We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal place for a relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sunsets can be stunning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The sunsets can be stunning
The cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside
Views of the Church Stretton Hills from the cottage
Specious living accommodation.
Large bedroom with built in wardrobes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brenda L
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Wisteria Cottage and it was another ideal break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cottage was spotless with everything to hand that you would need. Maria is a perfect host and makes you feel welcome. Views and area are lovely to visit with lots of interesting places to visit and good places to eat out.
The cake, tea, coffee, milk and of course the wine were so welcome after our journey from Essex.
There is no doubt we would stay again when planning our holiday in Shropshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of home
Liked least: Cold weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at the Wisteria Cottages A for a long weekend at the end of February 2015.
The cottage was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. Maria was extremely welcoming throughout our stay and provided us with a bottle wine and cakes on our arrival which was lovely.
The location is excellent! We enjoyed walks in the Long Mynd, shopping in Shrewsbury and great pub lunches in the nearby villages.

Thank you Maria for providing us with such lovely accommodation, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shera1234
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely cosy cottage with beautiful views of the surrounding hills”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a lovely cosy cottage with beautiful views of the surrounding hills. I really enjoyed my stay here. Maria is a brilliant host and lovely to talk too. There was also a very tasty home made cake and milk for tea waiting for our arrival which was great. Maria was always on hand if anything was needed. I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking to stay in the Shrewsbury area.

Thanks Maria for a lovely relaxing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr R H
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very clean and tidy accommodation the host is great The free wine and home made cake were a definite plus very peaceful and pretty location

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy R
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

An excellent cottage. Had everything you needed. Marie the owner is really lovely. A welcome package consisting of wine, milk and homemade cake was a lovely gesture. Nothing was to much trouble. A really lovely area and central for many places. If you like walking this cottage is ideal to stay at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome package and the cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph F
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views of the Shropshire hills.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A wonderful place to stay. I'm from Shrewsbury but wanted somewhere to rest and relax and this was just the place. Just shows you don't have to travel far here to reach idyllic views and peace and quiet.
Maria is a wonderful host, friendly and helpful. The site is secure and excellently presented/maintained.
I'd highly recommend this cottage for visiting tourists to the area or Salopians alike.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor J
North Fambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We've just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at Wysteria Cottage. It started with a lovely welcome with wine, home made cake and supplies. Maria is the perfect host. Dusty and Hector (4 legged hosts) made us equally welcome and greeted us every time we returned to the cottage!
We will be back next year to revisit the perfect cottage in the perfect location for visiting the various Shropshire haunts.
Thank you, Maria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, Maria, Dusty & Hector
Liked least: The need for care on narrow country roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing