We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dosas, and great vegetarian selection”
Review of Arusuvai - CLOSED

Arusuvai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to one of the finest South Indian and Sri Lankan restaurants in Sheffield. Its been established originally under the name of Dhanistha's in 2010. Now its been taken over by new management and changed the name to Arusuvai (Taste Buds). We would like to continue giving authentic and original home cooking dishes from South India and Sri Lanka. Our food do not contain any artificially added colours or preservatives. All our ingredients are carefully selected by our experienced chefs from South India. All our dishes are cooked from scratch for order. So please be patient while we producing your dishes
Reviewed November 4, 2015

Have been here around 5 or 6 times since it because 'Arusavai', and it's always consistently good. Really tasty dosas, a great selection of vegetarian food. As a pescatarian, I've also enjoyed the fish curry too. The breads are really tasty, and the service is very friendly and helpful. Good for those on a budget too, as the prices are reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusuvai, Manager at Arusuvai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food. We really hope to see you walking into Arusuvai soon. Cheers! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

We eat lots of home made curries and are often disappointed eating out, this place was absolutely gorgeous, nice quiet atmosphere and the food was second to none! Take advice from the waiters on what to order, they were really helpful and attentive. We will be back!

Thank Balyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusuvai, Owner at Arusuvai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food. We really hope to see you walking into Arusuvai soon. Cheers! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Excellent food and service.
A very rare combination to find :)

Would recommend everybody to try it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusuvai, Owner at Arusuvai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food. We really hope to see you walking into Arusuvai soon. Cheers! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2015

we came a long way to get dosa for lunch on my wife's birthday. We were not disappointed. Our server, Nami gave us a great recommendation for a dose that we wouldn't necessarily have tried. The food was stunning, as was the service, as was Nami's smile.
Can't wait to go again. Awesome food, traditional atmosphere, excellent customer service and priced right.
Don't miss this little jewel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imanofmystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusuvai, Manager at Arusuvai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food. We really hope to see you walking into Arusuvai soon. Cheers! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015

This is not an average curry house. It is a restaurant serving very good South Indian Food. Don't envisage poppadoms and pickle trays - that ain't happening. I was wowed by everything we had. The mushroom rice - so tasty it could be a meal on its own - little doughnut shaped vadas with coconut sauce, braised cauliflower florets dressed in warm sticky tamarind, fragrant stir fried vegetable salad punctured with crisp lentils...mini dosas wrapped around thin rectangles of paneer, aubergine slivers in a salty sweet sauce, fluffy lemon rice - so delicious. All the food we ate was vegetarian though there was fish, lamb, and chicken on the menu - but the vegetarian menu was just too tempting.

The service is swift and gracious. The price of the food highly reasonable.

We left without tin foil cartons - our plates shiny clean. Aah, this was the kind of beautiful, nourishing food that you dream of tasting again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregorysgirlWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusuvai, Manager at Arusuvai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food. We really hope to see you walking into Arusuvai soon. Cheers! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arusuvai also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing