We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Beautiful hot tub, perfect for shared relaxing moments. Relaxing rural retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and relaxation loungers.
Beautiful hot tub, perfect for shared relaxing moments.
Relaxing rural retreat
Kitchen that caters for your needs
The Stable is on the ground floor so suitable for less abled people.  It has an enclosed garden.
Relax in the evening sun listening to the rural bird life.
Homemade cake awaits your arrival with tea, coffee and milk.
Patio doors leading from the lounge to the garden, let the fresh air relax you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikki787
King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I can highly recommend Burlton cottages they are absolutely beautiful and furnished to a very high standard with everything you need for your stay. We enjoyed a swim in the large pool and took advantage of the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, which are better than some five star hotels. The spa will very shortly include a treatment room offering a full range of treatments.

We were greeted by the hosts who are really nice and very helpful. There was a home made cake waiting for us in our cottage which we enjoyed sat out on our patio area.

Burlton Cottages are very dog friendly, and there is a nice pub about a 5 min walk away if you don't feel like cooking yourself.

We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Nikki,
Thank you for such a kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our recently opened pool and Spa facilities. What a compliment to say that our facilities are better than some 5* hotels - thank you! We would warmly welcome you back and look forward to seeing you, Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham130...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommended dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The owners of this dog friendly cottage are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The Stable is ideal for those of us with a dog as it has its own enclosed garden with both a patio and lawn and also has a doggy welcome pack too. It is located midway between Shrewsbury and Ellesmere on a 500 acre arable farm with a walk right from the door
The cottage was very clean and well equipped with quality fittings and has underfloor heating which keeps the cottage warm on a cold day. On arrival there was a welcome pack that included a lovely home baked cake, tea, coffee milk etc. A breakfast pack can be ordered if required which contains local produce including bacon, sausages, eggs, muesli, jam etc. which I would recommend. Currently the owners are building a leisure facility which will contain a swimming pool , hot tub etc. Once this is completed it will make this cottage a very special place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you so much for such a kind review, it really was a pleasure to have you stay here. We are missing watching Kiki come back from her walks! Hoping to fill the indoor swimming pool next week so another step forward.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stampy909
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place for a Wedding stop over. Everything we needed and all top quality.”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

These cottages are lovely. We stayed in the two bedroom Courtyard cottage and had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay for a weekend wedding. Arrived to milk in the fridge for tea or coffee and a home made cake on the kitchen bench. The facilities are first class, everything is top notch and nothing is too much trouble for Rachel. She even gave us a lift to the wedding venue to the next day when we struggled with a taxi.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you for such a kind review, it was a pleasure to meet you and hear about the fabulous wedding you attended. Take care, Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie937
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable, spacious and light, modern country decor”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Stable cottage for 3 nights in a wet and windy week in March. We could not have been more comfortable. The accommodation is heated by underfloor heating which is extremely efficient. Every day it was brilliant to come back in from the wet and cold outside to such a warm and welcoming inside!
Everything is very fresh and clean and stylish - the conversion was recently done. The living room and kitchen are open plan and particularly spacious and lofty with a high roof, and two sets of french windows. Bedroom is somewhat smaller, but perfectly fine for 2.
A point of particular note is that the host supplies really good local info - better than at your average holiday rental - with lots of specifics on eating, shopping and walking etc locally.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
I'm just sorry I wasn't able to improve the weather whilst you were here. Thank you for your kind review and for appreciating my Guest Information. We hope to welcome you back when the Shropshire sun is shining. Rachel, Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a fantastic 11 days at the property, which was a real home-from-home. Rachel and Gerry made us very welcome. Bella our border collie was also welcomed and felt at home. When she needed to see a vet, Rachel contacted their local vet for help. It is in a fantastic location to visit Shropshire and North Wales. Would strongly recommend this property, as the standard of accommodation was very high. Also having a home baked cake and tea and coffee waiting was welcome after a long journey. It was refreshing to have flexibility of when we could start our holiday and the number of days we could stay. Will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and friendly
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
It was a pleasure having you and of course Bella to stay here. I hope she has fully recovered from her accident. I will look forward to seeing you all back here soon, Regards Rachel Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W
Church Stoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic.”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed over Easter weekend as my sister was getting married at Pimhill Barn just up the road. We rented the 3 properties and none could be faulted. All were spacious, were beautiful in decoration and the heated floors were a lovely surprise! Everything was perfect for a magical wedding day and this, as our base, added to it perfectly. Also, we had gorgeous cakes in each cottage which were thoroughly enjoyed. Perfect! The new born lambs were just adorable too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing, it was great!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
It was a pleasure to have such a beautiful bridal party leave from here. I love weddings, so I feel very honoured that you decided to base yourselves here and privileged to have been involved with your special day. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie C
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage, great views and countryside!”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Me and my partner stayed at Burlton Cottages in The Granary. The Granary is a very modern and well put together cottage, extremely comfy and relaxing. Great facilities including a huge bed! There are plenty of things to do, we explored the local walking routes and visited the local town.

We had a great stay in The Granary and are planning to return later on in the year with friends!

Many thanks to the host, Rachal, who was extremely helpful and welcoming.

Sophie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freshly baked cake on arrival and helpful host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Many thanks Sophie, it is wonderful sharing this beautiful countryside with others especially this time of year when nature is waking up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing