We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find in the Heart of Hillsborough”

Coniston Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coniston Guest House
Ranked #12 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find in the Heart of Hillsborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Clean rooms, great breakfast and a very affordable price.

Its brilliant to find a B&B like this in the heart of Hillsborough with off-road parking and so close the Super Tram stop for convenient access to the town centre.

I used this guest house to put up our families for our wedding and the hosts couldn't have been more accommodating.

We now recommend this B&B to others when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
8
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Would highly recommend this Guesthouse to people staying in the Sheffield area. We met Gavin the owner who was warm and friendly and went out of his way to help us. He even gave us a lift across town to a wedding we were attending.
The rooms are spotless and clean and the beds comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Also they were very accomodating to people's different cooked breakfast choices. We had family that were from Sheffield who decided to join us in the morning for breakfast and this was not a problem at all. Also they had no problem with everyone staying after the allocated check out time and playing on the trampoline in the back garden with the kids.
I cannot praise this Guesthouse highly enough. The staff were lovely, the rooms great and expectional value for your money. We will definitely be staying here again when we next come to Sheffield.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfySmurfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Really like this guest house. Deborah and Gavin very friendly. Quite location but close to pubs and restaurants. 15 min. with tram to the city center. 10 min walk to Hillsborough.
Will stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

This is my second time staying at Coniston Guest House and I will stay here on my next visit. Big rooms, nice comfy beds and the best shower I ever experienced in England. Very nice full English breakfast with cereals. Deborah is a very nice host.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I stayed at this B&B form late July - November 2010 whilst working in Sheffield for 4 months.
It is an excellent B&B, clean, friendly and very convenient for the tram network being 5 minutes walk from the Malin Bridge tram stop. For anyone working for a period in Sheffield it is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryderdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

I have stayed here for business in Sheffield several times. It is located at the end of the tram line at Hillsborough or Mallin Bridge so don't expect a city centre location. The benefits far outweigh this - nice rooms, quiet locations, excellent service and very good value for money. There are places to eat about ten minutes walk away in Hillsborough. For posher and lively places get the tram into the City.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Pet_Smet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Very glad we stayed at Coniston Guest House with Deborah. Absolutely perfect. Great English breakfast. Will stay again. Thank you!

Tommy

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 km away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
18.0 km away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.6 km away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.1 km away
Barnfield House
Barnfield House
#2 of 33 in Sheffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coniston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coniston Guest House

Property: Coniston Guest House
Address: 90 Beechwood Road | Hillsborough, Sheffield S6 4LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing