We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Champagne Stayover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Champagne Stayover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a champagne stayover last year and subsequently went again this year. Was not dissappointed we got and upgrade which had 2 kingsize beds, jacuzzi bath, settee (sofa) table. Lovely and clean and warm. The staff are extremley helpful, the service is second to none, the food is out of this world. Needles to say we will be going again next year.

Thank you Staindrop for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUGGSY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    65
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
91
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We have stayed here before in the summer , this hotel seems a million miles away but belive it or not on the side of a housing estate, By no means let the location put you off , the food here is as good as some hotels ive eaten in through out the world, The staff are very friendly not to mention the passion, theses days this is hard to find in hotels in the uk,Yes my wife says that the duvet was a bit on the thin side, If your shopping at meadowhall like we were make a day and night of it and stay here We stayed upgrade room /champagne/ dinner for two not forgetting the breakfast, £50.00 Each fantastic value, and yes we will be going back,

Room Tip: phone the hotel direct be fore you book. Better deals through the hotel than other web sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Do not have any buffetts from here ... they are way way over priced and you dont get a very big selection... cant fault the rooms ,,, Great rooms ,.... staff are really friendly and always willing to help ... But the buffet i had for a party i had there was discraceful wouldnt reccomend anyone to book a function there .. I had to set up all the room on my own even though i had paid 175 for the room... I then put a complaint in about the food being dry and nasty and they refered me to speak to a manager which didnt get back in touch with any of us. We then rung back up asking to speak to him and he wasnt interested in anything we had to say.!!! Stay for a champagne night or a stay over in genral ... its amazing ... Id reccomend room 17 :) ... but i wouldnt book a party there again !!!!!!

Room Tip: room 17 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I cannot fault this hotel. The room , service, food and all round experience were excellent for me and my partner. All round top score and very much reccomend to anyone.

Room Tip: Jus.t speak to staff they most helpful when wwee had special requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I was invited to stay at this hotel for a wedding in November 2011 and I was very pleased with the service I received. Although I was only at the hotel for a short time I was pleasantly suprised that my (very few) requests were handled excellently and the staff even went above and beyond.

I stayed in room 18 and it was a generous size with a very comfy double bed and an ensuite that was plenty big enough for 2. The bath was a standard size however it had a privacy screen that pulled all the way across so if you wanted 2 of you using the ensuite at the same time you had that option.

The breakfast was of a high quality and you had plenty of options to choose from. We had 2 vegetarians in our party and they seemed very happy with the range and quality of their meals. I opted for the full english (classic post wedding hangover cure) and it was perfect.

All in all I was very pleased and will stay here again if in the area.

It is worth a special mention at this point for the lady who served my breakfast (apologies but I have forgotten her name). She was polite, fun and helpful to the point where my cheeky request for some disposable kitchenware was met. I said it at the time but if she gets this, thank you again.

Andy

Room Tip: I was in room 18 and my friends were in 17. Both rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stereophonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Staff were very good and very accommodating. In the restaurant I ordered something not on the menu and it was no trouble and very nice.
Room could have been cleaner though especially under the bed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Without doubt the best value and consistent quality of food in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhairedyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.2 km away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
9.9 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
11.1 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
16.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
9.2 km away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Property: Staindrop Lodge
Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing