We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overprice when service charge added”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overprice when service charge added”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Comfortable stay spoiled by service charge policy. 10% service for dinner (on fixed charge break! Wording of conformation suggest serive included) and bar bill (not informed when ordering) leaves a sense of sharp practice. Room pleasant, but shower difficult to use. Dinner satisfactory but without a wow factor; wine choice for less expensive wines limited. Breakfast good. Lounge fire if lit (although made up) would have been an added pleaure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    82
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
24
183
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had a lovely relaxing break, in this quaint hotel. I wasnt sure what to expect as we normally stay 5 star, but this was excellent, and I am surprised it is only rated 3 star.

Fantastic service, the food was exemplary and the hotel cosy and presented well.

We had the degustation menu which was top notch, definitely Michelin standard. We had the four poster room and i loved the little touches, like a cafetiere for coffee and the stereo.

We sat by the log fire after dinner in the cosy bar and chatted to other guests, which was a lovely way to finish off the evening

We will definitely return

Room Tip: The four poster room overlooking the front grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally_l911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The room was clean, bathroom was immaculate. Thoughtful heater (fan) and throws in the wardrobe. The swimming pool is clean, inviting and offers a great environment for relaxation. The lounge and restaurant areas are also very welcoming.
The dinner is just simply excellent. Great arrangements in the restaurant, apropriate table setting, excellent smiling service and suprisingly diverse quality wine list (French mainly).

Would return and recomment it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were visiting Ludlow for the Christmas market and chose the Overton Grange simply because everything else was fully booked. The price for the room was £240 bed & breakfast for a couple. This isn't the sort of price we would normally pay for an hotel, but we thought what the hell, it must be good for that price.

The hotel is nice, but the room we were offered actually left us both speechless. It was newly decorated, spotlessly clean and had a four poster bed. But £240 a night? Not a chance. We complained and were offered the honeymoon suite. This was a larger room but by no definition that I am aware of was it a suite. The addition of two small armchairs and an occasional table does not turn a room into a suite and command an extra £50 per night.

I would debate their definition of luxurious, contemporary accomodation. I would suggest comfortable, clean and chintzy. But then it's all subjective. Although a bog standard bath with an overhead shower and one of those hinged glass screens is OK but hardly the height of luxury. I think that's objective.

However, on the plus side the staff were exceptional and the food was excellent. We had the degustation menu along with 6 of our friends, 2 who were also staying at the Overton Grange and the other 4 in the centre of Ludlow. We all agreed that the food was fantastic. We were all made to feel very welcome and comfortable.

Breakfast was also very good and the service continued to be very professional and friendly, although I do wonder when those hard working girls and boys get to sleep !!

The service charge is always an issue for me. We paid it but I would much rather decide for myself at the end of an hotel stay. I would certainly have left a substantial tip for the service we received.

And the hotel is actually 2.2 miles from Ludlow town centre. It's not rocket science working that out rather than describing it as a short level walk.

I guess the question is would we stay there again? And the answer is yes as there was nothing to complain about. But we would only stay when we had exhausted all other possibilities, because we really did think it is over priced for what it is. I'm guessing I would have been very comfortable with £160-£180 based on other hotels that we have stayed in, and that's generous.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in and around Ludlow first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BTVAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The lady working on reception, behind the bar and serving breakfast was very efficient, smiley and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a lovely part of the world, and is clean and comfortable. The room was a little cold when we arrived, but there was an electric heater in the waredrobe which soon warmed it up. There were also a few cobwebs dangling down from the ceiling, but the room and bathroom were clean and well decorated. We enjoyed using the pool, which is beautiful ,and were the only people in there, though it was freezing, but after quite a few lenghts we warmed up! All in all, we had a lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Last stayed here in August 2009 when I said I would return. So glad to have done so. The hotel is a little outside Ludlow, an interesting town in its own right, but not too far by car from Shrewsbury, Ironbridge,the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean all of which are worth visiting paticularly at this time of year when the autumnal colours in the fields and on the trees are quite stunning. We received a warm welcome with the receptionist knowing our name & that we'd asked for a room with a shower. It was agreed that if we ate in the restaurant for our 3 night stay we'd get 3 nights accommodation for the price of 2. Although the bedroom was not very spacious it was perfectly adequate and well maintained - coffee, water etc replenished every day - with a pleasant view. The real attraction though is the superb food which would be difficult to surpass:- every evening we enjoyed canapes of butternut squash,quails eggs,olives and salmon bites. Veloute with celeriac and cauliflower were served with delicious home made bread.. Other mid course tasters were made of raspberry, pineapple and a hint of meringue and after dinner treats of mini pastries (lemon curd & grapes?) and little chocolat treats. For starters on the 3 evenings I had stuffed lemon sole with white onions and spinach, scallops and langoustine, all delicious. For the 3 main courses I had pork fillet which was tender and succulent, venison which had an excellent flavour but, I think, can always seem a bit tough, and rack of lamb which was fantastic. My husband had the gressingham duck, the pork fillet and chicken all of which he clearly enjoyed. It was particularly impressive that the staff offered to change the menu for us after the first two evenings we were there. Desserts of chocolat fondant, bavarois, appple tart and the cheese selection were equally delicious. Although most of the menu is French I was pleased to see, in addition, a selection of New World and other wines: in fact, the Chilean Sauvignon and Merlot which were not unreasonably priced, as was local mineral water, were first-rate wines. The service was excellent, intelligent and not intrusive, and the environment tranquil and delightful. The Shropshire breakfast ,too, as well as the smoked haddock and egg are to be recommended.and it's difficult to imagine the food being bettered anywhere. It's a reasonably expensive place to stay but as the food is quite outstanding I think it's a treat really worth experiencing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosalindLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great value for money.
Comfy but small double room.
Small ensuite shower room.
Grand staircase nice building, excellent decor to the public areas.
Nice pool - sauna wasn't operating.
The most wonderful food you can imagine. I have specific food requests and the chef provided amazing dishes within my restrictions- very very impressive .
The staff were so helpful.
Quiet secluded location so no outside disturbances. Very peaceful night.
If I'm in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to revisit .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
4.6 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.0 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.8 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
25.5 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
4.0 km away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Country Hotel
Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing