We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
47
16
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
16
4
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

I am slightly biased as I live on a narrow boat on the Thames when I am working away from home. You always get a good nights sleep on a boat and the Sheffield hotel boat was no exception. In fact it's wider than a narrow boat being a broad beam and that provides extra space. It cost about £95 through hotels.com. The pros.....a convenient location in Sheffield city centre with relatively secure parking for a car next to the boat. Cutlery, plates etc and a gas oven for cooking. Comfortable beds and crisp linen. About a 10 min walk from the central station. The cons...difficulty in controlling the temperature with the sole source of heating ..a fan heater set within the front step. No toaster or microwave. As with all canal boats....need to be patient with loo flushing as it can take a while (they also charge extra apparently if you block up the loo system). The shower depended on a pump which for some reason pumped soapy water directly into the canal basin from an over flow. Not suited to disabled people. There is also free pedestrian access for the public across the canal basin bridge and alongside the boat...so make sure you close the curtains. Overall a great novelty. There is a greasy joe cafe under the arches if you are desperate for a fry up!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2015

We booked Lily May for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday. I was a bit dubious after reading previous reviews but loved the houseboat from the minute we climbed on board. Clean, comfortable and warm - 5 minute walk across the bridge to trams, buses and town centre. Buy a combined bus and train ticket for £4.50 for unlimited travel for a day. We used it to get to Botanical Gardens and Meadowhall. A real find and a novel idea - would recommend.

Room Tip: Make use of the fridge and take your own milk for tea/coffee
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank E8195OLjanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

We spent 2 nights in Lila Mae one of the 2 houseboat hotels in Victorian Quay in Sheffield. The boat is nicely finished and well equipped. We asked Houseboat Hotel to provide breakfast ingredients. A massive amount of excellent food was supplied and refreshed for our second breakfast and the boat has everything you need to cook breakfast.

We took advantage of being able to use the Gym and Spa at nearby Hilton Hotel.

All in all a very nice unusual place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rubymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2015

We're from Sheffield bug stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Instructions were great. Parking right next to the barge. Found we had not hot water when we got there but found the heater switch and had loads for the morning. Really warm and cosy and had a nice cup of tea, listening to the rain beat down, under the awning and fairly lights, late into the evening.

Room Tip: Check the hot water when you get there. And a good couple of cafés nearby for evening drinks and breakfast butties.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpers_thewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2015

Although we didnt expect to be welcomed in person - our detailed email instructions for directions and access gave us a very good impression of the standard we could expect. We were not disappointed.
The houseboat was very clean and well presented. Lots of cooking/dining equipment which we made good use of even though we stayed for only one night. The fridge, with icebox was a great bonus - unlike hotel mini bars, this is full size and once the setting turned up chilled our beers very well. We especially enjoyed our lunch, sitting on the rear deck enjoying the water and the sun.
Parking at the front of the boat was easy and safe.
Although at first sight the bed appeared a little on the small side - my husband and I are not small of stature, he's 6'2"! - we had a very comfortable nights sleep. Unlike some previous reviewers, our night was extremely peaceful and calm on board.
We chose to eat breakfast at the cafe opposite the boat. It had been recommended by Mark ( the owner of the boats) who arrived after we did to welcome us. He was very informative, charming and helpful. Thankyou Mark. I dhose a 'bespoke' breakfast whilst himself had the 'Full English' both cooked fresh and good value too.
Again our written instructions for check out were simple to follow but as it turned out we met with the young lady who preps the boats. She too was very helpful, charming and gracious.
We would heartily recommend a stay on the boat - we enjoyed it and I'm sure you will too.
If I can add photos - once I work out how to, I will.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews