We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling customer care - no hot water and no flushing toilet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Appalling customer care – no hot water and no flushing toilet!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

No hot water or flushing toilet for 12 hours on night of 18/03. That was unfortunate and bad enough but the way this was dealt with by the duty managers made it even worse. After checking in around 7pm we noticed the hot tap in the sink, bath and shower produced nothing except a gurgling noise. Shortly after the cold water feed to the toilet cistern ceased too – leaving us with just the cold tap in the sink with which to manually fill the toilet cistern using the kettle and then boil water to wash and shave. We rang reception several times asking to be moved to another room. No joy – they just kept asking us ‘to wait until the water tank filled up’. By 10pm it was clear to anyone with a modicum of plumbing knowledge that if a system had somehow been accidentally drained then it is likely to have air locks once it is refilled – 20 minutes attention from an emergency plumber would have resolved the issues. On our final call to reception at 10.20pm we were told it was in fact our entire floor/wing and the main reception that was affected (so even the toilets in the bar area were out of commission). Unbelievably – considering the huge inconvenience, not to mention health hazard for guests and staff, they were adamant that a plumber would call in at 8am to sort the problem! We were to go to bed and hope for the best. There must have been other wings and rooms of this large hotel that were not fed from this water tank, but we were not offered any other room. As we predicted, once the plumber did come in at 7.30am the next morning the problem was sorted in minutes – so why had 20-30 guests had to endure such unpleasant circumstances over night? They seemed to have no emergency procedures and no ability to communicate with guests. To cap it all, when we went to check out we were given the bill in full – no apology, no explanation and no reduction!! We had basically had a bed to sleep in and left to fend for ourselves yet they wanted the full price for the room. On explaining our displeasure we were offered HALF the bar bill – 2 drinks, so the reduction was basically £6. We were stunned. They eventually reluctantly wiped the whole bar bill of around £12 but insisted they could not credit the room charge or give a voucher as we had booked and paid via hotel com. So all in all a bad situation made much much worse by the disinterested staff and poor customer service. It beggars belief that this hotel can have such a cavalier attitude to guests. We found it via hotel com and have relatives in the area to visit regularly but will never stay there again. Fawlty Towers has nothing on this - a perfect example of how to lose future business.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Southportfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for completing your review. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced when you stayed with us. This was an extremely unfortunate situation, which of course is not a regular occurance this of course has now been rectified. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. In the meantime, should you wish to discuss this further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    443
    282
    138
    73
See reviews for
233
543
52
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here 13/3/12. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were very spacious and very well equiped. The only down side is that it is in need of a revamp. It is advertising for weddings-if i were to pay for a wedding there i would want everything to be ship shape. Some of the carpets were thread bare, skirting boards were chipped and it needed the bathrooms updateing and everywhere painted. Drinks were expensive to. It was an ideal base for getting about. A must do is Chatsworth house, this about 12 miles away, a bit pricey but worth it. All in all we enjoyed the break.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake, not the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthnevison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I pleased to inform you that we are indeed replacing carpets and decorating. Our drink prices are in line with our competitor offering and pricing is reviwed on a regular to ensure we are in line. We do hope that you return to stay with us again in the future. In the meantime, should you have any further queries please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed here for three nights and was generally pleased with the standards offered. The staff were all friendly and efficient, the room comfortable and the food of a good standard.

A bonus is that there are some reasonable restaurants and pubs within walking distance if you fancy venturing out.

A minor frustration was the keycard access failing on a couple of occasions necessitating a (long) trip back to reception. I have had this happen at a few hotels so no real downer on this place in particular.

What was more odd was the lack of illumination in my room. There seemed to be a lack of lights rather than anything not working and I was left groping in semi-darkness at times. A ceiling mounted light that illuminates the whole room would be welcome.

Overall pretty good and I will return when I next have business in Sheffield

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised please accept our apologies with regard to your key not working, at times this is due to have the key next to a mobile as this effects the magnetic strip.

Wtih regard to the lighting we would be more than happy to place further lights in the room should you request these.

We are pleased to hear that you will be returning for a future visit, in the meantime, should you have any further queries or need anything else at all please do feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connahs Quay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family stayed for two nights and we had a nice stay. We found all the staff to be very nice and accommodating. The room we had gave our family plenty of space. The breakfast was good and in the evening our meals all went down well. Overall as a family with one 12 year old and a 3 year old, we had a pleasant stay and we will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us.

It delights me to see that you had a enjoyable stay and that the staff were of help and were welcoming to you and your family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed for one night and had a very nice stay, breakfast was a good buffet style with lots of choice. Our room was large and clean, the only downside being the Tv reception was not great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t0p_0f_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review your recent syat with us.

I am dissapointed to learn the TV reception was not very good in your room ,and I have passed your comments onto the maintenance team for them to look into. I can assure you that this is not the usual standard we deliver.

Hope to see you again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ups
Located in what must have been a country squires estate, now surrounded by urban sprawl Kenwood is something of an oasis. The GPS had some difficulty is negotiating the twisted and tight street layout of Sheffield to get there, and the roads are in a very sorry state, so take your time.
Staff courteous and helpful.
Reception / bar area has a contemporary feel to its design which soon evaporates the further your room is located away until the decor becomes circa late 80's early 90's. The room itself has a nice vista of the gardens which is quite refreshing after a day in the urban jungle, and the decor is good if somewhat dated,old style TV , Internet service is supposedly free but only for 30min intervals at which time you have to re-login through the corporate website and it also seems speed restricted --why is that? - just annoying.
Bathroom/ toilet area has been updated, however as always the shower controls belie the last major refurbishment, being the 80's type i.e. 1-2mm left or right being scalding hot or arctic cold water, N.B the water temperature is combined with impressive water pressure you could easily operate a steam cleaning business (car /truck engines) with a few tappets and extension hoses, so shaving time is fun!
Amenities include free guest access to a small swimming pool (so no diving, you'll break you neck) jacuzzi and stream / sauna room and a reasonable if space restricted Gym over 2 floors.

Downs:

other TV's and noises encroaching into the room, varied considerably again luck of the draw as to what type of guest was next door.
Slamming doors due to poor / useless "door restrainers" are on epic proportions in this establishment, room service tended to be a bit wooly, e.g windows needed to be cleaned (lot of natural guests in the grounds including Owls so consider where you park! etc) but it seemed like a bucket of water and some hope was used to do the job, the ironing board cover snapped and so needed replacing and so I got another ironing board making x2 in the room ? rubbish tied up in a bag (bins are on the small side) could remain, Door restrainer problems problem noted but hard to say if really fixed etc..
Saying that I would go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centroweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

As a new General Manager to the property, I can aasure you that I am working with the team to improve areas of the hotel, including updating the decor and certain services we provide.

I have passed your comments on to the teams and they have found your constructive feedback to be of help.

Many Thanks and hope you visit us again soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here a lot and the rooms are lovely as are the grounds of the hotel. It's a little out of the centre but is good for Ecclesall road bars & restaurants.

Parts of the hotel are looking tired and the room service menu could do with updating but overall its great value

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Sansom, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

It pleases me to see that you consistently have an enjoyable stay with us and that you find us of great value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kenwood Hall soon.

Simone Sansom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.4 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
742 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
10.0 km away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
4.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing