We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service, ok hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, ok hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The lady working on reception, behind the bar and serving breakfast was very efficient, smiley and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a lovely part of the world, and is clean and comfortable. The room was a little cold when we arrived, but there was an electric heater in the waredrobe which soon warmed it up. There were also a few cobwebs dangling down from the ceiling, but the room and bathroom were clean and well decorated. We enjoyed using the pool, which is beautiful ,and were the only people in there, though it was freezing, but after quite a few lenghts we warmed up! All in all, we had a lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    74
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
21
175
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Last stayed here in August 2009 when I said I would return. So glad to have done so. The hotel is a little outside Ludlow, an interesting town in its own right, but not too far by car from Shrewsbury, Ironbridge,the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean all of which are worth visiting paticularly at this time of year when the autumnal colours in the fields and on the trees are quite stunning. We received a warm welcome with the receptionist knowing our name & that we'd asked for a room with a shower. It was agreed that if we ate in the restaurant for our 3 night stay we'd get 3 nights accommodation for the price of 2. Although the bedroom was not very spacious it was perfectly adequate and well maintained - coffee, water etc replenished every day - with a pleasant view. The real attraction though is the superb food which would be difficult to surpass:- every evening we enjoyed canapes of butternut squash,quails eggs,olives and salmon bites. Veloute with celeriac and cauliflower were served with delicious home made bread.. Other mid course tasters were made of raspberry, pineapple and a hint of meringue and after dinner treats of mini pastries (lemon curd & grapes?) and little chocolat treats. For starters on the 3 evenings I had stuffed lemon sole with white onions and spinach, scallops and langoustine, all delicious. For the 3 main courses I had pork fillet which was tender and succulent, venison which had an excellent flavour but, I think, can always seem a bit tough, and rack of lamb which was fantastic. My husband had the gressingham duck, the pork fillet and chicken all of which he clearly enjoyed. It was particularly impressive that the staff offered to change the menu for us after the first two evenings we were there. Desserts of chocolat fondant, bavarois, appple tart and the cheese selection were equally delicious. Although most of the menu is French I was pleased to see, in addition, a selection of New World and other wines: in fact, the Chilean Sauvignon and Merlot which were not unreasonably priced, as was local mineral water, were first-rate wines. The service was excellent, intelligent and not intrusive, and the environment tranquil and delightful. The Shropshire breakfast ,too, as well as the smoked haddock and egg are to be recommended.and it's difficult to imagine the food being bettered anywhere. It's a reasonably expensive place to stay but as the food is quite outstanding I think it's a treat really worth experiencing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosalindLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great value for money.
Comfy but small double room.
Small ensuite shower room.
Grand staircase nice building, excellent decor to the public areas.
Nice pool - sauna wasn't operating.
The most wonderful food you can imagine. I have specific food requests and the chef provided amazing dishes within my restrictions- very very impressive .
The staff were so helpful.
Quiet secluded location so no outside disturbances. Very peaceful night.
If I'm in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to revisit .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for one night mid-week as we wanted to visit Ludlow. Location is rural but need a car to get in to the town.

Communal areas were welcoming with a nice aroma of the log fires.

Bedroom was disappointing, being quite small and uninspiring. The ensuite was very small. The TV reception was permanently breaking up and so was not watchable.

Good sized swimming pool and were surprised no one else using it.

We ate in the restaurant and chose the degustation menu. At £59 (excluding service charge) it was excellent, as was the service. With regard to the 10% restaurant service charge other reviewers have mentioned, this was stated both in the confirmatory email and on the menu.

Breakfast was also very good.

A nice place to stay for one night due to the excellent food but not for a longer stay given the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We apreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked a two day mid week break at the 'special' price of £85 per person per night for dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel is in a quiet rural location about a mile or so from Ludlow. The furnishings and general ambience are a little dated but the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was on the small side, as was the adjoining en suite bathroom and the furnishing was dated and pretty basic. There was no comfortable chair or sofa, so if you wanted to relax in the room to read or watch the (very small) TV you had to perch on the end of the bed or sit on the one upright dining style chair that was in the room. We found the bed rather hard and unforgiving. We thought we had been unlucky in our room allocation but during our stay we saw two more rooms and they were similarly furnished and smaller than ours. The food is good but not exceptional and the wine and bar drinks are very expensive. The cheapest house wine was £20 a bottle (£22 with the service charge). When we left we were surprised to see a discretionary 10% service charge added to our bill for the 'inclusive' dinner and the wine and bar bill. With just one pre dinner drink and a bottle of house wine it adds over £23 to the bill for a two night break. Tipping is a personal matter and it should be left to the guest to decide who they wish to tip and how much. Adding a discretionary service charge smacks of sharp practice and I wonder how much of it ends up in the pockets of staff. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greydog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
The service charge is discretionary and clearly stated on our menus, and in this instance, was removed from the final account as requested. Tips are welcomed alternatively, but none was left either...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

There is much that was nice about this hotel. Its an attractive house set in beautiful countryside a fair walk from Ludlow, you definitely need a car.The staff were very friendly and charming. The house is attractively decorated and comfortable. We didn't try the pool or spa facilities.
We did find the bathroom very small and disappointing with an electric shower and very little space for manoeuvre. The bed was okay but the duvet and pillows rather average quality. It was very quiet however and we slept well.
Breakfast was okay, but variable. My husband doesn't eat egg, or black pudding and so asked for bacon, sausage and mushroom. He got one rasher of bacon, one sausage and a few pieces of mushroom. The next day he got two of everything! The food in the restaurant was good but personally we would have liked more choice rather than a set three course meal, we would have eaten in the restaurant more often rather than going out if we could have had something lighter. In all I thought this was a good three star hotel with four star prices.The clientèle were overwhelmingly older couples and this is a good base for touring or walking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our first visit to the Overton Grange. We booked the 3 night weekend break and were looking forward to sampling the fine dining. The hotel is situated about 1.5 miles outside of Ludlow, in a great setting of rolling hills and fantastic countryside. The room was lovely, the food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful time. The only dissapointment was that we both wanted to stay much longer!

Room Tip: Room 21 was good size with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barlaw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
0.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.5 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
24.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Hotel
Address: Overton Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing