We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nicely done!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staindrop Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staindrop Lodge
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nicely done!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stay here every couple of months on business trips to Sheffield. Staff are fantastic, helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. Rooms are very pleasant, clean, spacious and the decor is very nicely done (is it Art Deco or Art Nouveau - I can never remember which is which!) Food is well cooked (not a microwaved lasagne in sight!) and the dinner menu has a good variety of dishes and the specials change regularly. As a lone female traveller I never feel uncomfortable eating alone in the restaurant. Breakfasts are superb, all cooked to order and the choice is great - if you want kippers, smoked salmon, omlette, porridge or a full English (exactly how you like it) they have it! Only one negative, If you get chance to have an executive room with a spa bath beware - last time I had one when I switched on the jets what seemed like a bucket load of dust, muck and dead flies came out! Emptied, rinsed and tried again and it was OK, this is the only thing that I can find to complain about however, and might just have been because it hadn't been used in some time! They also have nice meeting facilities, with good room sizes and plentiful hot and cold refreshments!

Room Tip: Executive rooms have spa baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheakstonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    63
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
86
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are in North Sheffield and in need of some top quality food then pay a visit to the Standrop Lodge. I have eaten countless meals in the hotel and cannot praise the quality and staff enough. Try the club sandwich for a great lunch time treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I would recommend Staindrop Lodge to anyone, either if you planning a night away or even if you just fancy a bite to eat. The location is ideal, with close access to the M1 and for us it was really easy to find. Me and my partner stayed over for a friends birthday a couple of weeks ago and was pleasently surprised, the rooms themselves were modern to a high standard and very clean, the jacuzzi bath add a very special touch. The reception staff were accomdating, friendly and helped us settle in. We had a meal booked in the bar/restaurant, we were advised to try out the recently new menu. There was a really reasonable and varied choice, I had the lasagne and my partner had wood pigeon then trio of duck off the specials, both were excellent. Very decent sized portions and cooked very well. We spent the evening in the bar, the atmosphere was pleasant and had a welcoming mix of people out enjoying their evenings. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning too. I would definitely stay here again, its not only reasonablly priced but the quality of service by staff and the hotel were second to none.

Me, my partner and my friends had a really enjoyable evening and a lovely time at Staindrop Lodge.
Thank you.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned, our room with the jacuzzi bath added a very special touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiler1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West Country
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here a couple of times. It would get a five star if not for the water pressure in the shower which is ok but not exactly a tropical rainstorm! Stayed in two different rooms and the shower issue was the same in both. Food is very good and the rooms are comfortable and quiet, Free wi-fi which makes a very pleasant change. Ample parking and very close to M1 and Sheffield. Incidentally post code is Sheffield but it is well north of the city centre - more like Chapeltown. Location was great for me as I was working on nearby business park. Room rates are good too. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Certainly a little out of the way tucked away in Chapeltown in the North of Sheffield this a little art deco themed gem.

Eaten here many times and always been very impressed with the food and service.

The one negative I would comment on is that at busy times the restaurant can get quite noisy but other than that I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUIUHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I attended a birthday party here, never been before. I must say i thought the buffet was very good - it was actually warm when i got to it, most of the time i get to a buffet which has been left standing for hours! The buffet was fresh and tasty. I can't say anything for the food because i didn't eat from the menu.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a champagne stayover last year and subsequently went again this year. Was not dissappointed we got and upgrade which had 2 kingsize beds, jacuzzi bath, settee (sofa) table. Lovely and clean and warm. The staff are extremley helpful, the service is second to none, the food is out of this world. Needles to say we will be going again next year.

Thank you Staindrop for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUGGSY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
2.2 km away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 55 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
9.9 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
16.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.4 km away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staindrop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staindrop Lodge

Property: Staindrop Lodge
Address: Lane End | Chapeltown, Sheffield S35 3UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staindrop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Staindrop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Sheffield
Classic Hotel Staindrop
Sheffield Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing