutes from arriving, after travelling from Australia, when I received an email that our booking was cancelled. They had booked more people in than they could cater for. We were left stranded with no roof over our heads.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank KerryCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Fantastic stay, given all instructions prior to visit on how to collect keys etc. Easy 15 minute walk to and from the station and the oracle. Tesco express about 2 mins away, staff at the reception all very helpful and friendly and are very good if there are any problems. All rooms clean and cleaners attend once a week. Wifi not the best however if you go into the kitchen it is okay. Shower pressure very good and overall a great stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We stayed there for 3 nights in 1 bedroom apartment. The size of apartment is great, there is a plenty of space in bedroom and in kitchen. The apartments are modern and new, all furniture looks fine.

The kitchen has all necessary appliances, including dishwasher and washing machine, that’s really nice. Other benefits are large fridge, a lot of dishes, cutlery, etc. The breakfast is not provided, although there is a complimentary set of tea/coffee / biscuits and water.

Free wifi has a very strong signal and we could use several devices searching internet simultaneously.

The bathroom is also modern and gets shower over bath. But the shower is quite bad, as the holes are clogged therefore the water pressure is bad.

I could say that staff was very helpful. We needed to extend our staying there for one more night and could not find the possibility within external booking systems. Therefore we asked at reception if they could help and after a couple of hours they confirmed the extension. It was great as we didn’t want to move anywhere else.

Location is good. It’s just 3-5 min to Oracle shopping centre and 15 min to the centre / railway station. There is a small Tesco just in 1 min walking on the corner. Although the area is not very green, 20 min by walk and you could reach the nice park.

That was definitely the best at quality apartments we stayed in Reading (compare 3 apartments), while a little bit more expensive, but it worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy_SPb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

The place outside of the rooms was dirty and completely uncleaned, the elevators were old and slow, it felt like a 2 star hotel, but the rooms were such a good value! Our room was perfectly clean and the privacy and spaciousness of it completely compensated for the exterior situation! Think it was definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikkkishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

No receptionist, but no access problems as the front door was left open and the combination to the safe is written in a guide pinned on the wall.
Flat was all decrepit, unclean, broken and, well, crap. Kept my shoes on, didn't touch anything unnecessarily, ate out, slept badly outside the bedclothes, had cold shower in the morning.
To cut a long story short, three flats over three nights, all with much the same issues.
The plumbers never did come. The receptionist even stood me up for our meeting.
Three days of arguing with the elusive receptionist and head office eventually resulted in a full refund.
I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank andrevv1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Firstly, this is not a hotel! It is advertised as managed service apartments. There is a difference.

I booked the night before via a popular late booking service and the price was good. I booked what was described as a Studio for two people. I was travelling alone for business for one night.

On the day of my arrival I received an email saying that payment could not be taken due a problem with their merchant banking account. That started to ring alarm bells. But I eventually was able to pay via a paypal link that they sent to me.

They had already sent me a very comprehensive email setting out the front door entry code, the rear door (by car park) entry code, the keysafe code to get the room key, and the wifi code.

Parking is very very limited – about four spaces for some fifty apartments, but I managed. I gained access to the building by using the key code but reception was empty at 4pm (it was meant to be manned at this time) so obtained my room key from the keysafe.

The lift had a sign saying ‘do not use’ as the emergency calling facility was broken but I used it anyway and it was fine.

The room was spotless and large and not what I was expecting from a Studio. Good design with an entrance corridor, large bathroom (with a bath!) to the left, and this opened up into a large bedroom area with two desks. The kitchen was also very clean and led off from the main room. The bedroom windows could be fully opened; I hate hotels that restrict the opening. A few of the light bulbs were not working but enough were.

The shower was excellent – possibly the highest pressure shower I have ever used – and the water was very hot.

The Wifi worked well but you have to choose the access point with the strongest signal – no brainer if you know what you are doing. The Wifi code is stupidly long!

Slept really well and checked out next day by returning the key to the keysafe.

So in summary, it was all really good and I do not have a single complaint. I did not see or hear another soul within the building so wonder how well it is doing? It would seem from other reviews that maybe other floors/rooms are not so good and after reading those, I would have to carefully consider if I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDutyPaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.3 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,943 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
575 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.9 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reading Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reading Serviced Apartments

Address: 12-18 Crown Street, Reading RG1 2SE, England (Formerly Max @ Reading Number 18)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Reading
Price Range: $134 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reading Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reading Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 18 Serviced Apartments Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing