We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and lovely house but rather expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
L0ndon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good location and lovely house but rather expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our second visit At the end of the first visit the owner was dismissive of a concern expressed about the quality of a Spa treatment although we had enjoyed the 'Overton experience'
It is in a peaceful quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside about 1.5 miles south of Ludlow. The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and efficient and staff generally friendly with two serving breakfast and at least two serving at dinner.
Dinner can be a little souless and lacking in atmosphere, in a dining room which can be cool on an autumn evening, if not many are dining, which in our experience is often the case .The food is interesting but to be offered the same menu on consecutive evenings is not what we expected, to be fair to the hotel they did offer a different dish of our choice when we asked.
Breakfast vaied in quality, one morning a small egg and a single small piece of bacon, another morning two eggs and two pieces of bacon.
Is it value for money? I would suggest it is overpriced and a service charge is an additional cost. Our bed had a mark on the duvet cover which brushed off, the drapes had three of the runners off so the cutrain did not close properly and one day the towels did not seem as they were changed. The pool is rather cool and the sauna is not working.
We did not express any concern as we were dismissed on a previous visit and we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed "the peaceful and quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside" ," The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and efficient and staff generally friendly with two serving breakfast and at least two serving at dinner."
The sauna was unfortunately out of order due to mis-use from guests.
However, we value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    76
    46
    23
    21
See reviews for
20
178
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

What a disappointment... after great expectations, I feel let down and ripped off. The room was nicely appointed and fairly clean - although there were a few cobwebs in the bathroom (and don't look behind the taps in the bath!!), nowhere to hang wet towels, only one lot of toiletries between 2 people for a 2 night stay. Beds comfortable, water hot. BUT they call themselves a Spa hotel - what a joke! Well there were some over priced treatments available, a very small pool (about 4 strokes will get you from one end to the other), and the sauna was broken. NO towels, no shower gel or shampoo, no bathrobes. The food was however very good, but pricey and the wine was extortionate - £20 for a bottle of house wine. Service was good, if not a little over attentive. Obviously they have had someone doing the redecoration who has a fetish for cushions ... they are just EVERYWHERE! If you do visit this hotel (which I would never do again), you could guarantee a soft landing (on a strategically placed cushion) when they present you the bill! (PS. Watch out for the 10% service charge they put on your bill for eating in the restaurant)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliaAkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your review. Overton Grange prides itself as a Fine Country House Hotel offering excellent food and service to our discerning Guests. In addition, the Hotel also offers complimentary use of the Pool as an additional feature, and Spa Treatments can also be enjoyed by Guests on requests and subject to availability, by appointment only. Our reputation for food and Fine Wines Selection is recognised in all major Guides, and appreciated by most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

had a lovely wknd couldnt fault the hotel at all location very beautiful lovely room staff excellent very pleasant treated really well meal extremly nice thought a bit pricey at first but once we had the meal and the lovely service it was worth every penny would definitely go back and also recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babslomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

For a very expensive stay, (eg. Coombe Abbey has themed rooms which are truly sumptuous in a far superior setting for less than the price this cost us) the room was no better than any decent independent hotel. It was small and poorly equipped with nowhere to hang towels, store suitcases etc. The bathroom had a hand held shower only, which offered up a trickle of (admittedly hot) water. There is a pool but to add insult to injury, the hotel charges you to use a towel or bath robe. The sauna requires 45 mintues notice... The setting is lovely but could be better enjoyed from another hotel who don't rest upon their complacent laurels. The food was good with the expected amuse bouche etc but was lacking a bit of flair and frankly, I've enjoyed better cuisine for a fraction of the price. The wine list was extensive - should I also add - expensive. If you want to pay at least £60 a bottle for an average wine, well, each to their own I guess. We shan't be staying here again!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your review. Your review suggests that your main concern was namely cost.
You were allocated the last smaller Double Room booked on line at a discounted rate, but all the rooms offer the same facilities as required. Pool and leisure facilties are complimentary.
By your own admission, the setting is lovely and the food is good, and we receive many reviews complimenting the food and the service on offer at the Hotel. An extensive Wine list offering a selection in excess of 250 wines ranging from £19.50. Choice of Rooms , Dining, Wine selection and use of the facilties are left to individuals, and all prices, terms and conditions are clearly listed in the Hotel room pack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Visiting the Ludlow area for 3 nights, we chose this hotel for it's apparent luxury, despite only being 3-star rated. Certainly not cheap but, with the reviews read, it sounded good. We were NOT disappointed. The staff were terrific, from start to finish, and the room we were shown to, with its terrific views, gave us a great start to our three days there. The first night's dinner was outstanding, with more than one "chef's surprise" making really nice fillers between the courses. Breakfast is just as good, with the scrambled egg being even better than I make myself! The only less-than-perfect thing was that the menu didn;t change for our stay, something I found surprising for a place of this quality. However, after a small moan to the chef prior to dinner, he came up with alternatives, which were excellent too. The beds are very comfortable, with quality bedding. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: ask for the one above reception, with the most windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llahsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your candid comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at Overton Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay and found the Country House style very relaxing. Set in lovely grounds a short drive from Ludlow. The room was comfortable, clean with good facilities. The breakfast menu was varied and the food excellent. However, we think the minimum price for an evening meal of £42.50 per person is excessive, causing us and other guest to eat elsewhere. I feel by not offering a cheaper alternative the hotel is losing income that could easily go into their coffers. As it is three restaurants in Ludlow benefited. It was obvious from the desertion of cars from 7.00 pm that others had done the same.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoblin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for your comments. The Hotel offers excellent accommodation and enjoy a very good location for exploring Ludlow and the area., and is often complimented with the Dining experience at Overton Grange, offering a full A La Carte set price(£42.50) including Canapes, Appetiser, Starter, Main Course, Pre Desert and Desert, or alternatively, a 9 courses Tasting Menu(£59.50).
Alternatively, the Guests also enjoy the benefit of dining at our sister Hotel, Dinham Hall, offering a less formal option and choice of 2 or 3 courses from £34.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our two night stay in this comfortable, welcoming hotel with lovely country views. Our one dinner was excellent. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. My only adverse comment is that the bathroom was a little tired and some items therein need replacing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceamilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.5 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
24.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.3 km away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#3 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Hotel
Address: Overton Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing